Mujras - Dance

Ok, something i’ve seen in the pakistani media and also on gs concerns me a bit.

When an actress does a dance for a film, it is said that she has done a “mujra”. Now, from my understanding a mujra is different from dance. I mean, mujra is a type of dance. But why is it that our public is such hypocrites? We say that Noor’s guest performance in Moosa Khan is a mujra, but Madhuri’s moves in Lajja is a cultural dance.

Opinions?

Dont stereo type everyone! By the way I hated Lajja! As for Mujra, Mujra is just a name of a dance. Dance in general is not considered good in our society. So the word Mujra has gotten a bad rep.

Recently I watched this show on Prime, where this girl, I wish I knew her name performed Mujra infront of several hundred people. Would we call her a tawaife? No!

The dances I have seen on prime are not what I would call Mujras.

By the way, what was it about that dance which u refer to as a mujra?

PCG,

Most Pakistani actresses don't know their ass from their elbow when it comes to classical dances. Not all are properly trained. However they do 'Mujra' their way to a chamkeelee Civic and a kotha in Defence.

Having been on the receiving end of many such 'Mujras' I can assure you there's nothing even remotely 'artistic' about the performers or the audience.

[This message has been edited by PakistaniAbroad (edited April 03, 2002).]

So … who spoiled the show then?..

zamiiR_e_sadaf mein kiran kaa mauqaam
anokhe anokhe thikaane tere

Originally posted by PyariCgudia:
from my understanding a mujra is different from dance. I mean, mujra is a type of dance. opinions?

Gudia ji, I would suggest you to watch two Hindi movies (If you haven't seen them already)

PAKEEJA - MEENA KUMARI
UMRAO JAAN - Rekha

AK

How about answering the question instead of referring me to movies I dont have time to see?

Originally posted by PyariCgudia:
How about answering the question instead of referring me to movies I dont have time to see?

I am sorry, I thought you had plenty of time to spend otherwise you wont be here on this forum asking about Mujras.

Anyways My apologies

AK

NAACH GAANA HARAAM HAI........datz all we need to know!!!!

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Mujras are what Reema usually does for a living (just ask Jam Mashooq Ali...lol) and dancing is what Meera, Sarah, Gia etc are very good at - and do quite often on the big screen.

Some of the suckers who havent seen a proper mujra dont know which is which and thats where the confusion creeps in.