Re: Mubarak ho jee, Imran Farhat recalled for first Test
Dont think so.
If Malik has never played against India in the test matches, I would rather leave him out for the first test match, and bring him on later on, if needed be.
On the other hand, I am still banking on Razzaq to make it in the team. Danish looks like a possibility at this time.
yeaa, only in odi but he has batted at no.3 mostly thats y im kinda justifying it, although i would not want malik to be an opener in any way! i just think he plays with aa confidence level against indians and plays spinenrs well also!
Well, actually he doesn’t look that bad in this pic. Maybe I should change my opinion of him, but I’ll still bet he’ll get out in a horrendous fashion in the first test.
I highly doubt Farhat will play in the first test match...Inzamam will go for Butt and Malik, even though I think Pakistan should open with Butt and Farhat...Malik is not an opener...so they shouldnt put him to open again.
Bowlers win matches! I feel One bowler short too many.
Unless Afridi is counted as a stretegic bowler,! hmmmm:hmmm:
Jeetnay ki baat nahi hai! woh inshallah hamari he hogi,lekin zara ‘spicy’ point-of-view ki baat hai,:french:
Farhat could have scored a double hundred and taken 5 wickets, but he still won't find himself in the playing 11 for the first test. Inzi has said many times he doesn't like putting newbies in big pressure matches. Malik already has experience as opener, has an excellent record against India AND has bowling options.
The team will be
Malik
Butt
Younis
Moyo
Inzi
Afridi
Akmal
Rana
Sami
Akhtar
Kaneria
Great job by Farhat. With his splendid century in the side-match, he has earned the right to be the waterboy for the first test. Cheers!
He has to compete with Arshid Khan for that position. Nice and healthy competetion going on in our team.
YEA TRU
No RAZZAQ in Tests please. Saying it for umpteenth time for last 3 years. He is not a good test player anymore. He has played only for bharti, and that we didn't have choice at that time. But time has come for Pakistan to bravely choose from a lot of choices in specialized players. Test is not for allrounders anyways, and he is not in good form to help us at his best. Rather play specialists bowlers and batsmen. Afridi is a different case, he is a specialist bowler now, I mean almost, plus his psychological advantage over India is priceless.
As far as openers are concerned, looks like Butt and Malik will fill in again, atleast for first test and Farhat sahab will wait for his turn. However Farhat (in current form) with Malik will make an equalent balance opening option. They both can bowl as well. Malik and Farhat as bharti bowlers are far better options than soulless throwing of Razzaq.
If I were the captain (shukar hai nahi banaya :p) I would make Younis sit out and play Farhat, Butt and Malik in sequence.
As far as openers are concerned, looks like Butt and Malik will fill in again, atleast for first test and Farhat sahab will wait for his turn. However Farhat (in current form) with Malik will make an equalent balance opening option. They both can bowl as well. Malik and Farhat as bharti bowlers are far better options than soulless throwing of Razzaq.
If I were the captain (shukar hai nahi banaya :p) I would make Younis sit out and play Farhat, Butt and Malik in sequence.
Pretty good post, and I do agree. One point to note from the above mentioned is to selectively choose specialists from either departments, which would would, in turn, provide the upper-edge to the team itself!
^^ Dhobi bhayee you finally agree that there is no need of Razzaq in the team.
The team mentionedby Skhan seems pretty stable apart from Younis Khan, whose casual playing tactics hurts some time. but this team is well balanced as far as batting bowling and All roudners are concerned. Remember that Sami, Rana, Shoaib all can chip in useful runs. The only person who really cant bat is Kaneria( what do you expect from your 11th player).
Test sides are totally different sides, we need specialist batsman and bowlers. If PCB thinks that they can groom Shoaib Malik as opener, then lets have another try.
But I also do believe that Asim Kamal should be fair chance as well. Mr. Wasim bari is making pretty pathetic statements that he is NOT FOCUSED, he made 5 runs in the last innings.. To me these kind of comments are pretty childish and rude.
Skhan's team is the most likely one for the first test. Farhat saab did well and it is good healthy thing for us but Malik will play in the first test so that he fails (God Forbid) and allow Yasir Hameed to come back in second test.
Ilyas uncle will get worked up again :D
What is Azhar Mehmood doing at the training camp:confused:
check this out :eek:
http://www.dawn.com/2006/01/11/spt3.htm
^ they needed someone to throw balls at batsmen, perhaps they don't have a machine to do it, hence Azhar Mehmood :D
I believe they have to “JUGS” at the cricket academy in Lahore, I hope he is not the next assistant coach
Mashallah, Shoaib Malik loyalist deserve to be commended for their unflinching commitment and dedication to a batsman who has failed miserably when given the chance. Imran Farhat witha decent batting average both in domestic and test cricket cannot justify his position with a hundred against India goes to show popular opinion does not really care about performance or historic averages.
Malik is a fine allrounder, period. If Afridi is to play then there is no room for Malik. Farhat deserves to be selected because he has scored a hundred and batted very well in the recently concluded doemstic tournaments. One day cricket is totally different from test cricket and that has been demonstarted very clearly by Malik's failure with the bat against a demoralized bowling lineup (England).
malik in my opinion has got the same problem tht Kaif has got. good ODI player but somewhat unsuitable for tests. i would go with farhat any day as against malik speaking of test matches only.