“What can you say about a relationship that’s over? Except that it was fun, intriguing, exciting, exhilarating and truly rocking!” Khwahish traces the relationship of Lekha Khorzuvekar and Amar Ranawat from the time they meet in a clothing store in Pune three months before they graduate from college, through the ups and downs that modern urban couples experience, to the end of their relationship five years later.
- The film explores in microcosmic detail the growth of their relationship - their acrimonious meeting, the growth of a quirky friendship, attachment and attraction, the joy and fear of acknowledging their romantic feelings for each other, the initial discomfort and excitement of the physical touch,
“If you don’t wanna have sex before marriage then screw it, let’s get married!” He proposes marriage because he wants to get laid - His Dad refuses to let him and his wife sponge off of him and they rebel and stupidly get married, go to Manali on their honeymoon.
“I’m not sacrificing anything, but putting my wager on a winning horse.” She supports him through his studies with some help from her father and even though they have no money, they enjoy the freedom and joie de vivre of being together until he graduates and lands a job.
“We’ve made it! I’m gonna sleep, party, keep a maid and blow up all the money you make now.” They get a second hand Maruti, a one bedroom flat and think they’re in paradise. Six months later…
“We don’t talk anymore.” “What do you mean, we’re talking now.” “I mean you leave for work in the morning, come back late, eat, watch TV and all we do now in the bedroom is sleep.” Boredom sets in, is marriage a convenient arrangement finally? Before one of them embarks on an affair they have to come up with schemes to bring back some excitement in their lives. They start off by making contact with their college friends who are all too busy with their families and lives.
“Let’s have a baby!” Scheme No. 2. “I guess that’s what all married couples do.” His friend tells him it’s a dumb idea to have kids - “they’ll sleep between you, cry all night, fall ill and give you heart attacks, you’ll spend all your earnings on bringing them up, their education, while they’re having a blast and finally you’ll end up in an old-folks home where you’ll have plenty of time with each other before you die. Pretty depressing, buddy.” Just ask any married couple.
“I hope it’s not my fault!” “Not your fault! It’s okay if I have a problem, but if you’re malfunctioning then your male ego’s hurt, eh?” Rifts start to appear in their marriage as they await the doctor’s verdict.
And then an external tragedy hits them and their relationship could end. And this is when they discover what love is all about and he quits his job, gets humiliated and borrows money from his Dad and they go on a vacation to Kerala and everything is forgotten in wake of the cruelty of fate and destiny. Do they manage to overcome it - definitely not, “Kyonki kuch khwahish poori ho jaati hain, aur kuch dil hi mein reh jaati hain. Yeh Zindagi hai, bhai.”
Shot on 52 locations in Pune, Kerala and Himachal in glorious cinemascope with six songs by Asha Bhonsle, Khwahish talks about loving, living, and losing. It’s about what it means to be young, urban, Indian and starting a life in an unknown city.
(Source: IndiaFM.com)