Most of Hindi Cinema's greatest stars are Muslims!

I find it amazing that SO many Indian film stars of the past [and present] are/were Muslims! Here’s a list of those who I know of

Dilip Kumar [Yusuf Khan]
Madhubhala [Begum Mumtaz Jahaan Aara Dehlvi]
Meena Kumari ?]
Saira Banu
Nargis
Mumtaz
Raj Kumar [Abdul Hameed]
Pran ?]
Sharmila Tagore ??]
Reena Roy [formerly Mrs Mohsin Khan!!]
Naseerud Deen Shah
Kadar Khan
Amjad Khan
Zeenat Amaan
Aamir Khan
Saif Ali Khan

aur if you add the directors, music directors, writers, playbakc singer etc. you get an industry dominated by Muslims!! [given that they only form 10% of the population of India!]

kya khyaal hai?!

:slight_smile:

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif

I am amazed as well :)

You forgot, Ajit was Muslim and so was Johny Walker. Some more would be Parveen Babi, Mehmood, Jayant (villain of Madhumati, father of Amjad Khan), Somy ali, Mandakini, Neha and Shabana Azmi.

Raj Kumar and Pran were NOT Muslim.

Reena Roy and Sharmila Tagore converted after marrying Muslims. Nargis did not convert after marrying Sunil Dutt.

Directors : Mehboob

Music directors : Roshan, Khayyam, Khurshid Anwar, Naushad, AR Rehman

Lyricists : Sahir, Jan Nisar Akhtar, Raja Mehdi Ali Khan, Majrooh, Kaifi Azmi.

Singers: Rafi, Noor Jehan, Talat Mehmood, Talat Aziz

Somehow, directors seem to be few. Or I missed some people.

Compared to that there are hardly any Muslims in Pakistan who are as famous.

Muslims are doing better in India than in Pakistan.

[This message has been edited by ZZ (edited June 24, 1999).]

ZZ ji :)

when Raaj Kumaar died, I heard on Radio that he had a Muslim funeral and was buried undr the name Abdul Hameed..wallahu aalam [Allah Knows Best!]

Thanks for the list of the others!
This doesn't amke your last comment true though..!!

No! Raj Kumar was a Kashmiri and a Hindu, some Kulbhushan or like.

how could you forget salman, shahrukh, tabu and farah

right, and shamshad begum in singers.

About artists, there has been an unique thing. There has been a migration of Muslims from Pakistan to India little after parttion. Sahir migrated from Pak to India. Begum Akhtar gave up an idea of going to Pak after visiting there once. Allarkhan when once asked whether he thought of going Pakistan, answered 'that is a graveyard of culture.'.

Isn't Shah Rukh a Parsi?? Uss ki baaton se to woh musulmaan nahin maaloom hota..wallahu aalam.

HaaN, jab Farrah nayee nayee aayee thii eg Love 86 mein..BAHUT khoobsurat thee--ab patta nahin kya ho gya hai! But she married a non-Muslim I think; which in Islam would make her an apostate if it is true.

do you know about this?

Farah married Dara Singh's son. Even Madhubala married Kishore Kumar. I think even Mumtaz is married to a Hindu industrialist.

But who cares?

unfortunately communal color keeps coming even in discussion of artistic geniuses. that is subcontinent.

not that, outside subcontinent, people have forgotten their religion, color, ethnicity or whatever. but political correctness makes them not to talk in these terms openly. on the other hand we talk about it openly.

In India, Muslims have always been at the forefront in the Fine Arts (Music, theatre, films etc). I think it's a generalized statement when you say that Muslims are doing better in India than in Pakistan which may not be true, but it's definitely true in the case of films ! They wouldn't have earned so much money had they been in Pakistan. I think there must be enough talent in the Pakistani industry but they donot seem to have the infrastructure or the opportunity to make it big.
Is it true that there's no film institute in Pakistan (where they teach you acting, directing etc) like the one India has in Poona and other places ??

I know what you mean ZZ --- like they say the Jews dominate Hollywood !

Jews dominate hollywood in terms of money. Muslim thing is talent.

I maintain that in arts, Muslims in India are doing better than Muslims in Pakistan.

Muslims are still the best in Hindustani clasiical instrumental, like Allah Rakha, Zakir, great bismillah khan, ali akbar khan, shhid paraviz, vilayat khan and others. In fact except Pt. Ravi Shankar, I can not think of any instrumentalist that comes anywhere close to Bismillah khan.

But in classical vocal, there is no notable singer of reputation except Parveen Sultana who does not come anywhere close to the top bracket. There is a clear lack of young talent in classical vocal, either Hindu or Muslim. Kumar and mallikarjun died. There is none in young who is comparable to bhimsen joshi or Pt. jasraj. I donno why.

[This message has been edited by ZZ (edited June 24, 1999).]

Great Muslims....heh :)

(Can't see anything to be proud of the fact that Muslims are successful in showbiz)

Why not ?
It's a difficult art !!

In directors ,surprisingly none mentioned Masir hussain ...eh ! not the England captain but the great film maker ..

As for Raj kumar ..im dead sure he was a muslim ... n in singers how did u forget the great NFAK cuz most of his last years were spent in the indian industry :)

Rajkumar is a Hindu from West Punjab, like Dev Anand. He moved to Mumbai after partition. His son Puru Rajkumar is an upcoming star.

Other Muslims are Zeenat Aman, Rehana Sultan, Fardeen Khan, Saroj Khan, Majrooj Sultanpuri, Mammotty (Malayalam superstar), Jabbar Patel (Marathi film director), Sulochana, Zaheera, Shabana Azmi, Javed Akhtar, Saeed Jaffrey, Javed Jaffri, Tabu, Farah, Asha Parekh (half Muslim), Chand Usmani, Madhubala, Waheeda Rehman, Rehman, Ajit, Feroz Khan, Sanjay Khan,Salman Khan, Aamir Khan, Shahrukh Khan, Saif Ali Khan,
Ameeta,

Authors: Ali Sardar Jaffri

Journalists: Khalid Ansari, Khalid Mehmood, M.J. Akbar

Politicians: Abdul Rahman Antulay (Ex Chief Minister of Maharashtra), Anwara Taimur (ex CM of Assam, Syed Shahbuddin, Saluhuddin Owaisi, Sikandar Bakht, Zakir Hussain,

Musicians: Zakir Hussain, A.R. Rahman, Nadeem (of Nadeem Shravan), Annu Malik, Sardar Malik, Bismillah Khan, Amjad Ali Khan,

Sports: Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi, Abid Ali, Mohammad Azaruddin, Aslam Sher Khan

Bueurcrats: Ali Yavar Jung ( Ex Governer of Maharashtra), Salman Khursheed, I.H. Lateef.

Painters/Artists: Maqbool Fida Hussain Pandharpurkar.

Singers: Mohammed Aziz, Parveen Sultana, Mohammed Rafi, Begum Akhtar, Talat Aziz,

Antulay lost chief minister for stupid reasons. Sure he was corrupt. But at least gave receipts of 'donations' and kept account. Given corruption today in Shiv Sena times, Antulay and Nilangekar look like martyrs. But in older times tolerence of corruption was lower. Now we Indians takne any s**t.

Don't forget Somi Ali who is a Pakistani