Morocco to host tri-nation Cricket tournament

“South Africa and Pakistan have already confirmed their entries for the event,” said Abdul Rahman Bukhatir, chairman of the Cricketers’ Benefit Fund Series, the organisers of international cricket in Sharjah.

“We are in discussions with Australia and Sri Lanka to finalise the third team for the tournament,” Bukhatir told Reuters.

**It would be cool if Aus could join this tri-nation tournament. The worlds best team playing the tri-nation tournament I think every match will be a treat to watch

http://www-aus4.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002 /MAY/000586_REUTERS_12MAY2002.html

[This message has been edited by Question (edited May 14, 2002).]

Question I hope ull be broadcasting it

Well no, is ARY broadcasting it, then I’ll watch it on Sat.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

http://sports.yahoo.com/m/sk/news/reuters/20020515/reu-morocco.html

Sri Lanka have confirmed they will take part in a tri-nation cricket tournament to be held for the first time in Morocco in August along with Pakistan and South Africa, organisers have said.

The tournament, with the northern city of Tangiers as venue, will set a precedent in the Arab North African country where the sport is little known.

It will run from August 12 to 21 and have a total prize money of $250,000 with $120,000 for the winning team.

Chakib Nejjar, head of the Royal Cricket Federation (FRMC), voiced enthusiasm for the proposal. “Sri Lanka confirmed it would be taking part, we are very proud,” he told Reuters.

“I’m sure that the ICC (International Cricket Council) team, due to visit and inspect the Tangiers stadium in June, will find all facilities up to international standards,” he added.

Morocco has also been proposed as a potential venue for Australia’s series against Pakistan in September, due to security concerns following the suicide bombing in Karachi last week that killed 14 people.

Cricket was introduced in Morocco in 1991 and received a big boost after the construction in 1999 of a cricket stadium in Tangiers at a total cost of $25 million.

“We have a lot to learn, since cricket is a new sport in Morocco, but we already play a championship and an eight-team national cup,” said cricket player Amine Mejjati, who heads the FRMC technical commission.

I wonder what the pitch would be like over there...

Real bad idea, ICC should have sent low class teams like Bangladesh, Kenya or even India to try out venue and the people.

Dissappointed the Australia didn't play.

Umair what do you mean that it is a bad idea, who would have wanted to come and watch Kenya or Bangladesh, as for India they would have drawn crowds. If you want to attract people at a new venue you bring in your big guns not Kenya and Bangladesh.

BTW Kenya is my brithplace, so watch it

I saw the ground in PTV news the ground look beautiful, I mean its all grassy and nice seating etc. Wonder if its going to be a fast or slow pitch but sure its going to be a good series.

I'm super happy for Morroco!
About time the old farts expand the game.

Also it's a good idea to play South Africa, since they will be representing the continent of Africa, and Pakistan being a muslim country.

It will be a real delight to watch the series (if possible coverage on Dish in NA).

I'm sick of the same venues.. anything to expand the game!

Should be a good tournament

!

It wont get any prettier when you see empty stands my friend…

Well I heard the ICC spent around 20 million dollars for reconstructing the stadium so it should be beautiful

btw kenya has a kickA$$ team! right ehsan

, actually I can’t forget the defeat the WestIndian team faced against the kenyans in World Cup 96

And dont forget those two defeats gifted to the Indians!!! The Kenyan team rox!!!

yes…I agree Both Kenya and Bangladesh is great Team.One defeated India and Other Pakistan

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited May 17, 2002).]

I think its about time people need to rate Bangladesh as third class cricket nation (i admit, i have done it too)
They are a test nation now, so even if they beat Pakistan one more time this shouldn’t be called an upset, whereareas Kenya is still a minor cricket team and who ever they beat should be called an upset.

Not once but twice

HEEHEE

FYI :- Bangladesh was not a test nation when they beat you. They beat you in 1999. Go and check yourself when they got the TEST STATUS.

DIL KO BAHLANE KO GHALIB KYA KOI BHI KHAYAL ACCHA HAI ???

AK

Yes it was an upset and I admit we were beaten by a better team just for that day, just like how India miraculously beat Pak in super six, they were the better team of the day.
But being beaten twice, thats a little shame isn't it?

One can understand loosing once because of underestimating the smaller team but twice, thats a disgrace.

Seems like ^thats the only shair asif and AQ knows and they take turn to use it here

. The only difference is they change some of the words back and forth to make it look like its different.

OK, lads enough of this lets return back to the topic.