Moving on after the end of a relationship...

…please provide suggestions on healthy ways to go on with life after a relationship is over.

Should you:

1. Look for answers/closure for why it ended?

2. Seek revenge if you were the one who was dumped (a la Glen Close’s bunny-boiling in Fatal Attraction)?

3. Drown your sorrows in a vat of chocolate and put your favourite sad songs on repeat?

4. Find a different date for breakfast, lunch and dinner for each day of the week and try and replace the failed relationship with a new relationship.

5. Take time to mourn/grieve the end of the relationship and then try to find inner peace and just learn to be content in what you have rather than what you don’t have?

Any other suggestions?

Please discuss.

Re: Moving on after the end of a relationship...

Numero 5. Followed by Numero 3. Then Numero 1, then Numero 5 again. Then maybe Numero 4. LOL

3/5

just let things go on their own.

5, then 1. You need to get over it first, and then get answers. This way you aren't disappointed if you don't get answers.

You treat yourself to chocolate fondue, get your hair and nails done, buy a new wardrobe and a few pair of shoes. You buy yourself the newest gadget that you've wanted (preferably in a pretty, metallic pink!) and you go out and meet new people!

I think 5. You need to give yourself time to find the inner peace that you mentioned, before you are ready for a new relationship. Too many people go 4. They find someone quickly on the rebound but soon they discover that the person is not suitable.

Or I guess it depends on how seriously you take a relationship if it doesn't mean much to you then you can go for 4 anyway.

Take a deep breath and get on with your life. Think about Iqbal's poetry...

Sitaroon sai aagay jahaan aur bhi hain
abhi ishq k imtehaan aur bhi hain

or perhaps

aur bhia gham hain zamanaey main mohabbat k siwa....

for me it was in this order:

1. - yes because it ended so abruptly, and for some reason, i thougt i wanted closure, but then eventually i got to the point where i wasnt goign to waste time and dwell on it because he's not worth it.
  2. - i really really did want to. that ullo ka patha should get what's coming to him. but then came to the realization that what goes around will come around and also that Allah wil decide his ulitmate punishment, which would be far worse than anything i could do in this duniya. (muhahaha!)
  3. - but not sad songs..more like "i dont need you and im much better off" type songs. 5.- it took some time, but like the Beyonce song, "it was the best thing I never had"....phew.
  • also a new routine helps. go out and do something new that u never did before and something that you've always wanted to do.
  • meeting new people. Not for a relationship purpose, but just new friends. there is no history of any reminders you may of had with your ex associated with your old friends, and its just something fresh.

time will cure all sorrows.

Don't know if that helps but yah this would be my instinct.

There's no one sure way method. It also depends on the nature of the relationship. Sometimes you need to cut off all contact, try too keep yourself as occupied as you can, talk to people who are close to you, cry when you need to, laugh when you can. Sometimes you still need some kind of contact, even though things have changed, but it's pretty difficult, especially if you're the one who was dumped. It also depends on why it was ended, was there a major fight, or maybe sometimes feelings just change, and there is no clear answer. You just need to do what helps you.

lol...
1. acha howa jaan chooti.
2. he/she dont deserve me anyways.
3. yeh nahi tu aur sahi, aur nahi to koe aur sahi.
4. Great! now i can focus on my work/studies/photography/some specific skill

Hire a professional assassin and then call millionaire match maker as shown on TV.

2, 1, 3, 4 and 5

When i broke up with my ex i would say it was 5. Wanted peace in my life and i still sometimes miss her because we have been in relationship for long time. But now, i am feeling much better Alhamdullila'h. Now, what this experience taught me to be positively motivated in life. And now eventually, i am in process of 1.

I read it somewhere

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened. ..

give yourself some time and think about it .. u wud find LOTS of things that would have made you say thank God that its over. .. EVERY RELATIONSHIP has bad sides which we over look because we are "so blind" to look at this side during that time .. .. when its over, u will find lots of reason ...

Worst Case .. flirt with every one .. ;)

^Actually this is quiet true. My breakup has given me a chance to ponder about my life. And because the negatives out weighted the positives in my relationship. I think it was for good.

Xtron sounds like he was in lurve aww ;)

Ignore that just read the last bit rofl! Sorry! ::eek: