I remember Mohd Zahid bowling in Australia and …YEH he was Quick!! Real quick…
I am a great fan of Shoaib but…. I think Mohd Zahid was (hopefully IS) a perfect example of –“NO power all Rhythm”
Last time I heard about him was that he is regaining his pace…and playing in Ireland.
I would love to see him back in Pakistan side…Charging in from the other end w/ Shoaib Akhter. I honestly believe that Waqar Yunis has no place in the team.. He is not of same class as Wasim… he is just an ordinary bowler…w/ poor batting skills…And a double digit IQ for Captaincy.. The only reason for him to be captain is he can speak English!! O/w judging him as a bowler –Sami and Zahid are better then him!
AOA
I don’t know why you can say that Waqar is a poor captain.
He is probably one of the best in the world today after Steve Waugh.
The guy is an amazing bowler.
I guess you forgot about his performance last year at Natwest Series and the Sharjah tournament before that.
He took back to back 6 wickets and 7 wickets against Australia and England.
He single handedely won the match for Pakistan in 2nd test against England at Old Trafford.
And he’s a poor bowler? "confused:
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif
The guy might not have huge amounts of wickets as Wasim but the guy is definateley the 2nd best after Wasim.
Getting back to Muhammad Zahid.
Yeah I agree with you, he was a great bowler and gave Brian Lara a very hard time when Pakistan played in Australia.
But I don’t think there is a place in the team for him coming world cup.
Waqar is probably the best Pakistani captain after Imran.
Wasim is too good to be replaced.
Shoaib is argubaly the best bowler in the world.
Muhammad Sami will prove everyone that he is brilliant with the old ball.
Yaar to some extent I agree w/ u-- that we should not disturb our team balance (under Waqar captaincy)..As Pakistani team balance is more fragile then Amazon rain forest echo system!!
Waqar use to be a great bowler but now he is a simple medium pace bowler..I was amazed to see that Wasim was bowling faster then him.. Waqar have no variety compared to Wasim (Wasim bhai is a craftsman)…. Yaar I think he is the weakest link in our bowling lineup!
As for Captin..yaar I remember sitting at 2am (night-morning) in New Jersey and watching Azhar mahmood getting smashed all around..Me and my friends..Who know **** about cricket were screaming to change the bowler but ..Waqar Sahib tu Lakeer ke Fakeer hain… even commentator were saying to changing bowling .. Waqar has no smart brain like Wasim!!
Waqar Younis was and is a superb bowler and leader.
He is the fittest and non-arguably the most hardworking of the bunch. Waqar’s record playing 37 ODI’s in a row proves that and shows his physical and mental strength.
Wasim Akram under his regime did every thing possible to finish Waqar’s career early and before World Series 1999 I remmber Wasim explicitly telling the media that “Waqar should quit beceause he is not good enough”.
I also remmember that under Wasim’s captaincy, Pakistan lost the infamous test at Hobart where Australian wagged and thrased all your superstars around the ground and Waqar stood at long-leg and just watched because Wasim was biased enough to not call Waqar to bowl. It is also interesting how you criticize Waqar for bowling Azhar Mahmood in ODI where in the Hobart test Wasim Akram opted to start the 5th day with Azhar Mahmmood bowling with a relativerly new ball!!! Waqar Younis was in great form that time too and had dismissed Ricky Ponting in the first inning with a delivery that even the Australian commentators lebelled as “Ball of the season”.
Then again in the worldcup 1999, Wasim totally humiliated Waqar by playing him only single game- and that too was against Bangladesh that Wasim had already fixed and sold out, handing victory to his bengali “brothers”.
Waqar Younis has a heart of Lion. He never gave up despite all this and today leads the Pakistani team and personally stands at number 4 in PWC’s rankings.
You reckon he is a captain because he can speak English. I think he is a captain who posses all the required skills to lead team like Pakistan.Atleast he doesnt fix games!
I think Waqar brings calmness to Pakistani team and never lets the heads-hang in pressure situations that Pakistan was renoun for doing under Wasim Akram.
Under Waqar, team is playing fair and all the deserved ones are getting their chances-e.g. Waqar has got Rashid back while Wasim always had Moin Khan keeping only because Rashid who Wasim knew would never sit quiet if anything “wrong” takes place within the team.
I say being speed-ster or sultan of swing means nothing unless you are give 100% for your country all the time and have a never-say-die attitude.
And i totally admire Waqar, who despite his slower pace and increaing age, continues to play for the love of game and his country in the most honest and professional manner.
Good on ya Waqar.You are a real champion! :y:
[This message has been edited by Pathan Bhai (edited August 06, 2002).]
AOA
I definateley agree with you Pathan bhai.
Though his performance has gone down in recent one days but the guy is still one of the best in the world today.
He is definately a better skipper than Wasim or Moin.
The guy is very strong mentally.
The recent one series against Australia showed his great captaincy role.
Pakistan were down after humiliating first one dayer and Waqar told all their guys to get their act togeather and play like a team and surely they won.
he may not have fire power like he did in early 90s but guy still has the power that most bowlers at his age don't have.
Ppl no need to fight. Both are our sportsmen so no need to delve into stupid comparisons of who's better.
Lets enjoy while they are here. They will not be together for long so lets take it in while its available.
The Ws rock!
whoever thinks waqar younis is not a good bowler, knows nothing about bowling....
that guy is the best fast bowler, and even the best bowler in the cricket history....
he will end up, i am sure of it, at the end of his career, with more wickets than wasim akram in both test and odi....
and the only bowlers i see, who can compete him, currently, r mcgrath and shoaib (if he remains fit to play)....
Zahid was also a sensation, and a very entertaining sportsman, more entertaining than Shaoib though...
Khush kita ye Pathan PA.
I heard that Zahid was in contention for the Kenya series...can someone shed some light on this...
If he is then i would still be surprised if he makes it into the team having been out for so long. I haven't kept up with his progress so i don't know but the bowling for Pakistan looks top notch with Wasim, Waqar, Shoiab, Sami, Razzaq, Saqlain and Afridi. I doubt there is a place for him.
Waqar has transformed Pakistan since he became captain and regardless of his bowling which is still respectable if not outstanding Pakistan need his captaincy which has been outstanding.
[This message has been edited by s_H_e_I_k_H (edited August 07, 2002).]
Pathan Bhai - Very good Post. Waqar is the best Pakistan Captain after Imran Khan, and current Pakistani team is doing great under his leadership.
AK
Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Pathan Bhai - Very good Post. Waqar is the best Pakistan Captain after Imran Khan, and current Pakistani team is doing great under his leadership.
ya i agree wid u!
Originally posted by Pathan Bhai:
** Waqar Younis was and is a superb bowler and leader.
I never claimed to be an expert on cricket/bowling…I just expressed my opinion…and I am sticking w/ that…Mara Khan Sahib (pathan bhai)…I wish Waqar best of luck as a captain, (but plez don’t put him in the same bracket of Wasim and Imran)..I don’t think there is any point in arguing about this….last thing Pakistan need right now is captainship controversy!
But you have exaggerated Waqar's limited talent as a captain and his sticky gum attitude…
[This message has been edited by Jerablade (edited August 07, 2002).]
Originally posted by Jerablade:
** I never claimed to be an expert on cricket/bowling…I just expressed my opinion…and I am sticking w/ that…Mara Khan Sahib (pathan bhai)…I wish Waqar best of luck as a captain, (but plez don’t put him in the same bracket of Wasim and Imran)..I don’t think there is any point in arguing about this….last thing Pakistan need right now is captainship controversy!
But you have exaggerated Waqar's limited talent as a captain and his sticky gum attitude…
[This message has been edited by Jerablade (edited August 07, 2002).]**
Meray Jeray,
I find your response utterly Irrelavant-
Whole jist of my post was: NO matter how talented you are; first and foremost you need to be honest with your country, and that Wasim was not when he was a skipper.
I admit Wasim being better/classy bowler than Waqar but if you compare the figures then you wouldnt find much difference.
And as a skipper, Waqar is way ahead than Akram. Currently under Waqar Younis, Pakistan has won last 27 of their 33 ODI's!
And if you call that "Waqar's limited talent as a captain and his sticky gum attitude" then I love that limited talen and sticky-gum-attitude cuz that very attitude has got our team playing as a unit and everyone is giving their 100%!
Go the GREEN MACHINE!
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/18cric1.jpg
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/20cric6.jpg
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/waqar1.jpg
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/waqar2.jpg
O mera Pathan bhai..meray jaan ke tottay yaar Naraz na ho... Challo bhai Waqar is the best ..khush,,,bhai I am sorry for such a crappy and irrelavent reply...
wessay:
He is the fittest and non-arguably the most hardworking of the bunch:
I am not surprised –when u are bowling at below130km/hr and contributing nothing w/ bat and fielding—you have least chances to get injured compared to a bowler bowling at 140-150km range and hitting century as a batsman
Wasim tried to ruin Waqar career…by not giving waqar chance: Wow now I am surprised..Do u seriously think Wasim should have picked Waqar instead of Shoaib??
in world cup...and as for that Hobart test…you are suggesting that Waqar would have ended the onslaught of Gilchrist…com on yaar!Yaar you questioned Wasim commitment as a Captain..well I agree w/ u Wasim have a patchy career as a captain..but yaar he tought a lot to youngsters during his captaincy...I never said he was best captain
..i don't even consider Imran captaincy as banch mark for perfect captaincy...i don't call it captaincy that u can treat other players like **** and curse them....i know u won't like my response jigar..but i hope u will respect my right of opinion
Bhai Surdar Asif.. aap ne tu meray Black and white thread ku bara colorful kaar deya...
Nice pictures..esp the first one ..if u are in the middle of two gentlemen (inzy and Waqar) than u rightly look scared!!....the way Inzy is having his hand on his seductive tummy..it look like he is planning to have u in lunch break!!
Great pictures!!!..have you any Mohd Zahid picture??
Originally posted by Jerablade:
**O mera Pathan bhai..meray jaan ke tottay yaar Naraz na ho... Challo bhai Waqar is the best ..khush,,,bhai I am sorry for such a crappy and irrelavent reply...
wessay:
He is the fittest and non-arguably the most hardworking of the bunch:
I am not surprised –when u are bowling at below130km/hr and contributing nothing w/ bat and fielding—you have least chances to get injured compared to a bowler bowling at 140-150km range and hitting century as a batsman
Wasim tried to ruin Waqar career…by not giving waqar chance: Wow now I am surprised..Do u seriously think Wasim should have picked Waqar instead of Shoaib??
in world cup...and as for that Hobart test…you are suggesting that Waqar would have ended the onslaught of Gilchrist…com on yaar!Yaar you questioned Wasim commitment as a Captain..well I agree w/ u Wasim have a patchy career as a captain..but yaar he tought a lot to youngsters during his captaincy...I never said he was best captain
..i don't even consider Imran captaincy as banch mark for perfect captaincy...i don't call it captaincy that u can treat other players like **** and curse them....i know u won't like my response jigar..but i hope u will respect my right of opinion
Meray Jeray,
Tum sumjhay nahee meri jaan!
Wasim the match fixer konsa 150 Ks pay gaindein phekta hay? huh?
Aur haan, Hobart test mein Paki team sali is waja say haari cuz they basically handed over victory after first hour of play when Pakistan couldnt make a breakthorugh. And Wasim had a major part to play cuz he was doing nothing but shouting slurs to everyone ( including Umpires).
Now, meray cheetay, os waqat Pakistan ko koi aisa cheeta chaheye thaa jo consistently bastmen ko test kar saka, aur Waqar mera cheeta bari nuppi tulli bowling karta hay! AUr khas tour par jab os nay Ricky the Punter Ponting ko itnee omda bowl mari thee pehli inning mein! Aur Waqar ki capataincy mein never-say-die attitude hay ( Remmember Manchester test, I went to sleep after tea thinking its all over but Waqar broke Thorpy's stumps and lifted the whole team up)Kya samjhay?
Wasim nay waqar ko sirf kutta kiya. Har cheez mein waqar ko neecha karna chaha! Par Wickki dada nay bhee himmat na haari aur jab khud captain bana tou sub ko respect di ( including Wasim).Basically, Akram team mein politics laya. Waqar ethics laya.
Mein nay maana, Akram sub ka baap hay (including sattay baaz ka bhee), but not honest and professional as Waqar. And these are the two basic things that Waqar has brought to Pakistani team.
[This message has been edited by Pathan Bhai (edited August 07, 2002).]