I took these pictures yesterday very early in the morning at a farm house situated at outskirts of Karachi city (near Super highway). During this time of year, we do not get such weather in main Karachi city but amazingly this place was covered with fog in the morning. These two flowers are Periwinkle flower (or Sadabahar in Urdu). The another pic is of a dew drop on grass. These pics are in original state (not photoshopd at all) and shot from Sony Cybershot W-55
I too don’t know why the inner city is always kept gray. As this clearly proves that the climate of Karachi is indeed favorable for plants of all types!
I myself last year went to the Horticultural Society of Pakistan’s annual flower show, and made a video of the whole event - Here is the link for my video:
Horticultural Society of Pakistan’s Flower Show 2009. on Vimeo
Re: Morning Dew
Looks pretty .
i
dewdrops
Thank you everyone for liking this :)
Shahbaz sahab, you have a done a great job with this vid :)
Thank you everyone for liking this :)
Shahbaz sahab, you have a done a great job with this vid :)
Thanks Sufi sahib, Your own pictures are great (I have currently set it as my desktop picture)! That by the way was my first ever attempt at making and uploading a video. I had thought of starting out with the flower show, as it is one of the most colorful events in the city!
Another reason why I made it was to counteract the Indian propaganda that "Pakistan is a failed state" or that "Pakistani society is Talibanized". So without any exaggeration, I simply tried to show how things really are over here - For which believe it or not, I even got some hate mail from a few Indians (and one American too)...
Anyway, video making is just a hobby of mine (which I enjoy a lot). And so that is why other videos which I have made also follow the same theme - Which is to debunk the lies spread about us by our enemies.
Shahbaz sahab, thanks a lot for making my pictures as your desktop background
You are very right about this propaganda thing. I am a travel lover and love to explore different places of Pakistan especially our upper regions, they are blessed with immense natural beauty. I have uploaded several videos containing picture compilation of my tours on youtube and believe it or not, every week I get a bunch of very hateful comments but I’ve promised to myself that I’ll do whatever to make the image of my country better ![]()
Gardening is also one of my hobby but I easily get heart broken if I fail with some plants/flowers but I have attended many flower shows in Karachi and Lahore. Its very refreshing to be close to nature.
Anyways, I salute your cause and InshaALLAH the time will come soon when Pakistan will be one of the best country in the world.
I fully agree with you Sufi sahib! Pakistan indeed will become one of the best countries in the world - We already are the strongest Muslim nation (military wise). So the rest too I am willing to bet will follow soon.
However another amazing thing, which too I discovered after I had made my first video - Was an email from a 9 year old Pakistani girl, who lived in USA, and so had never seen Pakistan with her own eyes. She emailed me to say that if this is the real picture of Pakistan. Then she will at once tell her parents to arrange her a visit.
So I guess being Pakistani and having a fondness for this land of ours is something that is in almost everyone's blood. Even those who have never had a chance to see it for themselves, are no different!
The pictures which you shared with us all over here, are proof that our land is indeed very fertile. So best that we all start believing our own eyes then fall victim to hearsay...
Sufi sahib, I know exactly what you mean. Which is why I mostly use cheap local wildflowers and plants. For the most part, they are at least very rugged and so can withstand our hot weather (as well as the water shortage we face from time to time).
This here is the picture of a my Pansatiya plant (sorry I don’t know what it’s called in English). Anyway it is very good looking, grows very fast, and requires almost no care!
Looks good. I'm gonna get this one from local nursery :) The flower looks kool.
I'm also after few plants which grow very well without much care. Right now I have mint growing in four huge pots and its doing quite good. Its way more than what is actually used by me so I share it with neighbors and friends and it grows really really fast.
I've also had good experience with curry leaf plant. Its doing quite good. Use the fresh leaves for making curry :D
Another good plant which grows really fast without much proper care is Conocarpus Erectus (common name: Green Buttonwood). It tolerates the saline water easily (the water we get from earth in Karachi) and also a drought tolerant. The CDGK has planted it all over the city in greenbelts and roadsides. It is easily recognizable by its dark green leaves which are shiny on top, and paler with fine silky hairs underneath. Really good for a hedge for your garden.
Well, usually plant nurseries over here in DHA don't keep local wild flowers (as there is very little profit in selling those to you). Which is why they always try to push imported plants, which are anyway delicate. And this too works in their advantage, as the quicker your plants die, the sooner you'll return to them for more... Lots of housewives have fallen into this trap without even knowing of it.
However there is this guy named Hayat at Shalamar Nursery which is situated at Khayaban-e-Bahria (on the edge of phase 4, next to masjid-e-Reman, opposite Shell Petrol Pump). He is a real plant lover, so whatever plant you request, he will get it for you - If he already hasn't got it! I had bought a few kaggazi nimboo from him a few years back (brought straight from Renala Khurd in Punjab), and believe it or not, everyone who now tastes my home made lemonade, always asks for a second, and then third glass!
Currently I have a lot of chili peppers growing. There is this one which is purple colored at first, which when mature turns red (but still smaller then an inch). Exactly what type is it I do not know, but it's taste is amazing. Which is why, it has become the secret ingredient of my pizza!
Another thing that I always love to grow are tomatoes. Because those were the first things that I ever planted (with my parents, at age 3). So within the next few days, I'll be planting those - Along with some giant sunflowers.
Awesome information Shahbaz sahab..
I would want a kaghazi nimboo too. I'll definitely visit that person soon :)
I also wanted lemongrass but it was not available in any nursery I visited in areas of Gulshan, Johar & Malir.
looks great
Oh and a few more things that I got from that place are also doing very well! Just look at this picture of my Desert Rose (which is another hardy plant, very well suited to Karachi’s climate).
Looking awesome janab! Thanks for posting this pic :)
Thanks! :)
Love the last pic Sufi Sahab of the dew drop and Shahbaz your pic of the wild rose is incredible :)