Moving to Chicago frn dubai and v confused

hi guys. so I m here to share my concerns with you. I have been born and raised in Dubai. lived here all my life. I have gotten an opportunity to work in Chicago as a teacher. Now I am a female with 2 kids and husband and I am confused about moving there. Its a huge opportunity and I do not want to miss it but reading about the crime rates, extreme weather (cold) and expensive housing and taxes, I am v v confused about what decision to make. I have been offered two salary packages, one of a lead teacher (37,000$ annual) and lead teacher and mentor (44,000 $ annual). Besides this they are offering insurance, dental and some retirement plan. No housing no other benefits, nada!!! my husband is currently working here and earning well. But we wish to relocate to US within the next 1-2 years because my parents and siblings are in texas. I assume they would be offering me J1 or H1 visa. now with J1 I will be bound to work with them and cannot transfer my visa or work elsewhere. On the other hand, H1 is more versatile, I can transfer and all and husband can work with a peace of mind. With J2 also my husband can work but then as soon as my job finishes we would have to go back to Pakistan which I don’t want. As you all know after J1 contract finishes I have to exit the country and cannot come back for work in US for another 2 years. My husband has asked me to go there and see if I can settle there easily and he will continue working here. He doesn’t want to take the risk of leaving his job and face problems later in Chicago. what he has decided is that within 6 mnths if I am able to survive there he will come on visit and apply for H1 but I told him that’s possible but in that case I cannot come on his H2 visa. Ill have to leave the country and come back as H2(this is assuming I am unable to continue working there, dil ni laga job me etc). Second option is that he would come on J2 and we would take the risk and he will work on that visa. He wants to continue working in Dubai till the end of year so just in case mera dil na laga wahan he said I can call you back on my UAE sponsor visa. Arrrrghhhhh, so basically I am so confused. Can you please guide me after all taxes and everything how much will I get at the end of each month and is it good salary for a family of 3 (me and kids/husband)? Is Chicago a safe place to live.

Re: Moving to Chicago frn dubai and v confused

I cannot answer all of your questions/concerns as I am not familiar with H1 or J1 visas. The only thing I can tell is that I had a friend who had to go out of the country for H1 and he went to Canada and then came back. He told me that people do this instead of going back all the way to Pakistan. Of course you need to get visa and find accommodation etc.

What field does your husband work in ? Can he get a job or H1 sponsorship easily in his field.
Have you not been told already if you visa is J1 or H1 ?

There are areas in Chicago that are not going to be ideal to raise your family but many good areas as well. So its not just not safe at all to live in Chicago. Are you going to be working in the city or some suburb ?

Chicago is an expensive city. Though it depends on your lifestyle too.

Assuming your husband does not get a job for 3 to 4 months initially and assuming $44,000 annual income you need to think about the minimum expenses at least. Rent for a 2 bedroom apartment, groceries and either public transport or car/gas.
It will be a little stressful initially.

How independent are you ? do you think you can manage on your own ? Will you have kids with you or with your husband if you decide that he will stay in Dubai until year end.

Its already summer vacation time here. Are you going to be teaching in the summer ? If not, can you make a trip to US and see if you like it here.

Is your family willing to help you being in Texas.
Can you find similar job in Texas ?

$45,000 for a family will not be enough to survive on but for one person would be enough. You do have to go back to your home country when your H1 expires. It used to be that you could go to Canada but not any more. H1 doesn't last more than 6 years. There are companies that sponsor your green card too if they offer you a job visa but not all do.

Chicago is great. You will live in a suburb or safe area. Devon Street in Chicago will give you a desi feel with its desi resturants and stores. In my opinion 6 months is not a long enough time, take at least a year before you decide you like it.
You are planning to move to USA anyways it seems. What if you don't want to? But if it's a must, I think this is a good opportunity. Your parents can sponsor you too, if they are citizens.

Hi there. thanks a lot for your reply. No, so far they have not told me which visa I will get. I was first interviewed by HOD. was then asked to send demo through mail. they liked me forwarded my details to HOS. this process took 2 weeks, after which I received a message frm HR that they wanted to talk with me on Skype. that time we had a 10 min video session and she started off sayin this is going to be brief conversation. I dunno why she even talked to me, maybe she wanted to see me. she asked me if iwas currently working on a contract. I told them its an open one, meaning I can leave any time giving a months notice ofcourse. I asked her about the visa, she said she will speak with lawyers and get back to me. now the problem is I don't have much time. I am working till June end in Dubai. I need to give notice before that. so now how long I have to wait, I dunno and this is really frustrating for me. here is add of my school : 2301 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60610, b/t Maple St & Elm St, Lincoln Park. my husband is searching for apartments near the school itself. initially he said he will come to the US with me to drop me and my 2 kids. He wants to first see how I like it there. He doesn't want to take the risk to leave job here in Dubai which really makes sense cause if I don't like it there atleast I can come back. I just hope I would not be bound by a contract that doesn't let me leave. if I were to live there, deducting the taxes and all I think I would get 2-2500 dollars max by the end of the month which is not enough. my husband would be sending me money from Dubai also. we are looking for a one bedroom apt and all are not less than 1200dollars above esp the area I live in. could you also guide me abt housing there. I want to know if there are schools near the area. The schools are free there right unless its a pvt school? one of my kids will be enrolling in kg1 and the other for grade 2. I am independent but just a bit scared to be honest to live on my own alone with two kids, it is stressing me out but I don't want my husband to leave his job too. If things are good there, my husband will join me in Jan 2017. My husband said he will take one month leave to drop me, after which my sister can come for a week and then my husband is saying he will request my parents to stay with me for 1-2 mnths. now this is a bit of a concern since my parents and bro would have to come all the way from texas to live with me for support. but ultimately they have to return right since they have to pay the rent there also. the school has asked me to join by july 25. at such a short notice they expect me to wait for them and I m worried about giving notice to my current school, get TC of my kids plus pack up everything here. its not easy and this has caused me sleepless nites now.. cus nothing is clear at this point of time :(

thanks eastern for your reply. appreciate it. I Know salary is very less but I wanna go there just cus I dun wanna leave this opportunity. I really wished I could come there on my husbands working visa than vice versa but knowing my husband, I know he lacks the confidence and will power to move there. He is v experienced in his profession, only problem is he has only b.com degree so he feels no one would give him a job there even if he is an expert (which he is!) at his work. atleast this way if I go there, he could join me later. I just want to enter USA. My parents are in US and ultimately I wanna go there too. My parents have already submitted my documents for I-20 meaning I have another 8-10 years before I get a green card. I cant wait for such a long time so I decided I have to take some action. and amazingly, by Allah's grace I got a call from this school. Maybe Allah wants me to go, maybe not. its v confusing and I don't know who to share my thoughts and concerns with. that is why I joined here.

guys my husband is in IT

Guys where r u..need ur help :(

@Enasha If you really want to go to USA, now is your chance. However, a lot of school jobs are contract ones, meaning that if they don't want you after one year they can let you go. So make sure your husband doesn't leave his Dubai job before things are clear.

You can get an apartment for $600-700 in a reasonable area which will be in the suburbs most likely. You will have to learn to drive and if you already drive in UAE then it will be easy for you to get a license here as UAE permits are hard to get. But no, you can't drive on UAE licenses here. If you don't know how to drive you shall have to learn, as the suburbs are where the good schools are and the reasonably priced apartments will be there too. Yes, public schools are free with most school districts providing bus service. Make sure you don't live too close to the school as in that case bus service may not be provided (if you want that).

If your husband is in IT, tell him to do courses like cyber security or Java etc. He can def get a job here. But if he comes on your visa as a spouse then he can't work. He shall have to get his own H1 visa. He def has a good chance of getting one due to his IT field. If you get 2000-2500 per month you can def try to live with your kids on that esp if you get a cheaper apt. If your kids will live with you then most apartments will not let you lease less than a 2 bedroom apartment. You might want to try someone's basement too, desi families advertise on sulekha.com.

This is a good time for you to move as the kids and you guys are young. It gets harder with age. Your husband can join a community college one he is here to improve his education. He can go at night and there are people of all ages studying here in USA so he won't be left out. Community colleges are inexpensive too.

Try to talk to your future employers as to what your chances are. Moving is hard but not that bad.

JazakAllah eastern for the reply. really means a lot to me. I do not have a drivers license. I would prefer having an apt near N clark street but you suggested I should try in suburbs… but that is far away from my work place plus I would have to take the bus to reach work place and that is time and money consuming both. are the buses free for the kids too? If I were to live in suburbs will my kids be picked and dropped too? My work timings are horrible. Id be working either 8.30-5.30 or 9-6 and I am really concerned where my eldest daughter would be that time. You rightly suggest that I shouldn’t ask my husband to leave his job here but then I am so worried how I will manage with 2 kids alone. I really want him to come with me. its such a huge risk, I know that. I keep saying the same thing to my husband that we are young we can take risk, this is the time but he insists that either case, our case is in the system, eventually that’s our ultimate destination. but I don’t agree cus that time one of my daughters would be in high school and my husband would be 40 plus then. I am really confused. As far as I Know my husband can work on J2 visa. I would have to confirm these things before I move from here. what I found worrisome in your post was the fact that I have to rent a 2 bedroom appt. is it a must to do so? I want one bedroom since the kids sleep with me anyway and we can manage in the drawing hall as well. I do not want to spend a lot of money on apt, considering I am earning v little in the first place. Could you please tell me where is N clark, is it like a posh area? I know its an expensive area and all… how far is it from the main city. where are all the malls and restuarants?

^ Firstly, I want to let you know that in the U.S., working 8:30-5:30 OR 9:00-6:00 are normal working hours for people who work full-time. So if you're looking for a full-time job, this is not a horrible timing. People who have small children either find some type of childcare or after-school programs for their kids if the kids get out of school early.

In the U.S., saying that you/your family is ok with people sleeping in the drawing room and can manage does not matter. There are strict occupancy requirements in each state the landlords follow. How old are your 2 kids? Their age matters in this case.

Also, your sister staying with you for 1 week won't be a problem BUT your parents living with you for 1-2 months will be an issue. Are your parents going to move in with you in your 1-bedroom apartment for 1-2 months....so there are FIVE people living in a 1-bedroom apartment? Law makes concession for parents with young children because it makes sense that a infant/toddler/elementary school age children can share a bedroom with their parents. But it's not going to be ok with ANY landlord that you, an adult woman, will share a bedroom with your elderly parents AND your 2 small children. And I will repeat, it's not legally ok in these situations to suggest that someone is going to sleep in the drawing room.

I googled and found the two regulations I'm copying below. As you will see, they're complicated. The ages of your children and the size of the apartment makes difference. Bottom line is that none of us can give you a definite answer to this. You will need to ask the specific landlords when you're searching for apartment whether you and your 2 children can live in a 1-bedroom apartment. I will say that if they find out later on that your parents are living with you....then that could get you in trouble if they're not on the lease. Again, someone visiting for 1-week is fine.....someone moving in with you for 1-2 MONTHS is a very different scenario.

First, many municipalities have their own occupancy standards. The standards set in Chicago by the building code are quite high. Section 12-196-480 sets forth the space requirements for residential buildings stating:Every family unit shall contain at least 125 square feet of floor area for each of the first two occupants, and at least 100 square feet of each of the next two occupants, and at least 75 square feet for each additional occupant. For the purpose of this section, floor area is the area within the perimeter of the space or building occupied by the family unit, not including elevators, stairs, or other shaft enclosures.

The code, in Section 13-196-490 providing rules for sleeping rooms in residential buildings goes on to say:In every family unit and every rooming unit, every room occupied for sleeping purposes by one occupant shall contain at least 70 square feet of floor area, or if of original configuration need only comply with the regulations in effect at the time of its construction. Every room occupied for sleeping purposes by more than one occupant shall contain at least 50 square feet of floor area for each occupant 12 years of age and over and at least 35 square feet of floor area for each occupant under 12 years of age. For the purpose of this section a person under two years of age shall not be counted as an occupant.

Thanks alot for ur valuable advice which is noted. My daughters are 4 and 6 yr old n still sleeping with me. The only reason why i wnted 1 bedroom ws becus of costs otherwise i relly dun mind. Do u urself live in chicago?

I will find out about the N Clark area and let you know. But if apartments near there are $1200 etc then it's really expensive. Better to rent elsewhere and commute. Yes, bus service to and from a public school is free and they will pick and drop kids. However, make sure that the apartment etc you rent is eligible for bus service. In some states you don't get bus service if you live within a certain distance of the school, in others they will still give you bus service if your children are Elemantry age. So go on the school district website to make sure you are getting bus service. I also make sure the bus stop is very near to my residence. Your estate agent can find out or neighbors can let you know.

Your children can sleep with you in the same room but they will usually not allow you to get an apartment with one bedroom if there are two kids. Yes, same thing with guests. You might be able to rent a small house and then no one will care about house guests for a month or two ( usually). Don't know if you will be able to find that in a good enough area though. Your children can stay in the after school program which is usually cheaper than regular day care. However those usually end at six and you will have to pick them up. You can arrange for a desi lady to pick them up if your hours don't match.

Remember Chicago is a big city with lots of desis and all income levels. There are bound to be many options. Many desi ladies do baby sitting at their house for a very reasonable rate. Some may live close to the school so the bus can drop them off there or they can pick up your children. Every state has home alone laws too that mean that a child has to be a certain age before they can stay alone at home. Yes, people do break those rules. But it's for your safety and you will be living in an apartment and you don't want people to know your kid is home alone.

Most people know someone in Chicago. Your parents or relatives might know someone who can provide childcare. Check Sulekhcom for desis renting out basements. You can also tell the landlords that your parents will be staying for a month in that case.

I strongly urge you to get a less expensive apartment and learn to drive too. Chicago is very cold in the winter. Public transport may not be ideal. School buses are usually heated so don't worry about that but otherwise too. You will need groceries etc as well.

JazakAllah for such an informative message. Really appreciate it! Your suggestions are valuable and I have noted them down. I feel a bit relaxed now. I didn't understand about the distance bit. Do you mean to say if my house is very close to the school, they might not provide transportation? Is there absolutely no way I could get a one B/R with two kids. I really want to save money considering I would be the sole bread earner and this is the main cause of my worries ATM. And what time do the school finish? Any idea about after school charges? I like your idea of desi ladies. I would feel more comfortable having them with a lady who can take personal care of my kids rather than slogging my kids in the school beyond the school timings since they are still small. For sure I would not leave them at home... that is not even something to think about. Safety is priority for me. the basement idea is nice. would you have any idea how much would they charge monthly? I think it should be much cheaper than other apartments right? Is it legal there to rent out your basement to somebody? It sounds illegal to me?

one more question eastern. So you think its better for me to live in a much lesser apartment, probably closer to the school and baby sitter right? which area would u recommend since where I will be working its I think in the main center (near Lincoln park). So I think its going to b far. My husband checked google maps, its atleast 30-40 mins distance if I were to live in an affordable locality. but at this point of time I need to think about everything, school groceries, restaurants, hospitals etc all the essentials of life should be near me I guess. What do you suggest?

Is there any way for you to apply for schools in Texas where your parents are? I know Chicago is super expensive and specially the area where you will be teaching. My parents live on LaSalle St & Maple St.

N Clark and riverside is an expensive area. So that's why the apartments you see are expensive. Try to find an apartment in a nearby area that is not so expensive. Try apartment.com. I am surprised your hours are kind of 9-5 when you are teaching at a school. You might want to ask your school later on if your kids can go there too.

Basement renting is very common and legal in big cities. Each area has its rules some areas or neighborhoods don't allow but a lot do. As I said try Sulekha.com. You should be able to find a two bedroom in $700 in an area with good schools. Yes, you can stay with a lot of people in a studio or one bedroom apartment but the area most likely would be shady and schools not good. Basement you can get around $500-600 dollars maybe less. My friend and her husband got a basement in another big city of Atlanta in a posh area for $800 and by chance it's furnished too. Most apartments and basements will not be furnished esp at a low price.

Yes, schools might not provide school bus if you live within one mile or two miles of the school. It depends on the area. In my area the school provides transport because there is a Busy road on the way, otherwise we live too close to the school ( within one and a half miles). Where we lived previously , we lived within one mile of the Elemantary school but they provided transport to all Elemantary school students. However, in case of high school and middle school, there was no transport if you lived close enough. You can find out through the school website ( transport link). School ratings too can be found out through the Internet. Greatschools is one source. After school care differs from school to school and state to state and depending if you want both before and after. Just after school for one child could be around $500 per month but that is an estimate could be more. Desi ladies could go for that figure for both kids or even $400.

One thing, you will get a public school based on your address. Private you can send anywhere they can get in. So make sure, your address has a good school.

I strongly recommend you ask a estate agent. They don't usually do apartments but if you email one , they might have house rentals and information about schools too. There are lots of ads in Indian Pakistani grocery stores and masjids too for rentals ( basements too) and child care . Have you been to USA before?

Cheap apartments in a city like Chicago are VERY hard to come across and if they do...they're in bad neighborhoods. An apartment for $600-$700 is going to land you in an unfavorable area. Absolutely.

$45,000 a year is not enough for a family of 4 people...2 kids plus husband and wife. Factor in your healthcare costs, rent, utilities, commuting costs, etc.

Good school districts are very expensive to live in in Chicago and surrounding suburbs...these are highly coveted areas by everyone so finding a cheap living situation is difficult.

If you came here alone to start and your husband kept his current job until you got your bearings here, it might work but based on your salary alone...it will be hard.

We rented a **1 **bedroom apartment in a decent school district in the suburbs...$1,000 plus utilities. There was a 2 bedroom in our subdivision that went for $1300. And this is the suburbs...not even a particularly rich one...Glen Ellyn.

After taxes, you will be making $3000 per month. To live in a city like Chicago, in a decent neighborhood, with a family of four - $3000 per month would definitely put you at a tough financial situation. It's tough, but doable. At the end, it's how motivated you are to move determines whether it's worth moving or not

i dont know if you are fully aware of the H1B visa rules, reading your post makes me think you arent.

if you are on an H1B visa, your spouse can be on an H4 visa, not H2 visa (H2 is a visa for manual laborers to work in farms during harvest time).

spouse would not be able to work on an H4 visa (unless your employer sponsors your green card application and it clears a certain stage of the process, which usually takes a year or more).

currently H1B visas are quite hard to get, even for those who went to grad school in the US, despite them having special quotas. there are simply too many qualified people applying and not enough visas and its a crazy lottery system. J1 might be your only option.

i dont know much about J1 visas, but you really need to talk to someone who understands these things before you even start talking about money, housing etc.