MQM Threatens to quit Govt - Again

ditto. what I have been saying here for a while.

I have to agree with this point here that in Karachi the ANP is very different to how it behaves in NWFP. But then again thats part of the fact that they have had to react to a different set up. Things are not glorious for Pakhtuns in Karachi and the argument is that their areas are ignored when it comes to development.

Until 2 years ago there was peace in Karachi. The ANP has used the Pakhtun Action Committee to further its own political goals and it as worked. They had very little support in Karachi but now that has changed. Although the vote bank can change and Pakhtuns in Karachi could vote others next time.

Most of you would like to see the MQM to blame and mostly it is. The MQM in some ways is to blame for the pakhtun "ghettos" in Karachi - their targeting of pakhtuns pushed them into one area and become a self-sustaining culture. The MQM must not see Pakhtuns demanding their rights as a threat to them. Its Pakistan and should be a home for all. We cant afford to have MQM criminals and Pakhtun criminals based in Karachi holding us all hostage. Conflict will bring the whole of Karachi down, not just a particular side.

there are several different strands to whats going on in Karachi between the MQM and towards Pakhtuns.
Karachi has been going through a demographic shift that first manifested itself in 1997, the ability to paralyse the city is no longer the monopoly of the MQM and it's urdu speaking supporters. not that the shift either way seems to benefit the average karachiite

The pakhtun votebank in karachi has never been associated with the ANP..if anything it was PPP or PML. The MQM has successfully created an opponent in it's heartland where none existed.

Without a doubt the Taliban and various other jihadi groups are using karachi for recruiting and fund raising. However this has happened at a time of a wielding of unprecedented political power by the MQM. The MQM for the first time from 2002-2009 has held local, provincial and federal power .. and yet all thats happened.. now has happened on its watch?

Kehkeshan bhai, kya aap ko Nawab Muzzafar Ka "Muhajir, Punjabi, Pukhtoon Itehad" Yaad haay? Phir aap ko yeh bhi yaad hona chaiay ke, yeh itehad kis ke khilaf tha? You reap what you sow. Land mafia ko to aap ne hi hawa di thi.

Ab pachtai kya howat-Jab chirya chug gaeen khet

Bohot achi tarra yaad hay ye Punjabi Pukhtoon Ittehad (there is no Muhajir in it).

Re: MQM Threatens to quit Govt - Again

Yup i agree this is non-issue, lets come back to the topic, when is MQM going to call the threat back or it may choose to forget about it and enjoy sitting on Govt. benches...

I guess it is local holidy in Sindh today, in the memory of the brutality of MQM, isn't it, so DO the leadership of MQM have the ball(s) to quit the govt. or it is just another cry-of-Jealous-Woman

I don't know, I don't have direct line to rabita comittee.

Thanday ho gaye do din mai.

Allies meet to discuss situation in Karachi
KARACHI: The three allies of the Sindh government, PPP, ANP and MQM, held another meeting on Monday to discuss the situation of the city. According to a press release issued by the PPP Karachi Chapter, it was resolved at the meeting that all three parties remain united and will work for durability of peace in the city. For this purpose, they will undertake joint efforts against the land and drug mafia, as well as any other elements. The press release further stated that the participants of the meeting praised the steps taken by the provincial government for May 12 and appealed to the citizens to continue fostering an atmosphere of unity. staff report

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

How many times has altaf threatened to quit the MQM or the govt? He cries like a janaani (whale) and then says hes coming back for one last time.

That was a different party lead by Irfanullah Marwat (?), but the one he is talking about is different. You can check http://www.ecp.gov.pk/content/PWS.htm , search for “Mohajir Punjabi Pathan Ittehad” on this page, the symbol for this party in 1990 election was Lock.

I don’t remember them being a notable party.

Even PPI wasn’t much notable other than their fight with MQM :hehe: