Mukhtar Mai should be revered

The recent threads about sexually based crimes in pakistan brought to mind this brave woman who should be the hero of every Desi woman and revered by all desis. What she has been doing to help change societies views and actions (or lack of) on sex-based crimes took an enormous amount of courage. If only there were more like her!

Please don’t post articles from other message boards or Chowk please. Thanks

Re: Mukhtar Mai should be revered

:rolleyes:

You need to be educated in order to show you the right aspect of your post.

You are acting as an advocate of Western Nations who have humiliated women to the lowest levels in the name of freedom of women, a wrong conept used to "use" women to the advantage of men. Look at these countries where women are abused at all levels. Whoever wants can quench his sexual thirst in whatever way he wants. You call gang rapes in Pakistan (Agins I think only 2-3 examples came to light in the last 6 years since I left Pakistan), here in USA and Eupore, the Orgies are common, why the USA government does not stop these gang rapes? Women are on a huge scale involved. Women dance naked in night clubs, in front of many men. Women live with mutiple sexual partners at the same time, what you wanna know more and all this is legal, protected by law in these Western Countries which you seem to advocate for.

Look at whom you are presenting as a hero of EVERY DESI woman who has taken refuge of those who themselves humuliate women at all levels. According to you, she presents an ideal picture for the desi women, have you ever asked a DESI Woman what she thinks about it?

Stop acting so naive. I am extreemly disappointed by your thoughts.....

Lahore miaN,

Mamaof3 is right. And, in large of scheme of things, Mukhtar Mai has done something remarkable despite tragedy and adversity. This is not an argument about what/how/why of Western women.

I have seen Mukhtar’s interviews and she came across as a very sensible, genuine woman who wants to guide the next generation on a better path. What a remarkable thing to do in a society that put her through so much grief.

She should indeed be revered, I agree. :k:

It is really amusing to see people constantly divert from the actual topic and turning this, once again, into a "my country is better than your country" debate.

Mai spoke up in a society where very few actually speak up against being brutally raped. She should be applauded. Do you really think that these are the only rapes that happened? The ones that came forward and actually made it into the media?

Luxry Item

Standing for the right is good. This is not where I am antagonizing Mamoof3, I have no issue with this.

However, I ask,

What can we expect from a society where women are abused under the legal banner do some good for Pakistan?

Did the jirga system in Pakistan change by her taking this step?

Are we aware of how much this incident has been used to the advantage of those working for the UN program of social engineering? Any idea what it is?

Except that the media projects this incident to the advantage of its own, I don't think any useful purpose has been achieved from it.

Thats my point.

I met her :smiley:

Lahore, orgies and gang rapes are two different things. Both are immoral and disgusting but the difference btween one and the other is that in the orgy, the woman gives her consent. Not saying that makes it any mroe right, but get ur facts straight :chupki:

Sara516 ji,
Welcome back, congratulation, you met her.....
I know what is the difference but I am not talking from definition point of view. I am talking with reference to right or wrong.

so sorry Mehnazq, it was a good article and I thought it would be ok...will refrain from such in the future.

Wowie Zowie, Lahore!!! WHERE is this "west" of which you are speaking????? HOLEY MOLEY, sounds like sodom and gomorrah to me, something IVE not seen here in THIS west where I've lived all my days.

Anyway, things are sad and immature when it gets to "my country is better than yours". That is NOT the point and does not matter much in the scheme of things.

You are a bit mistaken about some of the things you said in your post. Yes there ARE "girly clubs" where the women dance naked. They make more money than you can BEGIN to imagine and they do it of their OWN choice. I do not think that this is a good thing but it is a legal right that they have if they choose to do this. The other things you're complaining about are just conjecture.

Point is that in USA, women CAN and DO report sexual crimes against them and are not only taken seriously but their attackers are vigorously prosecuted.

In desiland, these crimes are most of the time swept under the rug and go unreported and therefore the perpetrators are left to continue as they will.

THATS the point. What the society is willing to accept and endure. While we are on that point yes I WOULD like to ask - what do YOU think of Muhktar Mai?

:k: She should be respected, Question is she trying to change the vews on sex or the crimes?

FYI ladies, some guys who rape and all that may not be reported but most likely they get killed or get beaten to verge of death.

I knew it muney why you speak like this, I already knew it.
You do not seem to understand my point. Okay here is another version of it which Afridi is asking. I hope his questio will help you understand one of mine

Mr. Mamoof3
What do you know about Pakistan dude, just plain media stories? You have lived you life in The West… You even seem to ignore what happens in the country where you live in…

ok first of all i am a "mama" which implies that I am a mother, and so it would follow that I am not a MR but rather a MRS.

What do I know of Pak? I have family and friends there, I have visited there, I read about what goes on over there, I educate myself as much as I can about culture, society, etc. I am not just blowing hot air in anything I've said.

To answer the question about Muhktar Mai, she is trying to change the views on SEX CRIMES. So she is trying to change views both on sex and the sex crimes that are committed.

What am I ignoring about the USA? Yes sex crimes happen here, at the rate of about 200,000 per year. Most are reported, the crimes are prosecuted to the fullest, the public is educated as are the children on prevention. But YES these crimes happen here too. Its just that they arent swept under the rug to avoid undue "shame" in the west yeah?

At this point, I throw up my hands in defeat and leave the good fight to Ms Mai who has more of the courage and strength to deal with the harsh realities of it all.

Changing views on sex? Big No No.

mai spoke up because she was forced to by western media in order to humiliate pakistan.

^ omg, how very sad is this.

some very pathetic replies from some very pathetic males.

hahahahaahahahaha...
tht "mai" lady is one full of crap... a looser character who was used by NGO,s to received millions of dollars from america,spread baysharmi in pakistan through NGO,s and she herself became crorepati in days...she is nothing but a crap who was used to give bad names to pakistan....

we all know women like asma jehangir,haroon and the like...they all make characters like mai....huh...

mamaof,u should care ur own business...more then 50,000 women r raped every year in america...women r nothing but sex toys....

dont tell us wht to do....huge number of women in pakistan r living the life wht even western women cannot imagine..many of them r treated well by their husbands,they dont have to earn etc....

Mukhtar Mai should be hanged along with those stupid womens rights groups in pak, they have never done **** for women in their entire careers, but when bbc and cnn start reporting they become all active, trying to take all the credit for exposing the most embarassing stories of the century.

ok you "males" who are so despondent over Ms Mai, how old are you? Under 21 I'm sure. Unmarried I'm sure. All taken care of by your mamas. Once you get out there into the real world, grow up a bit and maybe have a daughter of your own, you will begin to look into the reality of things. INshallah.