Moving after Marriage (UK)

How many of you have moved to another country after marriage??

I will be InshAllah going from Canada to London, UK and have heard mixed opinions on the change. Any advice from those in the UK or people that have moved??

Re: Moving after Marriage (UK)

what are you worried about? moving to UK or moving to a new family? would it be any different if you had to move to London (ontario)?

think of it this way. After shaadi you will have two families, enjoy the time you spend with both of them. you live where your hubby lives.

think positive. if you ask ppl about anything they will give you a 100 negative points and then 1 positive point.. this is the case with everything. So ask your hubby-to-be how it is to live in UK .. how is lifestyle there. and then judge for yourself. It won't be a magical transformation right away but give it a chance maybe you will love it. :)

The paki community in Britain is mainly Punjabi/mirpuri speaking, and mainly come from the mirpur and jhelum areas. If you end up in Birmingham or Bradford and you're not a Punjabi, then I feel sorry for you. Central London however is nice! :D

good luck in london!
i dunno how it is in canada? is it like relaxed and peaceful?
where in london will u be moving to?
london is busy, i think wahan everyone is so busy busy busy. peepz are nice tho.
the whole world is your home starry,,,thinkof it like that and inshallaah sab sahi ho ga for you. My Dua is with you.

My sister moved from ontario to London, UK and she loves it there!!!

Good luck! :k:

aww thanks guys ur all so sweet :)!!! I guess I'm just nervous about the new country and starting over..great to hear that your sister loves it there pyari sii bachi, it gives me some hope!

I agree with FAsanti, london is a very busy place to live in, just like any big metro city. As you're from Canada it will be quiet the change. Hopefully you'll make the best out of it.

I would think of it as an oppurtunity to experience a new life, a new culture. I realise it can be overwhelming to basically start all over again but it can be fun if you are the kind to explore. Good luck.

I moved from London to Canada. It's not that different. People speak differently and drive on the other side of the road (the wrong side, in Canada). But culturally, society at large is quite similar.

London feels and is denser than Canadian cities (phsyically and population wise). Crime is a bit higher in London. Public transport is much better in London than Canada.

We moved from US to Canada and are loving it (still)!

I guess it also depends on which part of the country you are moving to-from. For example if someone is moving from New York to Toronto, they will not feel much difference but if someone is moving from Tallahassee, FL to Toronto ...its quite different world as far as pace of life is concerned.

oh god ontario is soooo much better bigger , well london good luck if its birmingham , manchester or oldham .

You'll enjoy living in the UK, all the best.

It depends how immersed your in-laws r into to community. If they r involved in tight-knit desi community, it can b stifling bcos everyone and anyone will know your business and have their opinions and u always got their presence in the back of your mind. (But then, some ppl r happy to b part of such a community).

On the other hand, if they r not so immersed, then hopefully u should find it a good experience.

Uno the saying, a house does not make a home... Hopefully the people u live with, and the way u interact with them should make your life here pleasant.

All the best.

Oh and i forgot to mention, the best thing about England (London!) is SAINSBURY'S!!!

You'll love it here, rest assured :)

Insha'Allah you'll love it....start of new life in a new country..... relax and enjoy!

I was born in the Uk, brought up for the most part in Pakistan and moved to teh US after marriage. I have been to Canada too many times. i warmed up to teh USa right away even though I had never been there. London you will find more expensive than Canada but the public transport sysytem is great. I love the public transport but those who have been use dto driving more don't like reliance on public tranposrt that much. It rains there a lot and the British accent is differnt. However, the public health care system is like Canada's maybe not as efficeient but free for teh most part.

Mostly punjabi speaking desis yes, but you will plenty of other kinds too. If you love old world charm and buildings (like kind of in Montreal) than you will like London. There are heaps of places to see and go.

The Uk is howvere smaller than Canada and as they say "something is always broken " this syestem doesn't work or that. The houses shall probbaly be smaller than what you are used to (of cousre doesn't apply to everyone) but what I love about London is that so many things are at a walking distance. Rain is not very heavy at all times "just boonad bandi " a lot.

Good luck! I love London!!

But i want to live in Canada now.

just shut shop and go....