Mother's Day - A critique!

So critically analyzing should a love for ones mother be confined to a single day? Should such days be celebrated?

I heard and saw a very interesting aspect of this day today. I’d share it later obviously. But I’d like to hear first what all of you think :chai:

Re: Mother's Day - A critique!

I don't get this criticism... I mean if our parents spend some quality time with us on the weekends, does that mean they don't love us during the rest of the week? If a husband plans something special for his wife for Valentine's day (or any other random day once a month, once a year), does that mean he doesn't love her the rest of the time?

there's always one.

But you are only doing it because someone told you that on this particular day you are supposed to do this.

Re: Mother’s Day - A critique!

Before I had a kid of my own,I had the same feelings about this day.I love my mom,all the year and I do not need to tell her one day what she means to me.
Now after having a kid,I seriously need a day where I am told how much I am loved and appreciated for whatever I do.Believe it or not I did make my 2 yo tell me ‘Happy mama day’ when she woke up and I also know that she does not know what it means…:hehe:

Jokes aside,it just feels good to be appreciated and acknowledged in a special way and mother’s day does that.I have no hard feelings against it or in favor of it but I just like it,now a lil more than ever..:slight_smile:

No the Idea is not to Confine, One cannot confine an ocean into a tea cup!

So? Is mein buri baat kya hai? It's a universal tribute to mothers.

This reminds me of the Jummah debate... Friday holds a lot of importance for Muslims and some say well why isn't every day a sacred day for the religious lot?

Well i don't believe in a particular to appreciate ya're mother. Talking about that..it's been 3 days since i have not skyped with my mom!.

So here's what I have to say.

In pakistan at least before the boom of private tv channels, Mother's day was a heard thing but nothing major. And today when I switched on the TV, every single channel was running a mother's day transmission in muqabla with the others. I surf online, I see ads telling about sales, mothers day special offers etc splattered across my web browser. Good enough. It's a great way to let your mum know how special this day is. BUT isn't this more of a commercial thing...ways to battor paisa?

Ok that apart. Here's the real deal. Hubby's elder cousin (taya's son) who's very close to us, had a big tragedy at a very early age. His beautiful wife passed away during a complicated C-section and birth of their second adorable girl. So naturally these girls are being raised by their ever loving Daadi. We called them up just to know how were they all doing. The cousin sounded exhausted and dejected. Hubs asked what's wrong, and he in a very despairing voice tells us that the girls have locked themselves up since Friday, were refusing meals, as they had a huge Mother's Day celebration carnival at their school, where they all had cards and goody bags made especially for their mothers. They had compiled a whole soft-board dedicated to the students pictures with their mothers. The second daughter had naturally none to even put up! :(

Now what is such children's fault? At such a delicate age, what would Mother's Day be to them!

Mother's Day - A critique!

This is my take on it-

There are many of us who understand and appreciate the sacrifices our mothers have made and every single cell in our body is indebted to her. We don't need one single day to show our mother we live her, the eithraam and the bharam in our hearts and actions everyday is enough to show her that she is loved to bit and pieces. Now the men and women who have dumped their parents in edhi centers or nursing homes who never look back at how their mothers are doing because to them and this world, their mother is dead, for them i hope mothers day is a reminder of how horrid ungrateful of a child they are. Atleast when the whole duniya is cheekh cheekh ke saying celebrate your mother, love your mother, maybe the conscious inside these people stir a little and maybe they think about their mother. So in my opinion, we can never repay or return what our mothers have done for us and we get caught up in our lives so we sometimes forget to show her how special she is but if one day brings out the diva in her.. Why not!??!

:( Eni, even if you took away all the Mother's day transmissions from the tv channels, even if you completely banned Mother's day forever, there would always be something that would make the kids equally sad. It could be something as simple as watching a friend getting a hug from her mother or watching a family scene in a movie ....

As for lavish celebrations on this day or Valentine's day or birthdays.... that's something I personally don't agree with. I've spoken in favour of dedicating a day to mothers worldwide, not in favour of elaborate celebrations.

May be someone else can shed some light on how school admins can take care of kids, who have lost one or both parents, during the Mother/Father's day activities.

^I agree..but then again, there would be many other moments, when the kids would cheer up too the same day. But having an entire day to keep reminding them of their loss is kind of cruel to them.

I agree. Whoever they're closest to needs to have a heart-to-heart with them about this. Do not mourn what you don't have, cherish what you do have.

I know that's easier said than done but is there really another way of getting through this?

Women! Never happy!

Not sure how it is in Pakistan (or even any other country) but I know greeting cards here include other women in mothers day too--aunts, grandmothers etc...basically anyone and everyone who'd been a mother figure....I thought the same happens in schools....to make sure that the child doesn't feel left out.

I was thinking of the same thing, but from what I heard from their dad it does seem that they were laying too much emphasis on the 'mum' bit thus such a strong reaction.

Obviously here in the UK or US..because they are a lot of single parents around or kids with foster parents or being raised by someone else, they must include other women in the greeting cards etc, but in Pakistan due to it being a relatively new concept, people probably don't realise the plight of the less blessed ones, maybe?

^and even if their teachers do encourage them to write or make goody bags about their grandma, am sure there would be nagging thoughts in the mind of a 4 year old..that why don't I have a mother.

The poor kid is so sensitive, that on my last visit to Khi, she came to me with a flower and asked me 'Aani (she calls me that) can I be yours and chachu's daughter?'

My heart broke at this! :(

every day is mother's day.

I am one of those, now stone me for this please

I do not believe on ‘days’

I love my family, my mom, my dad, my wife, my kids every second of my life. I tell them how much I love them, whenever I feel like. I shall not be intimidated or compelled to tell them at any particular day or time just because everyone else is doing it.

My wife called her mom and my mom yesterday to wish them on mother days. She told my mom

“XXXX nai tu phone nahi kia ho ga, so I am calling on his behalf too. He never does that on any day but is ka matlab yee nahi…”

my mom interrupted

“He does not need to. Mujhey pata hai how much he love me and how much I mean to him”

mm so you let your mom relax all day and do her chores for her every single day?

or maybe what you mean is you let her slave it out even on mothers day? :O