mothers of multiples
4..she picked him up while he was sleeping..she said as soon as she picked him up she heard a crack..as if a glass has broken..and then and there the miscarriage
mothers of multiples
4..she picked him up while he was sleeping..she said as soon as she picked him up she heard a crack..as if a glass has broken..and then and there the miscarriage
My pregnancy was overall difficult!!! However it was a piece of cake compared to the arrival of twinkies. I got labor pain late night so I figure I wait them out and I woke everyone up when my water broke. We got to the hospital, and they told me after the checkup I took 75% of labor at home and, they checked and my baby A who was breech the whole pregnancy was now heads down waiting to come out. I told the doctor just do the c-section because no way is she going to come out!! She is wasting your time. They gave me epidural and wait 15 mins and inform me she is breech!! I wanted to throw a chair in her face!! They prep the OR and They take me in and I had mil n hubs in the OR with me. So during the surgery I am throwing up her while they are performing the C section on the epidural they gave me so I was wide awake feeling them swimming and fishing through my insides. The babies came at 36 week weighing 3lb 11oz n 4lb 1oz. I was afraid to even hold them. They take me back to my room and post 15 mins, i feel my badages are wet so I call the doctors and lo an behold I am bleeding!! So they come in and fix it by readjusting the staples and the pain was intense since my cut was superfresh. 30 mins later im wet and they come in and im soaked in blood so they give me anesthesia thru my spine and this time knock me out. Weirdly this time I went in peace and because babies were outside and a part of me knew atleast I could not hurt them. The docs apparently nicked one of my artery during my c-section and thats why I bled and lost tons of blood. This was a blessing in disguise because they were not letting the twinkies go home and I got a 5 day stay because of the amount of blood I had lost. Feeding them was hard and the lactation nurses pushed breastfeeding and because both of them were so tiny, they were not latching on at all. I had a tube thing that they gave me in helping them breastfeed. I didnt sleep at all and they took forever to drink milk. When we came home, breastfeeding was not working because they took literally almost two hours to feed because of the tube contraption!! So I decide to pump and my routine was pumping every four hours in between feeds every three hours, change diapers, put them to sleep and pump and it would start all over!! I pumped until they were 16 months old and I never got to sleep because I had to wake up twice a night to pump for those 16 months. I lived with my inlaws so I had help but mil took care of the house n my life revolved around the babies. It was crazy because there was so much laundry and I sterilized all 8 'mam bottles that come with gazillion pieces and the sterilization in the dekhchi took a good chunk of my life. We used the same color clothes but things were purple and pink. One of my twinkies literally was such a light sleeper that She would only sleep in a bouncer and I slept with one eye open because i feared that somehow it might topple over. It was many many sleepless nights, time was not enough and every little insecurity you have as a new parent drove me mad. If I had to do all over again, I would not give up on breastfeeding directly because pumping is not easy.. Very four hour, whether i was in a car or a dawat, i had to do it and because my kids ddnt take formula, it made me a prisoner of that pump. My twinkie B was allergic to formula and would not take alementum or soy milk so I literally had no choice. They were picky eaters and so they relied mostly on milk but as difficult as it seemed at that moment, it doesn't seem so overwhelming now. Its done, its over and its just a blur like khatti said.
Re: mothers of multiples
Wow you guys are amazing!!! And you both breastfed your twins! I am breastfeeding only one and it's so exhausting!!! I always thought moms of twins probably don't breastfeed because it's probably impossible to do so but look at you guys! Such dedication and perseverance! MashaAllah!
Awww devil I was waiting for ur entry, definetly multiples are bit tough thn single n kudos to all ladies who have multiples hats off :)
Girls, I was like Elsie the Cow!! I could have nursed the entire neighborhood with my supply!! Mashallah, I’ve never had a problem with breast feeding. The entire time the twins were in the NICU, they exclusively received BM through the feeding tubes. Since I had received a full spinal block like Devi, I was knocked out for like 3 days…the babies were born early Wesnesday, and I wasn’t able to get out of bed and be wheeled down to see them until like midnight Saturday! The first day I was in a morphine induced haze, lol! When I finally came out of it, the NiCU nurse brought me a tube and a hand pup to see if I could express some colostrum…she was like "don’t worry if you can’t get any, even a few drops will be ok…I freaking filled up 1 1/2 tubes!!! It was hilarious!! The nurses were in of awe!!
Devi, I know what you mean about being a slave to the pump…that’s all I did, especially when thing 1 came home but 2 was still in NICU…it was feed, change, burp..then pump…and then leave for the hospital…I would go to feed #2 twice a day, and delivery more pumped breastmilk for him. ![]()
mothers of multiples
i had milk but it wasnt the greatest supply and god I ate everything to amp it up but I couldnt get to a point where it would be enuf in abundance. If I got enuf that I could freeze,y immine system took a blow and I got sick anlot so it would get used up and then the race to freeze some would start. The twinkies stayed there for a week but Alhumdilillah it was just weight they were waiting for them to gain so they gave us a room in the hospital for four days. Khatti kudos to you because feeding them with that tube thingy directly from the breast was about the most tedious longest task and then when they had still trouble drinking that way, i just used to cry. I think that was my lowest moment.
oh man. you ladies are incredible moms! i can't imagine what you went through with the twins because i went through all sorts with just one of mine, esp with breastfeeding, and i think i would have plain lost my mind if there had been two instead!
and i m the only who had zero milk :(, sometimes i feel due to lack of food or circumstances pata nhi, kher any tip for increasing milk supply do share ladies, i l keep in my mind for next baby :)
wow wow…khatti and devii you are amazing MA ![]()
hats off to all those moms with twins. for me even one is such a handful at the moment ![]()
Wow Devi n khatti...you girls are amazing!
I couldn't breast feed my one for more than 3 months... Probably I just didn't try harder. :(
ok devi and khatii.. when i have my third... this is teh thread im gonna visit when im having a crazy night with the lil one... this thread is full of insane amounts of strength!!!!
you women are alpha moms!
i simply have no words.. just.. simply... amazing.. mashallah
:sniff sniff:
devi: i cant believe the hard spot of not having enough milk and your kid only drinking that milk and no other... i woudl have broken down again and again and again! does she drink regular milk now? or a special milk?
and would you want more? and how were they as babies? easy to handle or same as khatti's?
and both of you.. do you guys find that one twin is nicer than the other.. like they show in the movies... i dont mean downright evil but still :D ?????
mothers of multiples
Ok i deleted that because it sounds like loads if complaining to me
They have always been picky if u dont feed me that is fine by me kinda kids so with food I have to literally chase them around. She grew out of it by 2ish but we managed to get her on some enfamil formula that didn't make her all rashy. They were late bloomers so early intervention came till 1 but living with inlaws made it easier for them because they had loads if social interaction from everyone. Their personalities are zameen asmaan apart, even their food preference but they usually will ear ghar ka khana. I have trouble when we go on vacations because they literally dont eat because its not desi. The eviler twin is dono i think because they will compromise on what doesnt hold much value but certain things they will not budge on but twin A is the leader type and she only leads twin B to trouble. They are intuitive of each others feelings. If one has been daantified by me, doosrinwill bring a sifarish. If one is crying, the other forrun runs to console them if one of us is not around. If one is doing something she can hurt heraelf in, doosri will take me to her like a regular lassi hehe!!! Its the best to just know they have each others back
Thing 1 and Thing 2 have very different, distinct personalities. Thing 1 has been on autopilot since Day1!!! He’s very independent, and fearless to a fault. Even though they were preemies, Thing 1 was still on track development wise and hit all the milestones as he should have. Thing 2 had many developmental delays (physical) and we also had Early Childhood intervention (occupational therapist) come to the house to work with him all the way up to age 3-4. He still gets speech therapy at school now.
Personality wise, #2 is my sweetheart. He is so caring and sensitive, he’ll literally take a niwala out of his mouth to feed me. He is also insanely smart, by math genius brainiac!! He is also a loner. He could care less if his brothers include him in their playing or not. He’s perfectly happy on his own.
Thing 1 is his older brothers shadow! His main goal in life is to be just like his Bhai. He also inherited his father’s Baniya gene!!! Since we’ve gotten the chickens, he’s already mapped out a business plan to sell eggs to our neighbors ![]()
The twins never have had that “twin intuition” thing going on. We used to stare at them like they were some sort of science experiment to see if they could feel each other’s pain or joy, but no dice. They really didn’t acknowledge each other for the first couple of years! However, once they started Pre-K, and were put in separate classes, I noticed that they were always on the lookout for each other. And they are very fair..if one gets something, he automatically makes sure that his brother gets the same thing.
Like Devi said, they definitely have each other’s back!
afshi: man... 4 kids with 2 twins... and you being just 1... holy wow! did she live in a joint family or was she on her own? i wanna see just who the twins are.. blog mein share karo sahbash!
masi: we should all hug our moms just for keeping us alive :D
She lived on her own. My Phuppo lived pretty close by, but she had 5 of her own kids to take care of.
My brothers are not identical..check out my FB.