As we all aware the Government of Pakistan started issuing Machine Readable Passport (MRP). Some says its a good decision made by the Government whereas many others says its another way to put their hands on individuals pockets.
Well now all the embassies require that you have a machine readable passport . So I would say a good move on that end , but going to a passport office and doing khowari for at least two days there is whole another story .
I made my MRP from Rawalpindi passport office last year and my experience was HORRIBLE . First there is not enough space to accommodate everyone in that building so there are really long queues that goes outside the building . You’ll have to take sunbath either you like it or not . Even when you get in the building then you have to make sure that its not load shedding time , because 99% of the time their power generator is broken . I heard that only to get a better token number and to get ahead in the queue , bribe is around Rs. 5000 to 6000 .
Inside the office I was expecting a one window operation , but NO . Here are the windows & queues that you’ll have to go through
Token window
Picture taken window
Data entry window
Criminal record check window
Paper verification window
Final approval window
Passport pickup window
Anyone planning to go to passport office in near future I would say at least spare two days for it or may be more . One whole day for application and data entry (which you can pray should finish that day if load shedding permitted or you’ll have to come back next day ) and another day to pickup your passport (at least half a day for that ). You should bring your breakfast , lunch and dinner with you with plenty of water supply . Be there as early as 6 AM . You should be in good physical shape as there is not enough seating and at load shedding time it gets really humid inside .
OR shortcut is to find someone in ministry of interior and they can do miracles
Nice Decision as we ve CNIC, Computerized License, computerized Registration Numbers (Vehicles) etc :cobra: New Technology aahista aahista Pakistan main bhi aa rahi hay
Chalo yaar shukar karo iss he bahanay MRP to ban gaiay :hehe: waisay main nay aankhain aur kaan band kar kay tareef kar di thi to details daina zaroori theen kia :sunnyboy:
MRPs are definitely a very good step by the Musharraf government. But the system is still not fully fool-proof. But in any case, MRP is thousand times better than a manual passport.