Starting Out in the Evening,
Lions for Lambs,
The Savages,
August Rush,
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly,
Juno,
Grace Is Gone, and
There Will Be Blood

please share your reviews, if anyone has watched any of these movies.

share any good titles that you recently saw and a line about the theme of the movie.

best,
Dushwari

Re: movies to review?

:smack: not a single one that I’ve seen

so let me present review of the one that we watched last week

Mr. Bean’s Holiday.

Movie was very hilarious, as expected … the best thing that I liked about the movie is that you can sit with your kids and enjoy that.

As Mr. Bean does not speak a whole lot, movie was vey well understood by the situation and scene flow. So my daughter did not have to ask me a lot of questions and enjoyed the movie as much as me and wife did.

I highly recommend it.

Rating : 4 out of 5 star

:smiley: Same here:smack::smack:janu nami ky ilawa baqi koi dykhny ka irada bhi nahi:chai:

:smack: that is not Janu

that is Juno

Razia Butt kay novels, zara kum parHa karo

I have watched--most of them UNFORTUNATELY... for some on this thread!!!!!!

THE KINGDOM was released in 1994. Its not an english movie. Its a mixture of DANISH-SWEDISH dialect.

Furthermore..its originally a 4 episode mini-series..actually, based on some Medic-Horror epic abouta Neorosurgeon...and I remember its episode ended as "To be continued" with a tantalizing mystery....

I saw all the episodes in Stolkholm during my months stay for a course in Banking.

Per memory....it's a joint production of DENMARK, SWEDEN, GERMANY & FRANCE.....!!

Hope I have been sorta good on my painfully perfect 'memory'...

Magarr aap ne ye thread....shroo kar k......logon ko paraishani mein mubtilaa kardiya hai....kiyonkay iss mein na tow smileys hein rang ba rangi aur na aik aik minute k andurr aane wale fuzool se comments...!!

This is a good thread for those who are pursuing their careers in Communication Designing...etc.

Khalid Ahmed, Mehreen Jabbar, Marina Khan and Sania Saeed would love this thread.

Khush Rahein,

-Raju

wow ... such intolerance and bigotry againts normal Gupshup user.. head-set ...

*Dont ya worry Arjay .. I bet these stupid smileys users have seen more then one movie from this list .. *

I dont have an iota of doubt on that...friend...but the proof of the pudding lies in the eating! so I am waiting!!!! and in the meanwhile...read this;

~~RISK~~
Come on the edge
He said. They said:
We are afraid.
Come of the edge
He said. They came.
He pushed them, and
they flew ...

reallly…i gave it 2 out of 5 :bummer:

Dushwari api- non…but i gonna watch them SOOoooooOOn :smiley:

thanks for lill background information of “The Kingdom”. it is indeed very helpful.
whereas for the part of emoticon insertion…:hehe:
well “A picture is worth a thousand words”.

there is no such thing “fazool”, or useless in this world, at least not for communication and designing students, because if there is then i dont consider them “Designers” :roman

As Ashraf Gohar Goreja said “A true painter must be able to paint in every style known to man, otherwise he’s just a craftsman benefiting from the faculties of art for his own good”

personally i love to read out of the box comments. it helps me [as a communication and media student] how masses under certain environment perceive things, and then as a designer , i designs ways to tackles them :roman (or at least try to find out “how one may tackle the problem under immense outer pressure” )

Well if results are what count , please allow me to be the curtain raiser or pudding eater ..

Here I m , allowing my self to avail the given carte blanche and paint this thread with A review ( mind it , I am not calling it ‘ a critical review ) of one of the movies I have seen from this very fine given list ..

*My pick , despite being a grim subject , is on a par with any good comedy movie you have seen in your life .. *

Humor which mainly arises from the absurdity of situations that feel so genuinely familiar to viewer .

Critics have argued that there were several moments in this flick where this yoke could've taken a turn into typical Hollywood movies . But all credit goes to director and actors who refused to go there and act honestly . According to the famous critic Bob Mondello, movies like my pick are emotionally effective as they come so close to the truth.

The movie is directed and written by Tamara Jenkins. The Plot revolves around Jon and Wendy Savage , two siblings who have spent their adult years away from their father in an effort to recover from the abuse received by the hands of their own abusive father, Mr Lenny Savage.

*Later on they received a call which comes in that Mr Lenny Savage’s girl friend has died and due to his dementia , he is enable to take care of himself …. Despite the fact Jon and Wendy have not spoken to Lenny for twenty years .. *

As his children, the Savage siblings feel obliged to take care of him. The movie is indeed a nuanced tragicomedy about two floundering souls… It is always a pleasure to watch a true to life tale . I hope this movie will cause you to periodically wince and leave you with a sense of acute pleasure….

By the way The Savages” is rated R and has some raw words .

The film appeared on many critics' top ten lists of the best films of 2007.

*1st - Carina Chocano, Los Angeles Times (tied with The Diving Bell and the Butterfly) *

*3rd - Ella Taylor, LA Weekly (tied with Away from Her) *

*3rd - Sheri Linden, The Hollywood Reporter *

*5th - David Edelstein, New York magazine *

*5th - Marjorie Baumgarten, The Austin Chronicle *

*6th - Lawrence Toppman, The Charlotte Observer *

*7th - Kirk Honeycutt, The Hollywood Reporter *

*7th - Peter Hartlaub, San Francisco Chronicle *

*7th - Richard Schickel, TIME magazine *

*8th - Frank Scheck, The Hollywood Reporter *

*8th - Nathan Rabin, The A.V. Club *

*8th - Ray Bennett, The Hollywood Reporter *

*9th - A.O. Scott, The New York Times (tied with Away from Her) *

*10th - Carrie Rickey, The Philadelphia Inquirer *

*10th - Manohla Dargis, The New York Times (7-way tie) *

Reference:
*Metacritic: 2007 Film Critic Top Ten Lists. Metacritic. Retrieved on 2008-02-25. *

Available online : aint allowed to post URL .. Feel free to google Metacritic

**WOWIE........S.U.C.C.E.S.S.....at LASTTTT! **
CONGRATULATIONS RAJU JAMIL.......one thread which you can take the credit of turning into its real perspective the pseudonym..apparently from New York.... started...and such type of threads direly required...instead of making a new entrant a jackass...with odd welcome notes!

HAIL ALIYISH..........keep it up..be it from your memory or.........
stock a google go!

Khush Rahein......

eeeek havn’t seen any of them :eek:
oh my god :hayaa:
oh well but I read the book The Kite Runner but didnt get the chance to watch the movie :frowning:
But I heard its a really good movie :hula:

hope this helps Dushi ji :hugz:
and I hope u dont mind me usin smilies much :blush:

I had such lot stuff just prepared on the movies the thread originator mentioned......but now its ASTALA VISTA from this thread also.

Perhaps..I'll create my own thread on 100 TOP rated movies of Hollywood and other studios...........

Thanks to the thread originator and please keep it up with as much smileys possible...it will turn the serious movies into comical ones..and that would be welcomed by the Hollywood DIVAs.........

^ what if the threads get merged? :smiley:

aap har thread say AstaLa Vista q kartein hain? :hmmm:I should follow all ur threads then :hehe:

:smack::smack:**@Juno **

waaqai main tu samjhi Razia Butt ky kissi novel per bana li movie inhon ny:D

Looking forward to 10000 BC :dhimpak:

Kite Runner
Loved the Movie as much as the book however didnt understand why they spoke in Farsi and not Dari. Very confusing.
Hate the fact that they didnot include the Birthday song in the soundtrack :mad:

Kingdom and Rendition
Both were gruesome, I hated sitting through all that violence and blood but very well made movies.

Atonement
A disappointment. Highly recommend to read the book before you watch the movie.

There will be Blood
I know Ive watched it but Ive forgotten it so it must not be that good :smiley:

Great choice of movies!

Out of your list I’ve seen 5… but Lions for Lambs, The Kite Runner, Michael Clayton are my top pics.

To your list, I would also suggest adding “The Great Debaters” and “The Bucket List”.

I think there are threads on Michael Clayton and The Kite Runner in the Shor Sharaba forum.

I’ll try to offer my view of Lions for Lambs without giving away too much of the actual discourse… yes… I said discourse… because that’s what the movie is.

Lions for Lambs is sort of a dialog documentary criticizing politicians, media, educators and military and frowning on the docile public. Although the movie offers no answers but it raises many important questions.

It’s not a movie for the masses though – mainly because of its minimalism in terms of presentation. The movie is structured as a tripart with 2-person dialogs to offer alternate perspectives on the so called "war on terrorism".

The maxim of the movie is apparently based on a German officer from World War I who remarked of the English army: "Never have I seen such lions led by such lambs.". The movie ends leaving the audience feeling that even though they might be strongly morally opposed to something… but just feeling bad isn’t going to do much.

Mara khiyal darust tha yeh sirf UT hi dykh sakta hy aisi movies:chai:

No country for old men...is probably the best made movie I have seen since...well I can't remember really. It is too artistic, and too appealing. Its a pleasure to watch, especially for someone like me who is only satisfied with the depth of details and stunning visuals.