^ if MQM is so loved why do they collect ID cards of the voters before the elections, and why do they have to take over polling stations and carry out rigging? Let them allow free and fair polls, it doesn't matter if the party still manages to win it's seats. At the moment their mandate is not genuine.
by the way what proportion of MQMs fund includes bhatta money?
First of all, what you mentioned never happens. But then as propaganda, this is good start. :)
Anyhow, Thora aqal larao. :)
When it comes to rigging, who would need ID card to cast vote?
On the other hand, if rigging was reason MQM wins then why when they boycott the election (1997), other parties won election getting less then 10,000 votes in constituencies with 400,000 voters?
So, fact is that MQM do not need rigging, but if they do ... then just to follow the culture of Pakistani election and probably to intimidate other parties (note: MQM wins most constituencies with margin of over 100,000 votes ... and in almost all constituencies they win, they get 70 to 80 percent votes).
social work??? :halo: I don’t know about their other projects, but got first hand experience at Nazeer Hussain Hospital running under Khidmat e Khalq foundation. Pathetic service and they are charging same OPD charges (Rs 650) like Other private hospitals in the city. I’ve seen ladies asking for discount of Rs 100-200 and they were not granted that.
Main Altaf Bhai se khud shikayat karoonga, once things are settled down
Saleem, MQM's popularity is exposed by their conduct in last 5 days. Ask yourself, is this same MQM as in 90s or even stronger as they claim, so why they are shaken by a mere sit-in by some burger kids? You probably didn't see the shaken voice of Raza Haroon and Haidar Abbas Rizvi. It was not a winning party's language, tone and body language. It was clear that they are losing grip on the city and fear if a relection under Army is done today, they may lose half the city to PTI (who knew it will be PTI not JI). I just don't want to comment on Altaf's vomiting since May 12, all this frustration in the ranks is telling something.
typical answer, same thing MQM's leader was saying.....culture of Pakistani politics. Those, whose relatives live in Karachi know this so called culture. MQM has 101 ways to rig elections.
When boycotted by MQM, who in his right mind will appear on the polling station? koi baat tou esi karo kay jis mein wazn ho.
Are you serious or voter of Vadera?
well … n 1997, army was in control of all polling stations in Karachi and it was under the pressure of army that MQM decided boycott of election. So, if vote stamping machine had problem that stopped voters of other parties to vote, then you should ask army.
Are you serious or voter of Vadera? :)
well ... n 1997, army was in control of all polling stations in Karachi and it was under the pressure of army that MQM decided boycott of election. So, if vote stamping machine had problem that stopped voters of other parties to vote, then you should ask army.
lols one of our guy who lives in Lalu Khet didn’t vote himself, but used his thumb on 50 votes in favour of MQM. He told that they divided voting steps to 3-4 persons.. one marking thumbs, other stamping and the other putting the ballet paper to boxes :halo: This is known as piecemeal job
PS: The guy requested not to tell this to our boss, whose burger bachas couldn’t vote in Clifton and now attending each and every dharna in the city
The party has got only two options now, keep living in denials and lose the support they have or try to reform themselves (I don’t think they will do this). It’s only so long that one can control others through use of force. It’s twenty first century!!!
Using social work as a 'cover' to justify MQMs hold over the city is like saying, taleban carry out social work in fata and hence they are representatives of the population of the area.
If anyone thinks that MQM hold on Karachi could go than please read carefully, else be assured that chances are remote. :)
I do not claim to speak for everyone here when I say this, but I get a feeling I may be correct in my assessment. The problem is not MQM per se. The problem is its' head figure who has the indecency to call shots sitting abroad, and so blatantly call for attack on protestors whose demand is that of recounting votes.
But if the party sticks with him despite that lack of character, then the blot spreads from one person to the entire party. MQM has the potential to do good for the poor, and common man who's a stranger in the city, but it needs to distance itself from its' chief. Please do not be dishonest to yourself; integrity requires that you measure everyone with the same ethical standards.
The fact that most people affiliate MQM with violence is by no coincidence. Where there's smoke; there's bound to be a fire somewhere. Smokescreens might hide it for a while, but eventually it's going to burn through.
I seek no ratification from you; I'm sure you have the ability to refute everything I've said. I've merely stated what I felt was the overall consensus among the people I've spoken to in terms of what has occurred post-elections.
Karachi's politics have been changed forever. Good for the beloved city!
Pakistan's financial hub should not be hostage to any one political party. The interest of the nation lies in a neutral city that either allows all political parties equal stake in it, or is apolitical in nature.