Re: More Kids....
^bas ji taleem di kami.
Taleem hai te ithe problem hai......
I grew up in a house of four girls and always thought I would have four kids. But now I think it depends on whether or not you can financially, emotionally and practically handle them.
Wonderful answer!!
I have 2, a boy and a girl, but now am pregnant again. Didn't plan on it at all. My older kids are 4 and a half years apart and it was the best thing for me. The older one looks after the younger one instead of getting into mischeif together. They do play together too so its not like they have nothing in common. It was easier for me to go through my awful awful pregnanacy too with an older child who did not need as much attention. When my younger one was born my son was in pre school,so I had the option of not sending him to school if need be if things got too tough with a newborn and my health,wouldn't be the case if he were a kindergartner or grade schooler. When one finishes 4 year college, the other one would go then. I didn't go mad looking after 2 little ones at teh same time, we could plan trips easily and just as oon as one is grwoing and I miss having babies there is a sweet young one to baby. But that's just me! There are lots of people who want to get it over with quick esp if they are working,its so much easier for them to have kids clsoe together.
Don't know how I will deal with this one though. I wasn't a person wholiked big familes, being an only child myself. But Allah will give me strength I hope.
Taleem hai te ithe problem hai......
What??
I have 2, a boy and a girl, but now am pregnant again. Didn't plan on it at all. My older kids are 4 and a half years apart and it was the best thing for me. The older one looks after the younger one instead of getting into mischeif together. They do play together too so its not like they have nothing in common. It was easier for me to go through my awful awful pregnanacy too with an older child who did not need as much attention. When my younger one was born my son was in pre school,so I had the option of not sending him to school if need be if things got too tough with a newborn and my health,wouldn't be the case if he were a kindergartner or grade schooler. When one finishes 4 year college, the other one would go then. I didn't go mad looking after 2 little ones at teh same time, we could plan trips easily and just as oon as one is grwoing and I miss having babies there is a sweet young one to baby. But that's just me! There are lots of people who want to get it over with quick esp if they are working,its so much easier for them to have kids clsoe together.
Don't know how I will deal with this one though. I wasn't a person wholiked big familes, being an only child myself. But Allah will give me strength I hope.
Well! Many congrats to you!! :) I am sure you will have all the sttrength that you'll need...and you will so love to have a little one. Mashallah, so will your other 2! May they be the best of friends!
Thans mama,how is it having 3 kids instaed of 2?
Having 3 is a charm! It was really hard at first because I had them so close together. I think maybe that wont be quite as much of an issue with you because your other 2 are old enough to be little helpers! Kids usually love babies and feel like grown-ups when they're asked to help. It will be really nice for them, they will grow up each having 2 friends.
The rest? There is a big difference between having one and having two but not so much when you have 3. Thats just how it seemed to me.
I want two more but I need my girls to be a bit older. Maybe I'll get some more himmat in 3-4 years. Right now two are good. They are only 2 years apart which I adore.
eastern i didnt know you were expecting too! Congratulations! When are you due, inshaAllah?
Thanks Mamma for the reassurance! It was quite a shock to me as although all my freinds say I do very well with children in general, I don't see myself as a Mother earth type of person plus I suffered a childbirth injury during my last pregnanacy which left me paralyzed for a while and very very depressed. I was lucky to recover as the doctors ssaid it wasn't likely. So you can imagine how I felt when I found out. We were thinking of not going on with the pregnanacy for health reasons, even the doctor supported my decsion. but I just felt like Iwas comitting murder.I have never been quite pro choice or pro life but all I know is that I stopped crying after the decision was made to keep the baby. I am feeling sick already as I always do while pregnat. Think exterme exterme fatigue and not getting upfor most of the day. I am quite a planned and anal person sojust can't come to terms with how this happened. We even gave away all most of the baby stuff.
Thanks Ira, I just found out. I am due in august next year. This shall be my third Insha Allah!
My mom had 4 kids in 7 years-2 girls and 2 boys. Now that we are 17-24, it's nice because we can hang out together like friends. But there are definitely compromises, like all my friends have their own room, but i've always shared one. I have basketball posters all over my room. And I can never study quietly, because even at 4 am, there are at least 2 people awake playing DDR or doing something else noisy. And since it's impractical to have 6 cars for 6 people, the night before we have to find out what each person's schedule is so we can carpool.
Raising kids in the US there is a lot more pressure, because there is less family support. On top of that, kids here usually expect their own room, TV, cell phone, clothing allowance, money for lessons, etc. from a young age. So if you want them to live according to average American standards, max 2 kids. If they are low maintenance kids (they dont eat out alot, share rooms, start working when they're 16, no special needs), then 4 to 5 is doable. Still financially difficult though, because with this many kids, one parent will probably have to stay home.
jalebi121 - I think sharing rooms, cars, brings children siblings closer together. From a parenting perspective - it also helps parents keep an eye on the other one :)
I use to hate it when I was growing up but now I see it's made me a little less individualistic and I will try to instill those things in my children - I hope.
How many children are appropriate to have in this day and age
I dont think there is any such thing as what is appropriate, each family is different. Some parents can do a truly fantastic job raising 6 kids and some cant even raise 1 properly! Once you start having kids, then you have a better idea of what you are capable of and what is best suited for your family
we have 1 boy at present, I want to have 4 atleast..:) mrs want 2 though. so 3 will be a blessing for me.
children have little personalities. they are a challange to raise, but must be a joy for a parent, too.
life's vulnerability may be a daunting factor in deciding not to give up one's 'un-responsibility' if you will, for taking care of a child.
but, there are many ways in which one needs to think, before bringing a child in this world. it is a tough decision, i presume. but, since Allah swt equipped humans with this,
apparently, if all aspects of beginning a family, are well-thought about, raising one or two children, is a good thing.
same here:)
Bache do hi ache!! :D
Re: More Kids…
So you are not in your late thirties then, achaa ![]()
begum had baby fever all of a sudden, and we baby sat a one year old for a day. well lets just say the baby fever is postponed if not cancelled now :D