LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has appointed star batsman Muhammad Yousuf as captain of Test series against New Zealand. Kamran Akmal will be his deputy.
According to sources, Muhammad Yousuf has decided to accept the captaincy offer after consultation with former captain Inzamamul Haq. Captain Yonis Khan requested the PCB not to consider him for Test series as he want to take a break.
re: Mohammad Yousaf appointed captain for NZ test series
Of course, there is more to this than him requesting a rest from cricket. Just couple weeks ago, he wanted to be incharge till WC 2011. So I am sure its not a rest thing, but turmoil within the team. Anyways, that leaves a big hole in our test batting lineup, with Misbah not selected either. I wonder if PCB will send a replacement for him. Sad news is, this might guarantee Imran Farhat a spot if no replacement is sent.
LAHORE: The former chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Tauqir Zia said weak team management is responsible for Pakistan’s defeat.
Talking to Geo News here, Tauqir Zia said defeat against New Zealand is a result of internal rift between the players and mismanagement. Umer Akmal is a good player and he should be a part of the team in every match. Former chairman PCB said Javed Miandad should be coach of Pakistan team instead of Intikhab Alam.
And that's also true for the Paki team and I think thats the real reason why Younis wanted a break. From the politics within the team. However, only form of the game he is good at is test cricket and that will leave a big hole in our middle order. Hopefully, he'll be back for Australian test matches.
Younis is turning out to be a smart guy by taking this 'break'.. Now if Pakistan fails in tests, he would say that see I was not there in the team. Whereas he actually is only needed in the test side. cause his record is much better in tests. Else, he should not be part of any shorter format of the game. This definitely leaves some holes in the middle order, with Yousuf and Shoaib the only respectable batsmen remaining.
^^ Yousuf Must call in Misbah or any other reliable middle order batsman for the test series having only two test batsman will not help the purpose, remember we still got the Little Butt Sahib...
Our nation needs leaders with quality leadership capabilities. Leadership is not only needed in cricket but for Pakistan as a country as well. It is a matter of shame to see this drama going on at all levels in Pakistan. We have become a joke in our own eyes!
'Awam ka captain' should not be 'resting' and saving his job for the next series.. he should come out clean, sincere and honest with his concerns.
Our nation needs leaders with quality leadership capabilities. Leadership is not only needed in cricket but for Pakistan as a country as well. It is a matter of shame to see this drama going on at all levels in Pakistan. We have become a joke in our own eyes!
'Awam ka captain' should not be 'resting' and saving his job for the next series.. he should come out clean, sincere and honest with his concerns.
Younis Khan must go home for permanent now.. I think he is not even good enough to play in a college cricket team.. I dont understand why he has been continuously given chance for so many years while his performance was 0.. He very very rarely got a score above 20 in ODIs as far as i know.. He is one big ''Parchi'' i think.. He should be kicked out of the team forever i think..
Koi hai..mai ka lal jo mulk ko sambhalay!
haha,, AWAM KA CAPTAIN..... iss Younis KHan ko Awam kay hawalay kiy ajaay..
I am sick and tired of Younis and his flip flopping. I really don't care what he had in mind. Probably he is thinking that this might work in his favor just like last time when he resigned from the captaincy.
Younis has alsways been a mediocre but very hard working ODI player. His recent form in ODIs indicates that he probably should not be an automatic choice for the national ODI team and efforts should be made to replace him with a younger talent. It will really make sense if he decides to retire from ODI's and concentrate on Test matches for the remaining part of his career.
His should have taken a break from ODI and not test matches. He needs to focus more and more on this format of the game instead of playing these flip flop tricks.
Another pathetic show from Younus. I am sick of his flip-flops now. He is a better TEST player and yet he is taking "break" from TEST cricket. I am sure his logic is that Pakistan will lose it anyway and he can then stage a come back and kick the cricketers he is at waters with such as yousuf, shoaib and afridi.
He was required to take a break from ODI and not TEST. I (and now one) will accept the lollipop of "break from cricket" ...just 8/10 years ago he was even hinting his comeback in 20/20 and only placed the lid over that after a strong reaction from PCB.
Younis Khan has withdrawn from the tour of New Zealand requesting a break from cricket. This is nonsensical. Pakistan have barely broken sweat over the last two years. Younis has just won a pivotal power struggle to secure the captaincy. Pakistan require some consistency, not flip-flopping, and regular changes in leadership create inconsistency and doubt. The team needs to build its form and strategies for the big challenge of an Australian tour.
Moreover, Younis’ mixed messages have become baffling. As much as many fans believe him to be the right choice as captain, he either wants the job badly enough to stick with it through thick and thin or should he give it up? The problem for Pakistan is that there are few genuine alternatives, and the selection of Mohammad Yousuf as stand-in captain underlines Pakistan’s poverty of resources.
All the Pakistan fans who recently supported Younis against the establishment, like me, will be bemused, disappointed, and let down by his decision.
If Pakistan cannot beat a mediocre team like NZ in ODIs on batting paradises of Abu Dhabi, there is little hope for us surely in the test series where our inconsistent batting is more likely to be exposed on seaming tracks by Bond and co.
Many Many moons ago…some one here on GS said that they did not think YoYo was at all capable…and I remember their words clearly…
hats off to that guppie for seeing this in YoYo back then…
and if it was more than one guppie than apologies…
YoYo is proving to be a quite a ga***a now
Pakistani cricket ka khuda hee hafiz…
MoYo can’t even run without getting himself or other out…