Mosques under attack..

I found the picture of a damaged mosque particularly sad..

BY TIM MCGIRK

[thumb=H]mosque2809_9591768.JPG[/thumb]

SHAKIL ADIL/AP
The blast wrecked the Ali Reza mosque

Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Karachi’s mosques offer an oasis of shade and tranquility in this sweltering city. But fewer Karachiites are responding to the muezzin’s call to prayer these days. The city is experiencing one of its periodic spasms of vengeful warfare between extremist members of Islam’s Sunni and Shi’a religious sects. Mosques are a favored target.

The violence erupted early last month when 32-year-old Sunni police trainee constable Akbar Niazi wired himself with explosives and blew up the Haideri mosque, killing himself and more than 24 Shi’ites. Next to die was radical Sunni Muslim cleric Mufti Nizamuddin Shamzai, 51, who was gunned down on May 30 while driving to his Binori Town mosque and seminary. The following day, a suicide bomber set off a blast that shattered the dome of the Shi’ite Ali Reza mosque, killing 21.

Strife stemming from ancient religious rivalry is depressingly familiar to Pakistan. Human-rights activists say that since the mid-'80s, more than 4,000 people have been killed in Sunni-Shi’ite feuds. Last year, for example, Sunni and Shi’ite gunmen marked each other’s doctors and lawyers for assassination. President Pervez Musharraf waved off calls for the federal government to step in to curtail further bloodshed, saying he would refrain from “panic reactions.” Fearing more attacks, a banker says he won’t let his boys attend Friday sermons: “It’s better to miss your prayers than to lose a son.”

—with reporting by Ghulam Hasnain/Karachi
Time Magazine

We are paying for the years of neglect. It makes people think that it was better to be Part of Hindu India than to be a place where you can’t even go for prayers. In today’s NYTimes there’s an article on Kashmir where an elder cousin of Mullah Farooq was assassinated while in Sajda by Jihadi morons. Mosques are no longer sacred. I don't know with what face can Muslims ask for Al-Aqsa back? Jews should keep it.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
We are paying for the years of neglect. It makes people think that it was better to be Part of Hindu India than to be a place where you can’t even go for prayers. In today’s NYTimes there’s an article on Kashmir where an elder cousin of Mullah Farooq was assassinated while in Sajda by Jihadi morons. Mosques are no longer sacred. I don't know with what face can Muslims ask for Al-Aqsa back? Jews should keep it.

dont cross limits right.....go and wash ur face with blood of palestine people..stick to the topic....u people cannot do nothing for them then just remain keep quite..get it

:/

Zakk has raised a very correct issue. In deep it is an issue of terrorism.
Maddhanji now terrorism is an international phenomenon and no community is spared, you must not counter the article with useless arguments.

Now it is turn of Muslims. They must not patronize terrorism, or compromise with terrorism. Now it is turn of Muslims that they must condemn terrorism in any of its forms. The Islamic scholars must stop looking for excuses for militancy.

It is evil to attack a Mosque or the worshippers in the Allah Almighty's house.

I've not heard of any Palestinians attacking mosques but their oocupiers have stormed them regularly. This is just so that the worshippers will get fed up of being raided every other day and stop going to worship.

In Pakistan, considering that only 56% of people are educated, it's not a surprise that some and I mean a few, just a handful of people do not understand the significant of the Mosques. Then again, I have doubts that it's the Muslims who are damaging the Mosques whether in Pakistan or elsewhere in the world.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *It makes people think that it was better to be Part of Hindu India than to be a place where you can’t even go for prayers.

Who do you think razed the Babri Mosque? Was it not 100,000 Hindus? Never mind going to worship peacefully, they didn't have anything left to worship in.

Destroying masjids…how very sad!!! May God severely punish those that are doing such unforgivable damage. It is evil and there is absolutely zero rationale for taking down houses of worship. If hate can extend to this degree, I am afraid to even question what would cause such destruction and humiliation of faith.

Peace to mankind :flower1:

Well said sister.

Pakidragon, you are wrong if Muslims are not involved in blowing up mosques. It is the dragon terrorism, first patronized by mostly Muslims, knowingly or unknowingly, has in turn started reverting back.
If you do not understand now, it will be late.
By the way when will you stop crying for babri structure?

Islamic scholars ‘looking for excuses for militancy’? Are you on narcotics or just plain ignorant???

:rolleyes:

*Originally posted by anjjan: * Pakidragon,

That's PakistaniDragon to you brother.

*Originally posted by anjjan: *you are wrong

I am?

*Originally posted by anjjan: * if Muslims are not involved in blowing up mosques.

I think it's R.A.W.

*Originally posted by anjjan: * It is the dragon terrorism,

Sorry, i've never heard of it, so I can't comment much on it.

*Originally posted by anjjan: * first patronized by mostly Muslims, knowingly or unknowingly, has in turn started reverting back.

Errrr... they were demoloshing mosques in Spain centuries ago.

*Originally posted by anjjan: * If you do not understand now, it will be late.

I don't believe in lies.

*Originally posted by anjjan: * By the way when will you stop crying for babri structure?

I'm surprised, instead of aplogising for the destruction of the Mosque, (a henious crime gone unpunished), but they want Muslims just to forget about it so they can built another temple on it.

Mosques are house of Allah, set asied for prayers,,not a place of worship of idols,,theres a difference you know,,Mosque is distroyed human actions has no signeficance at all except for the fact that its a crime against society and against Allah. period. Muslim should build another one. and move on.

My Hindu / Indian guppy friends never miss a chance to raise the issue of if " There was no Hindu-Muslime partition back in 47" if there was "No Pakistan" in creation,,,things wud have been much better,,,etc etc etc..
Well the waste majority of Pakistanis Love Pakistan and the Indian Idea of softening the ground of "Akhand Bharat" via these forums and else where will not work,,,,,People in Pakistan are happy and content with what they got,,,they watch Indian movies but usually to use as a romantic mythology no more and no less,,does not make pakistanie hungry for Indian Idea's. We Love our cricket but are not as fanatic physically as indeans are. Long live Pakistan.,,,Remember my Indian friends,,,,Kabhi kay din achay aur kabhi ki ratain,,,Pakistan still has an uphill task ahead,,,,so step aside please,,,,I do love my indian friends

Mr Zakk, what do you think, blowing up a mosque in Pakistan is a mere a Shia-Sunni conflict or the systematical terrorism is reverting back?

*Originally posted by anjjan: *
Mr Zakk, what do you think, blowing up a mosque in Pakistan is a mere a Shia-Sunni conflict or the systematical terrorism is reverting back?

now two hindus will rule the forum which have thousands of muslims members..now its time to rock u man...ok u think muslim scholars r the cause of these thing...how many have u met these scholars???just not a single scholar involves in it...i m also from a MULLAH family...know plenty of well known muftis and scholars....there is only 1 anti shia orgainsation which has been called as terrisot by islamic scholars and tht organisation name as "sipa shahaba" ...other then tht no other organisation is involved in these cases..... there r some extremist scholars not for shias but for americans and indians and infact i back them for my heart and soul.....mr anjan forget the time when secret agencies cuaght hundreds of RAW BANDAY in pak involved in ifring blasts series killings...haha..forget it..have any answer...u r actually one of those kids who r carried away by media....right now i live in most important shia area and tht is ANCHOLI..this area in karachi is most tense area when any shia kills..but beleive me there is no NO no tension between sunnis and shias ...no tension.....we have good relationship with them...infact tthis situation is almost in whole pakistan...no scholars even said in pak tht shias must be killed..have u known 1??hahahahahaha no 1....now reply me dude...ur BOYFRIEND MOSSAD r clearly involved in these attacks including RAW

*Originally posted by Raindance: *
Mosques are house of Allah, set asied for prayers,,not a place of worship of idols,,theres a difference you know,,Mosque is distroyed human actions has no signeficance at all except for the fact that its a crime against society and against Allah. period.

Well said brother.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * Muslim should build another one. and move on.

If we did that, they'll put a claim to another Mosque and raise that down too.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * My Hindu / Indian guppy friends never miss a chance to raise the issue of if " There was no Hindu-Muslime partition back in 47" if there was "No Pakistan" in creation,,,things wud have been much better,,,etc etc etc..

Yes, look at Assam, Nogoland, Bodoland, Kashmir etc... Atleast 47 major separatist organisations fighting to getaway. I wonder why they want to breakaway? I mean they've sacrificed millions of lives just to have their own homeland. What's their desparation?

*Originally posted by Raindance: * Well the waste majority of Pakistanis Love Pakistan and the Indian Idea of softening the ground of "Akhand Bharat" via these forums and else where will not work,,,,,

Nope, there's too much Pakistani blood in my veins.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * People in Pakistan are happy and content with what they got,,,they watch Indian movies but usually to use as a romantic mythology no more and no less,,does not make pakistanie hungry for Indian Idea's.

True, we also watch Hollywood movies too, you know, infact in a higher number. It don't mean we want to be part of US.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * We Love our cricket but are not as fanatic physically as indeans are.

Go on Shoaib Akhtar, show them your super-sonic speed.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * Long live Pakistan.,,,

Jeevay, Jeevay, Jeevay Pakistan, Pakistan, Jeevay Pakistan.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * Remember my Indian friends,,,,Kabhi kay din achay aur kabhi ki ratain,,,

Wa wa Kya baat hai.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * Pakistan still has an uphill task ahead,,,,so step aside please,,,,

But they'll get there eventually, Inshallah.

*Originally posted by Raindance: * I do love my indian friends

Me too but there's a limit.

*Originally posted by anjjan: * Mr Zakk, what do you think, blowing up a mosque in Pakistan is a mere a Shia-Sunni conflict

It's obviously a foreign ploy.

*Originally posted by anjjan: * or the systematical terrorism is reverting back?

When did it happen before? RAW hasn't existed for that long has it?

Violence in Kashmir Invades a Most Sacred Space
People have been killed entering or leaving mosques, said Umar Farooq, the spiritual leader of the Sunni Muslims in the Kashmir Valley, and a political leader as well. No one, as far as anyone knows, had ever been killed while offering prayers to God.

“He bowed down his head to the Almighty, and then he got shot,” Mr. Farooq said.

http://www.nytimes.com/2004/06/16/international/asia/16kash.html

Mr. Farooq said his uncle’s killing suggested a desperation among those “who don’t want things to be resolved through dialogue, through peaceful means.” The message to him was clear, he said: “They don’t want us to talk. They don’t want any dialogue.”

*Originally posted by rvikz: * Mr. Farooq said his uncle's killing suggested a desperation among those "who don't want things to be resolved through dialogue, through peaceful means." The message to him was clear, he said: "They don't want us to talk. They don't want any dialogue."

R.A.W. needs to give peace a chance. They must realise that killing people in Mosques won't detter them for fighting for an independent homeland.