MQM murdered Hakim Said, claims Nawaz

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=8391

By Rauf Klasra

LONDON: Former prime minister Nawaz Sharif on Friday claimed that as the prime minister he knew that the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) had murdered Hakim Muhammad Said in Karachi on October 17, 1998.

Talking to newspersons at the PML-N office here, he also alleged that Federal Minister Babur Ghauri was now secretly playing the role of a “messenger” between President Gen Pervez Musharraf and Altaf Hussain.

He also claimed that Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz would soon ditch President Musharraf and join the opposition parties.Nawaz alleged that Musharraf and Altaf were busy hatching a conspiracy against Pakistan and their collaboration might harm the country. He said that he had made it clear to the MQM leaders, who were part of the coalition government then, either to surrender those who had murdered Hakim Said or quit the Sindh government.

“After the refusal of the MQM to surrender the killers, I preferred to sacrifice the provincial government of Liaqat Jatoi instead of making compromises with those who had killed an honourable man like Hakim Said,” he said.

Nawaz said the MQM leaders were playing a dangerous game by collaborating with Gen Musharraf. “Being the twice elected prime minister of Pakistan, I have some understanding of politics, and my political intuition tells me that Altaf and Musharraf are working to harm the country’s interests,” he said.

Nawaz said, on May 10, while addressing a press conference, he had warned that if the MQM was not stopped from holding a rally in Karachi on the arrival of the chief justice, many innocent people might be killed. He regretted that his timely warning was not heeded to.

Nawaz disclosed that even certain elements had tried to warn Gen Musharraf about the likely bloodshed in Karachi if the MQM was not stopped from holding the rally. But, he claimed that instead of giving a serious thought to that logical advice from the intelligence quarters, Musharraf got furious and told them to leave the room.

Nawaz said that these words gave a clear idea that Musharraf and Altaf had planned the massacre in Karachi. Nawaz also backed the movement of Imran Khan against Altaf and said his own hard-hitting stance on the MQM was known to everybody. He said that he was against the MQM since it murdered Hakim Said.

Nawaz also disclosed that the ruling party leaders sitting in the government were secretly in touch with him to secure their political future after 2007 and claimed that soon Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz would ditch Gen Musharraf and join the opposition, as he was not a stranger to them (Nawaz and Benazir Bhutto) because, as a banker, he used to meet them regularly both within and outside Pakistan.

“Look, you will soon see Shaukat Aziz ditching Gen Musharraf and joining the political leadership of the opposition parties,” Nawaz told the press conference. Nawaz asked Benazir to attend the all parties conference in London, instead of sending a five-member delegation of her party, as he observed that her presence would make a difference.

To a question, Nawaz dropped a hint at accepting some of the ruling party members, saying that he would be required to make a distinction between people like Sheikh Rashid and those who did not come out in the open to launch attack on the opposition leaders. However, Nawaz did not reveal who was in touch with him and whether they were federal ministers, MNAs or senators.

Earlier, Nawaz Sharif blasted the top generals and heads of secret agencies who had filed affidavits in the Supreme Court. He wondered how could the generals make such claims in their written statements and that how could they all come to the office of the Army chief only on the phone call of the chief justice.

Nawaz said that they could not dare enter the room of Musharraf unless he directed them to visit his office. He said that it was a ridiculous thing to say that the generals had come to the office of Musharraf on the telephone call from the chief justice and Musharraf had no idea about their likely visit to his office.

He said the secret agencies had no role in the affairs of the chief justice, as no law allowed them to interfere in the legal and constitutional affairs. He said the heads of these agencies were also subverting the Constitution.

Nawaz questioned the powers of heads of secret agencies to even discuss the reference issue with the CJ in the office of the Army chief as this was not their mandate and legal duty. He said that it was a laughable excuse that the chief justice wanted Musharraf to dissolve the assemblies as what kind of benefits a chief justice could get after the sacking of a Parliament.

Nawaz said political change must come and come early in Pakistan but it should not be on the wishes and help of foreign forces like America or rest of the world. Nawaz said that former US President Bill Clinton had made him five telephone calls to persuade him not to conduct nuclear tests and had offered $5 billion as aid but he refused to surrender before pressure and Pakistan became a nuclear state.

Nawaz said, on the other hand, just one telephone call from Collin Powell on 9/11 was more than enough for Musharraf to toe the US line. The former prime minister claimed that had Musharraf been the ruler of Pakistan on May 28, 1998, the country would not have become a nuclear power.

Re: MQM murdered Hakim Said, claims Nawaz

Well that settles it! The proof against MQM is now 100% indisputable.

All know what MQM is up to - but at least people are coming out about this fascist and killer MQM.. now is a ripe time that all including pro-govt. and anti-govt join hands together to crush this menace... its heartening that even PML-Q are not in favor of MQM after 12 May killings.. and their claims of being sole pwners of Karachi..

hope something actually comes out of all this action and Pakistan is free of MQM for once and for all.

... and morover Altaf Hussain must be chargerd for the murder of Rana Liaqat Ali Khan as well, no matter if he was born that time or not, it could be his father then... who knows...

Do you have any proof against intehai sharif, when Sharif brother burnt alive thier Brothr in Law in the bhatti of Ittefaaq Foundry?

hakeem saeed case is a bull*..literally bull*..

Altaf would had killed him too if he was alive today and stood against his bhata mafia..

Altaf would kill anyone - even his own relatives. He's just a killer. But he'll get his sooner or later. Good on Nawaz to spill the beans, although he was pretty forceful back when Hakim Said was killed as well...Nawaz had come out and publicly said back then as well that MQM were involved and now he has furthered that initial statement to good effect.

MQM have killed and tortured thousands, and are still doing it,with Musharraf’s full support:

http://www.dawn.com/2007/06/09/top11.htm

KARACHI, June 8: Advocate and civil rights campaigner Syed Mohammad Iqbal Kazmi, who went missing on Wednesday afternoon, was released on Friday morning by his captors on condition that he leave Karachi within five days.

Mr Kazmi had recently filed petitions in the Sindh High Court on the May 12 violence and the new Pemra ordinance in which major political and government figures were named as respondents.

With tears welling up in his eyes, Mr Kazmi said that two men tortured him during this period and quizzed him about his association with Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf chief Imran Khan and the reason for filing a petition against the Muttahida Qaumi Movement chief Altaf Hussain.

They also asked him to disclose the names of his supporters. He claimed his captors used to throw cold water on him to force him to stay awake.

“They burnt the sensitive parts of my body with cigarettes and pressed my fingers with stones,” he said.

Mr Kazmi said that his captors threatened him with death if he did not disclose the names of those who had asked him to file the petition. He said his cellphone containing photo clips of the May 12 incidents, Rs12,000 in cash, a telephone directory and other documents were taken from him.

Seems like Nawaz has just started using Viagra, and feeling like a man after 9 years passed of this event ... but sadaa shaair haiga ji, aaway Nawaaz aaway...

Nawaaz saada shair hay... paangra

Oh yeah, you are abosultely right as always you are right ... thumb up

If we go further back in the history, can we thanks to God that Altaf was not born in 1857, cuz then he would have killed Meer Jaffar, Meer Sadiq, if we apply your 'wish theory' ?

Nawaz Sharif can go to hell, no one cares what a lutera says but your support for MQM is even more shameful, the whole WORLD knows Altaf is a monster aur "ALLAH ki lanat hai Pakistan pe" but how dare anyone say a word against him eh??? You guy have to open your eyes otherwise that moron will come back to power in Karachi and ruin the city for another 5-10 years.

Don't worry he is not gonna come, so feel free to assume Karachi is safe, and after looking the distruction in Karachi done by this Mustafa Kamal, I agree to you that if they were in Karachi for next 5-10 years, they will completely change the Karachi! ...

This idiot Nazim has ruined all the old roads, he digged and broke all the old valued historical pipe lines, and installed new cheap one, he also provided the water to Karachi in K3 project, what a shame, whole world is thirsty and Karachi is wasting water!

He is building under passes and bridges and thinking he is doing some noble things, he is only a jerk right! ... He also managed to stop killing his people which is a shame for the party agenda! ... idiot...

I say go MQM go... bring others... what the hell they think they are, just helping to Earth quake victims, and sending millions of support is not gonna prove them human!

The Nazim before him Nimatullah did a very good job too, may be even better than this arse.

But does this mean that he has the right to kill 42 people in cold blood. The murderers must be brought to justice or there will never be a chance of progress.

you find naimatullah's arse better then you can have it, but on what basis ? If I see from Mars I don't see anything namaitulalh's arse did, but I see all good works done by this new blood called Mr. Mustafa Kamal!

About killing, no one support any kind of killings, if you have proof of those killings go ahead and present in the court and get the justice, or even go to Mr. Blair to get the justice, why wasting time here ?
Provide the proof what you claim and make all of us happy and proud! or if you have no proof then ... then dont blame to any one!

warna Gunah milaiga... flowers for you

What kinda proof do you really want?

Video of Altaf Hussain shooting people?

The whole world saw MQM people shooting live on TV. 42 people opf opposition died, vs 1 of MQM, car with hooter distributing guns to MQM workers shown on tv.

The faces of shooters clearly visible on national media, why then Kamal not bringing them to justice? Why are they shying away even from an inquiry?

yes proof means proof, not a hanky panky or 'wishes' ... in the court, you need proof, not the people walking around shooting or stuff...

There are million version of videos, do u trust them all in case you said vedio proof ?

If you recognise those faces, why not list thier names, I am sure this would be enough proof then, ...

I have seen all of those faces, and they are all visible holding different color of flags and guns in other hands, those are proof as well...

In the court, you don't say these are faces and accept these as proof, and blah, and now kill Altaf, lol ... those faces could be any one, who knows, they all looks like asian, pakistani, they were not Arabs or Candians, of course they looked like Pakistani, but what are thier names? this I dont know either, ... so unless I know, I wont blame any one...

talking some sense, I know million people on the road who have less brain talks what they are forced to see on the media, but to prove realstically they need to see all the faces of the cube! ...

Regards, ...

Thread closed for clean up. People, pls refrain from attacking personalities.