‘Most suspects under arrest are activists’

Looks like Sindh Police with the help of rangers are doing pretty good job in Karachi. First time in the history of terrorism in Karachi, an AIG police exposed and arrested a killer belonging to a terrorist’s cult, where for many years police was afraid to do so. The boldness of this police official should be recognized and awarded by people of Karachi, Sindh government and president.

The way these two organizations working day and night to arrest hard core criminals belonging to any party should be appreciated by people of Karachi. Who knows Karachi may be back on track like older times soon.

Job well done by Ch. Nisar so far.

Most suspects under arrest are activists - DAWN.COM

KARACHI, Oct 4: With the Rangers-led ‘Karachi operation’ entering the second month on Saturday, the law-enforcement agencies prepared themselves for more vigorous action following the arrest of over 800 suspects — most of them said to be associated with political parties — by the paramilitary force during the much publicised campaign against militancy, targeted killings, extortion and kidnapping for ransom.

Amid criticism from certain quarters, senior officials from the Pakistan Rangers, Sindh, and the Karachi police said they were determined to move fast after one month to achieve certain targets that they hoped would ensure a long-awaited sustainable peace in the metropolis.

“In a month, the Pakistan Rangers, Sindh, conducted 303 raids,” said Brigadier Mohammad Rafiq Khan, the deputy director general of Pakistan Rangers, Sindh, while speaking to Dawn.

The figure indicates that more than 10 raids had been conducted in the city on a daily basis during the past one month.

“A total of 827 suspects have been arrested in Rangers’ raids that helped in seizure of 556 illegal weapons of various kinds from different parts of the city.”

Referring to the four major areas — militancy, targeted killing, extortion and kidnapping for ransom — being focused by the Rangers in Karachi, the brigadier said more than 300 raids made so far were in line with the mandate given to the paramilitary force. When asked about the authenticity of the impression that a majority of the suspects being arrested were associated with political parties one way or the other, he replied: “This is absolutely correct… our core objective is to restore peace to Karachi. We are making all moves in line with our job and you’ll see a sharp increase in these moves with much faster pace in the days to come.”

**Launched on Sept 5 after the federal government empowered the Rangers to lead a targeted operation with the support of police against criminals in the city, the operation has drawn a strong reaction from certain quarters but is largely welcomed by different segments of society.The decision to pick the Rangers for the lead role in restoring peace to the city was taken at a special session of the federal cabinet after extensive consultation by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif with all stakeholders, including Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ibad, Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah, leaders of major political parties, representatives of the business community and the media during his two-day stay in Karachi last month.
**The Karachi police also emerged active during the past one month and the newly-appointed chief of the law-enforcement agency claiming ‘a free hand’ sounded confident of achieving the targets.

“We are determined to restore peace,” said additional IG Shahid Hayat Khan in a brief response. “This is our primary job and we are making all-out efforts for that only objective. We have the authority and set rules to take action and one can gauge the performance through the figures of last month.”

But all is not well mainly for the party enjoying the largest mandate of Karachi, as Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) workers are also said to be among the suspects recently picked up by the law-enforcement agencies.

The party, which sees frequent raids on its offices during the operation and has reacted strongly at least twice during the past one month, believes that its workers are being targeted.**

“We don’t see any decline in the city’s crime trend,” said MQM deputy parliamentary leader in the Sindh Assembly Khawaja Izhar-ul-Hasan. “The killings go on, as do the cracker and hand grenade attacks. We were the ones who demanded an army operation but unfortunately it appears that direction of the operation has been changed on political grounds and there is a serious resentment among the people of Karachi against this trend.”

Similar, concerns were shared by leaders of the Awami National Party (ANP) — another political stakeholder whose offices have come under raids of the law-enforcement agencies and whose workers have been picked up even on murder charges —but the party doesn’t want that ‘Karachi operation’ to be stopped.

“If you rely on facts, we are among the victims of the operation and not its beneficiary,” said Sindh Awami National Party (ANP) general secretary Bashir Jan. “The killing of our workers continues and our strongholds are under the same threat that they had been before the operation was launched. The misery doesn’t end here as our workers are being picked up by the law-enforcement agencies. Yet we want this operation to continue and it should be expanded and made more effective,” he said.

Re: ‘Most suspects under arrest are activists’

Murtaza Bhutto ke case wala AIG(now) a pure Jiyala doing a job according to his wadera masters.

^ If he is rounding up criminals (just so happens most of them belong to the part your support), then no one really cares if he's a wadera or khadera or serving whoever he is.

Finally some good news from Karachi.

Let me give you a doze of reality and wake up call:

after extensive consultation by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif with all stakeholders, including Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ibad, Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah, leaders of major political parties, representatives of the business community and the media during his two-day stay in Karachi last month.

Tell me how many so called 'wadera masters' do you see in above statement?

Back to topic, can you link proof what you are saying? I understand Murtaza Bhutto was very emotional and unstable person. He was stupid and did not deserve to be killed in Karachi. As far I remember he was killed by SHO named Sial who was later on murdered mysteriously to wipe out the proof, who was behind his killing.

The results of this operation should be measure in reduction of crimes against which this operation is being conducted. It will be clear in a month where we stand, how effective this operation has been.

Captain I'm talking about his loyalty for bhuttos and party, Police WO bhi imandar and neutral lol

The initial reports said that there wasn't much permanent decrease in violence in the city. I don't even get why they announced the operation weeks before, but I guess this gem comes from the same minds where banning instead of tracking a call is the way to stop terrorism....

Crackdown brings apparent lull in Karachi violence - DAWN.COM

Rampant violence has terrorised Karachi, Pakistan’s biggest city and economic heartbeat, in recent years, but a recent security crackdown seems to have brought a lull in the bloodshed.

Kidnappings for ransom, sectarian attacks and gang warfare have spiralled since 2008, terrifying the city’s 18 million inhabitants and prompting tens of thousands of businessmen to flee to the safety of Punjab province.

The city claimed a grisly record last year as 2,124 people were murdered on its streets, according to the Citizens-Police Liaison Committee (CPLC), the highest number since records began nearly 20 years ago.

“The merciless killings have turned this ‘bride of cities’ into a city of ghosts and darkness,” said Tauseef Ahmed Khan, a political analyst, referring to Karachi’s Persian nickname.

But an operation by police and paramilitary government Rangers in the city’s tangled maze of teeming streets, launched early September on the orders of the central government, seems to be having some positive effect.

The CPLC said that in September 155 killings were reported — down from 280 in August. With a total of 2,058 murders up to the end of September 2013 it is on course to beat last year’s record, but the crackdown appears to have at least slowed the killings.

Aftab Chunar, the head of the autopsy department of the city’s largest state-run Civil Hospital, told AFP that before the operation he was receiving 16 to 18 bodies a day. Now the figure has fallen to three or four.

On the streets, there is relief.

**A 45-year-old bank worker, Aziz Rana said,

After a long time there is a feel of normalcy in the city. Now it seems that criminals are on the run and I pray that the good old times return to the city.

Under the military rule of general Pervez Musharraf, the murder rate hit a low of just 76 killings in 2003 before rising to 777 in 2008, when he was ousted.

The figure shot up from 2010 onwards as criminal gangs backed by rival political parties grew in power and sectarian and ethnic violence swelled.

Amir Ahmed Shaikh, until recently the police chief of southern Karachi, the worst affected part of the city, said gangsters backed by political clout had held Karachi to ransom.

Trader flight

Extorion became a hugely lucrative source of earnings for the gangs, with one intelligence official telling AFP around $14 million a month was extorted in Karachi.

Traders and businessmen are the ideal prey for the extortionists, and many have fled the city, which accounts for more than 40 per cent of Pakistan’s GDP.

“Some 40,000 to 45,000 traders and shopkeepers have migrated from Karachi to the Punjab province as their properties and lives both are not safe and secured here,” said Atiq Mir, chairman of Karachi Traders Alliance, a representative body of the city’s small to medium traders.

The crackdown has seen Rangers use powerful motorbikes to chase suspects down the narrow, twisting streets which remained off-limits in previous missions using heavy vehicles.

Hundreds of alleged target killers, extortionists and gangsters have been arrested since the start of the operation, Rangers and police say.

Fateh Mohammad Burfat, professor of sociology and criminology at the state-run Karachi University, said the crackdown seemed to be working.

"Peace seems to have returned to the city and the common man, after a long time, has breathed a sigh of relief ever since the operation began,” he told AFP.

It is the neutrality of the operation which is key to its success and so far the police and rangers are executing the operation indiscriminately and with objectivity.

Others are not convinced the lull will last. Making arrests is one thing, but getting convictions in Pakistan’s sclerotic legal system is another.

Police say more needs to be done to protect witnesses, currently too scared of reprisals to give evidence.

Tauseef Ahmed Khan, a professor at Federal Urdu University in Karachi and a prominent newspaper columnist, said the real proof of the operation’s effectiveness would come with the Islamic holy month of Muharram, due to start in early November.

“It seems artificial to me though there are some vital signs as they have arrested criminals even-handed,” professor Tauseef Ahmed Khan said.

But one would like to see how the month of Muharram passes and it would be a good litmus test of the ongoing operation.

Muharram, which culminates with Ashura, the holiest day in the Shia Muslim calendar when the faithful march to mourn the seventh-century killing of Imam Hussein, is frequently a flashpoint for sectarian violence.

A few of the terrorists including the PAC ones have been caught from Lahore in recent days, therefore its right to assume that the terrorists are on the run. Lets hope the result is permanent and not temporary like the one in the past.

Again, it may be a little too early to say if the arrested persons are the wanted criminals/terrorists, very likely many are still on the run with some captured. Once the operation stops then give it a month or two to see where we stand. If the captured ones were the criminals then we will not see the crimes go back up otherwise the activities will resume. Lets continue the operation and hope that we are capturing the right criminals, BTW the net should be widened to include mobile-snatchers as well.

I have openly said many times that I was, Iam and I will remain supporter of PPP, unlike your cowardly stance regarding supporting MQM.

Well, I'm not like you blind and deaf and worshipping graves. I say it's wrong when AH say something wrong I say wrong if MQM involving in any street crimes but I don't believe any report which is one sided and POLICE claim it. We all know how our police work and how they can make a hathi to Cuha and a chuha to a hathi!!!
And it's not need to put a party name banned or not banned but wisess all know who are really behind Bhatta Khori and ransom kidnappings.

^ When have you ever criticized altaf? You, along with clad, are like the sachaydino's of MQM. Shukar hai saleem yahan nahin aaya warna abhee tak...

bhai never said anything wrong so there is no chance of him criticizing Altaf :hehe:

When did I support PPP's wrong policies?

For the time being operation is working and started to give some initial successes. This kind of operation should have been done a long time ago and should have been continued till cleansing of terrorists and bhatta khor.

Unconditionally support PPP.

'nough said

So what, every one here support their parties including yourself unconditionally.

**I prefer to vote jagirdars, sardars and bogus religious parties (not involving in terrorist activities) compare to killers, rapists, bhatta khors, kidnapers etc whose survival is only racism, prejudice, hatred, back stabers, believing in doctorine of "wichon wichon khai jao te ute ute rola pai jao" and segregating people according to ethnic back ground. Good luck with your choice.

Which party have I supported unconditionally? I am very cynical about them ranging from PTI to MQM to PML-n to PPP. Of course, PPP is at the very bottom due to not doing anything at all since Bhutto's time, even though I vehemently disagree with Bhutto's quota system and nationalization to name a few. I guess that quota system arc intersects with MQM but I am not a fan of altaf hussain (only like mustaf kamal from there). I also like how Imran khan can explain things and agree with him that insaaf is the backbone of any society and about the taxation system of Pakistan, but I have severely criticized him on his rather 'softer' naïve approach to Taliban i.e. applying IRA style negotiations with them when Taliban aren't exactly IRA. IRA at least used to call people to get out before they bombed them but Taliban cherish the idea of killing the "munafiqeen".