Mom's fam or dad's?

My question is this-- who do you guys tend to get along with more? Your dad’s side of the family, your mom’s, or (if you’re lucky) both? Why is this? Does this happen due to favoritism toward one parent more than the other, or does this cause favoritism toward one parent more than the other?
I personally get along a thousand times more with my paternal side than my real mom’s side… mainly cuz my mom abandoned us when I was 8 months old.. so I don’t really know her or any of her family except my babushka , but my stepmom (dad’s cousin) has such a warm and lovely family— still deep down I love my dad and his family ( alittle bit) more than my stepmom and hers( i know… bad bad bad, but im working on it) cuz there is that sense of deep familial bond as opposed to my stepmom, but i love her sooo much because shes the only mom i ever knew… women are God’s gift to mankind-- whoa, this whole thing just made me really sentimental-- ok let me stop rambling, and do share :slight_smile:

~edited~: spelling errors

Re: Mom’s fam or dad’s?

i am lucky than cause my parents are cousins and my mangetar is my cousin as well:blush: so its a one happy family. i tend to get along well with my dad’s brothers and sisters as well as my mom’s brothers and sisters and the whole cousin gang.
i cant really answer your real q because my parents are cousins but i can just say that i think its because who you are deeply attached to the emotional bond that you have formed with usually its with the mom but if she is not there then the dad or guardian

I get along with everybody, because I was too young to remember my mom so I grew up believing my mom was my stepmom… later on I found out i was half-russian when there was a big fight with my stepmoms family with my dad and they cursed him out for having married a russian lady… some of my khalas and mama’s dont like me or my sister very much simply cuz of the fact that we have russian blood, but to hell with them :snooty:

Re: Mom's fam or dad's?

yes i agree yeh to dicrimination hoyi russian khoon hai to kiya hoya?

i know! it doesnt make me a bad person!:naraz:

women are God's gift to mankind

That includes mother in law ?

I dont like mums side or dads, they are all nosy and interfering. And are never happy no matter what you do. They are all just really backwards too.

saima what do you mean by backwards? and i agree sabriya 100%

I mean going out, western clothes, girls going out to work etc etc. they make a huge deal out of it.

i get along well with my mum’s family its not tht i like my mum more than my dad but his family is very interfering they have to poke their nose in every single thing which is not even related to them wtf:bummer:

my mom's side is way cooler then my dad's side. however...Im fairly close to both sides.

You guys are lucky, I wish my parents families were nicer.

lol not all mother-in-laws are as horrible as you make it seem... my family has its share of good and bad ones with cousins and stuff that i've seen, but the positive usually outweighs the negative... I believe that everyone is generally good, one naiki cancels out a thousand burraiyaan in my opinion

oh, and not just my family... i have a lottt of married desi friends and they like their mother in law alottt and vice versa so its not all bad... you're too influenced by these indian/paki movies and dramas

My mother inlaw is very simular to my own mum, personality wise. I get on with her really well.

I love my sister’s mother-in-law, her love isn’t just limited to my sister, she totally spoils me everytime i go over and forget about my brothers… that house is heaven for them because of all the laadpyaar that they get at the hands of my sisters saas… its great :sigh: some people are truly God’s angels sent down to protect us… :slight_smile:

I prefer my cousins on my dads side cos they are all older and i get on with them but my aunties and uncles on my mums side are better because the ones on my dads side are real backward and stuff.

i hope my future mother in law is that nice yikes...:(
she is sitting downstairs right now with my family:(

don't you know about her nature already? i maen its not that hard to figure her out aisha... you should open up to her and extend a hand not only of a saas-bahu relationship but also establish a friendship with her-- don't expect her to initiate everything

well alright i know she is friendly and generous you should have seen the eidi i got but the thing is its not actually the sass that i am afraid of its the whole shaadi thing:(

money isn't everything sweetheart... don't just wish for her to be generous with money, pray for generosity of love...
second part of ur post---why?? marriage isnt a monster! lol