so v day gets a lashing out with ppl saying oh its a nonsense day hyped up by companies trying to make some money.. hallmark, chocolatiers, florists etc
what bout mothers day? is ke khilaaf no voice upping?
how hypocritical no?
just occured to me today when i was stuffing my face with fresh bread, smelling the roses the kid read husband bought me as well as wearing the earrings the kid also read husband got me.
so waht gives folks? why are we mommies so gay when it comes to mothers day but the same women go berserk on v day.. why why why
p.s) i expect flowers all the time.. v day ya koi bhi day.
it's one thing to not want to celebrate and not make a big fuss, it's another to actively put others down or think little of someone who DOES celebrate. (I remember seeing some pretty weird FB statuses for V-day earlier this year...)
anyway, I think theres nothign wrong with celebrating or not wanting to celebrate, it's just when you start dissing those who DO choose to celebrate, the jealousy/sour grapes seem pretty obvious.
and also what I’m trying to say is… ppl that hate v day celebrate mothers day with full vigor.. and also fathers day (well those that are parents)..
why the double standards? is mothers day a more better day to spend on money on than vday?
thats waht i found confusing today… a friend who is also a mom was going on and on bout how johnny bought her flowers (well johnny’s dad did).. and got her a card and chocolates too… and bfast in bed. awesome right..
so i know how verbal she gets and foams in the mouth bout how gay valentines day is and waste of money
my response (i did wait a long long couple of months for this day to arrive) .. so you got flowers today and all that chocolate.. why? is mothers day better than vday? money spent on flowers and cards and gifts isn’t wasted today but it is on vday? how? shouldn’t u be celebrated everyday rather than have just one day.. cuz thats what you have to say bout vday.. love should be shown everyday not on just one stupid day
im ecstatic to say that she had no answer.. YAY ME!
I was actually thinking the same thing. Mother's day is as much a hallmark holiday as Valentines day so why the double standards? I think it's because on mother's day, children get to profess their love for their mother who they often take for granted so at least there is one day where they take out time to show their gratitude. Whereas on Valentines Day, teenagers are just expressing puppy love to members of the opposite sex and people in general want to discourage that.
^ that is a good point; I understand the reasons why ppl don't want to celebrate V-day...I myself don't make a big fuss about it and expect my husband to do anything. But I wouldn't go and say other couples who celebrate are "fake" or superficial or whatever. (like I have seen)..
Cherry: teenagers are silly bout everything really...so let's forget.bout em for a.bit. what bout ppl in meaningful relationships who wish to further express their love on vday
The friend I have talked bout in my post is quite married yet she hates vday. I know quote a few.couples that cou care less.bout it but go all out on other special days. It makes no sense.
It's cute and very aww hearing my kid state and do lovely dovey things for.me on moms day... But heck its.also nice seeing husband express his share of love on vday
I dont mind celebrating mothers day but It has become a competition whose significant other made a grander gesture. No matter how big or small a gift... Its a gift whether its on mothers day or vday!!
actually.. i knwo quite a few guppans who are married and are against vday... which is fine.. so are a few of my married friends...
its ok.. celeberate or not.. but to be hypocritical bout it.. thats what i dont get. how mothers day or fathers day for that matter is better than vday... when you are spending the same amount of not more buyin the same stuff you would have on vday. the only diff is the relation of the person expressing their love.
oh also.. women getting expensive stuff for mothers day... when their kid is what.. a newborn?! thats something else that didnt make sense to me.. i thought it was bout a kid doing something nice for its mommy.. like bfast in bed.. or making a home made card etc.
but ive seen women getting lavish prezzies from the husband on behalf of their 1 yr old... whaaaaa?
i have gotten jewellary in teh past 3 yrs... i told the hsuband it makes no sense at all... so this yr he took midget to the jewellary store to pick out a set of earrings?! wth?!
i on the other hand never give anything major money wise... this yr midget is making his own card.. the past 2 yrs.. ive made em at home on his behalf.. even wrote with my left hand to get the toddler handwriting down good...
I dont find V day charming.. it must be teh color red and the hearts and honestly we have never made a big deal out of it.
We never "celebrated" motehrs day except that usually I just got my mom something small that she was looking for..however, this year my husband got me a photo album and a necklace on behalf of my baby.. I used to look at those "mom" necklaces and think who in the world will ever buy that.. yep you should have seen my face when my husband gave me that :D
I will return the necklace because its not my taste but photoalbum.. I am LOVING it.. I am so glad motehrs day came so husband put the album together otehrwise it was just one of those things that he kept delaying!!! so thank god for the mothers day!!!
Hubs and I usually have the twinkies make something. When they were newbies, i put their drool on a card.. Hey that was all they had to offer and it was priceless for the hubs and I who waited 7 years. We both try to make artsy crafty projects gifts with them and they love giving it to is so the gift doesn't have to be expensive and extravagant and the same goes for vday. As for pakis blowing up holidays out of proportion, tey do and they overkill every occasion. Call me old fashioned, but izhare mohabbat do logon ke beech main ziada acha lagta hai. I dont go around expressing my love for anyone in lambi kahaniyan.
Gosh, the drool bit was gorgeous.
Im not against either day 9V-day or mothers day) or I dont prefer one over the other.
howver, i do feel mothers day (and fathers day) are far more signicant than V-day.. for me anyways. Theres a lot more "purity" in that gesture and just niceness. The amount of people u see sitting in cafes and restaurans with their mothers or grandmothers, is really heartwarming. Surely, we can argue that it should be done on every other day... but oh well, there is a special day in the calendar year that is marked especially for mothers (and fathers).. and its just soooo nice seeing people out and about with their mums and grandmammas.
I dont get any extravagant things for either day (if anything at all that is hmmpf but thats not what its about. Its about just reminding ur loved ones that you do love them and care for them. And that's real special.
I really dont mind that a day in the year is marked for that.