is there any truth in the claim that MQM is a 12er shia party in taqiyya ?
or is MQM simply sympathetic to 12er cause as a large part of its support base is traditionally central district karachi with a huge 12er population ?
I know so many MQM personnel that are sunni.. I wouldn't label it a religous organization
Re: MQM and its links with 12er shias
MQM and its leadership is hardly Shia....they do tho recognize the value of the Shia vote bank in Karachi and help them with security and othr forms of services during Moharram, Safar, Rabbiul Awwal, Ramzan progs.....they also work as first form of defence for the shia ppl in the areas like Ancholi, Liaquatabad, Jaffaray Taeyar, Drig colony, Abbas town etc against the hardcore wahabhi inspired pathan khocha bhai who is told by a mullah that he cud earn 72 virgins by killing a shia.
they are also popular because of their shia-sunni bhaibhai slogan which appeals to the large silent majority tht just wants to live in peace. thats all there is to the MqM and its relationshp with the Shias. where did u hear this taqaiya story from? they are completely in control of the city called Karachi so what wud they need taqqaya for? infact ppl who wish to oppose altaf bhai need taqqaya as concequences can b harsh if u live in karachi....
I know so many MQM personnel that are sunni.. I wouldn't label it a religous organization
i was a member of MqM until mid 90s. i think the shia sunni ratio in those days wud be something like 20:80 to 25:75 max.
before MQM came along the shia urdu speaking vote used to go to PPP, and the sunni vote used to go to JI. Fact that JI is completely irrelevant now in Karachi suggests theres atleast a sizable non-shia segment of MQM.
It is an impossible question to answer though, since you say they're in taqiyya you could always say that the sunni votes are because they are in taqiyya, the sunni leadership is because the organization is in taqiyya etc. But one could say that for any party.
^ bro dont take offence i was simply repeating the propoganda of anti-MQM anti-shia parties like ASSP
cud it also be a pathun-muhajir element to this, sunni urdu speaking mostly bravelvis feel more comfortable with urdu speaking 12ers than with (pseudo) salafi pashtuns
If MQM supports the shias what would that lead to? We are stuck in shia sunni problem . There are 101 problems in our country and some people can only waste their time on thinking which party is supporting which sect ?
According to Haider Abbas Rizvi, MQM's Joseph Goebbels, while appearing on Shahid Masood's show when he was on ARY, "MQM is predominantely a shia-barelwi" party...to which Shahid Masood had an incredulous response...prompting the usual foot-in-the-mouth asinine Rizvi, to realize that he had gone too far and actually revealed some esoteric/insider information that he wasn't supposed to...so he tried to weasel his way out of it by saying, oh ideologically we have more in common with barelwi and shia masalik and so on...
As for the ratio of shia/sunni in MQM...I am sure at the lower levels it reflects the ratio in the larger population...however the ratio increases in the favor of shias as you go up the chain of command in MQM...
The same ratio in favor of shias also increases as you go up the PPP chain of command. So what?
yaar dont compare the nazis to MQM...MQM are common thugs with no class
maybe like the SA
The same ratio in favor of shias also increases as you go up the PPP chain of command. So what?
what a wrong signature u have my friend ...are u a muslim ?
Don't get defensive...Or is it that sunnis are shut out from upper echelons of these two parties and those belonging to the majority population in Pakistan don't find any affinity or commonality with the agenda of these two parties, at least in the leadership cadres...
Please we don't need people who want to divide Pakistan on basis of shias and sunnis. We need to get rid of sectarian menace out of pakistan who only believe in dividing pakistanis on such basis. What are these parties doing for a common pakistani? have you ever thought about it?? Please dont waste your time on thinking whether the party has more shias or sunnis in it. Think constructively and come out of this shia sunni war. It will lead our country to nowhere and make our enemies happy.
We all know who MQM is and their agendas, who cares if they have links with 12er Shias or Sunnis. What would be the outcome of this discussion BTW, and I wonder why threads like these even allowed in here.
I agree with you !