Most Pakistanis want Musharraf to give up dual role

Staff Report

LAHORE: Most Pakistanis feel that General Pervez Musharraf should not continue with both his offices of army chief and president at the same time, according to a poll conducted by the US-based International Republican Institute (IRI).

Some 56 percent of respondents said Gen Musharraf should not hold both offices, while around 30 percent favoured him continuing in both posts. The opposition to the president’s dual role increased by around 26 percent compared with the IRI’s June 2006 survey on the same question. The president then enjoyed the support of 49 percent of respondents.

To the question of whether Gen Musharraf should be re-elected president by the current parliament, around 48 percent of respondents disagreed with the idea while 43 percent favoured it. Besides, 42 percent of the respondents said that the ruling coalition’s performance was not good enough for them to warrant re-election.

The survey was released on Thursday and was conducted from February 12 to March 7, 2007, questioning 3,997 adult men and women from around 256 villages and 144 urban locations in 65 districts in all four provinces of the country.

Some 54.2 percent of respondents said they approved of the way Gen Musharraf was doing his job, but this was nine percent less than in the previous survey in September 2006. In Punjab, his support dropped 22 percent, as only 54 percent of Punjab residents questioned in the poll thought that he was handling his job properly, as compared to 76 percent in the previous survey. Support for the president was strongest in Sindh (60.6 percent) and Balochistan (61 percent).

To the question of which leader could effectively handle Pakistan’s problems, 32 percent of respondents said Gen Musharraf was the most suitable leader, followed by Benazir Bhutto (25.4 percent) and Nawaz Sharif (15.1 percent). Less than five percent of respondents considered all other political leaders - including Altaf Hussain, Imran Khan, Qazi Hussain Ahmed and Maulana Fazlur Rehman - as leaders who could solve their problems. Province-wise, Gen Musharraf gained 48.4 percent support from Balochistan, Benazir Bhutto 56 percent from Sindh, and Nawaz Sharif 23 percent from Punjab. Most agreed that Benazir Bhutto (65 percent) and Nawaz Sharif (63.3 percent) should be allowed to return to Pakistan. More than 50 percent of Pakistan Muslim League voters also favoured the exiled leaders’ return.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\04\27\story_27-4-2007_pg7_23

Would be interesting to see a similar poll conducted after the judicial coup :hmmm:

Re: Most Pakistanis want Musharraf to give up dual role

Mush doesn't care what most Pakistanis, he only care about power and money for himself

A free and fair poll would settle the question, but of course he knows he would lost that

It appears that more pakistanis also want him to be the leader compared to other politicians.

a ‘poll’ done by the:research wing of the US Republican Party.
The survey was ordered by the International Republican Institute (IRI) of the party

A so-called poll by the neo-cons , you will grasp at anything!!

PS: :wink:

PS2: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=239525&highlight=International+Republican+Institute

Mr. Real Deal
yaar Gen.muharraf ne app ki murgi churayee hai jo app haath dho ker uss key peechey parey hoye hain.....
Yaar come on...stop blaming west and musharraf for everything.......**

most pakistanis also elected nawa shirif and benzir in.

BOGUS STATISTICS....

& who are these MOST PAKISTANIS???Please let us know too??Except for some 3rd class Political Parties tola with their political mascot ,everyone is content here with Musharraf.

The problems of Pakistan wont end by making Musharraf leave.
The question is, who will replace him?
The alternatives seems really mad. Benazir and Nawaz s. did their turns and what did Pakistan gain of out it?

The only leader who dealt with the mullahs trouble makers, deserves some credit. US has a new darling when it suit their agenda.......

I am a Pakistani too , but I don t want that...

Ditto. I want mushy to lead in both offices. If he gives up his army office, he'll lose a lot of power and will sacrifice his authority to bring change to the country. Most of the padi likhi (educated) awaam (ie, the people on GS) will vote he continue in both offices. The 100 Million+ jahel in pakistan will vote with their eyes closed.

Why only two offices, why not just do away with the fake cabinet and PM and just give all posts to Mush? Then hew ill have even more power to do "good".

Never ever in these kind of polls me or somebody i know directly or indirectly got the questionaire. i wonder who these most pakistanis are??? normally these "most Pakistanies" say what USA want to convey... does this means that "most of Pakistanies" and Americans thinks alike.

I personally dont like Mush ( as not if he has stolen my bhains), but i must say he have done alot better than the bibi and babu have done.. when i say "alot done" i mean in both constructie and destructive.

GS should manage a poll
1) Mushy should step down from presidency
2) Mushy should step down from Chief of Army position.
3) Mushy should pack his bags and leave the government all around.

I totally agree with u hanibal!!!!!!!!!

Could u explain why should this happen........

The

Musharraf is not in power because people like him or he has done some wonderful work (which he has not, his performance has been below average). He is there because the alternative is even worse. Shame really.

because i want to see how majority of people on gs would answer this. could you tell me if my explanation helps?