LAHORE, April 13: Paceman Mohammad Asif and middle-order batsman Faisal Iqbal were given ‘C’ grade of Central Contract for good performance in the last home series against India and away series against Sri Lankan, this year.
Earlier, Asif and Faisal were included in the list of those players, who were getting retainership.
Under the ‘C’ grade, Asif and Faisal will get Rs 70,000 per month from April 1 to June 30. From July 1, the new central contract will be signed by the players with the board.
Asif by taking seven wickets and Faisal by scoring a century helped Pakistan beat India in the third Test in Karachi to win the series.
In the Sri Lanka tour, Asif took 17 wickets in two Test match series while Faisal with Shoaib Malik saved Pakistan from a defeat in the first Test.
Meanwhile, the PCB has decided it will not make any change in the ‘A’ category of Shahid Afridi after the all-rounder announced his retirement from Test cricket on Wednesday.
The decision has been taken as Afridi announced his retirement after taking into confidence his captain Inzamamul Haq.
Re: Mohammad Asif and Faisal Iqbal awarded 'C' grade contracts for one year by PCB
Asif should have been given a B contract. I think the guy atleast deserve B since performed exceptionally well than Faisal. Still good to see he has been given C contract...kuch paisay milay...din phiray...qarzay utray...boot shoot khardiay...aur thora hula gula ho jai. :D
Re: Mohammad Asif and Faisal Iqbal awarded 'C' grade contracts for one year by PCB
Congrats to both young guns!
I agree that Asif must have got B contract, but since this is his first year a C is fair enough for him for now. He will have a hunger to perform to be a candidate for B or even A if he did really well as in last two series.
Re: Mohammad Asif and Faisal Iqbal awarded ‘C’ grade contracts for one year by PCB
“He was being paid 30,000 rupees ($500) as a monthly retainer and this has now been increased to 75,000,” Director Abbas Zaidi told Reuters. “This monthly raise is besides match fees and other incentives paid to the players per test and one-day appearances.”
I think asif is currently pakistan's best bowler, I agree he should at least be given B if not A. He has done well to deserve A, hasn't he? but its only for a year, so he should be happy with that.
While I do agree that he single-handedly has won us the previous two matches (let alone the entire series), at this stage of the game, I believe a 'C' contract will do him a world of good, and will motivate him for his best performances in the upcoming programme. Iqbal has also been performing superbly as of late, and both him and Asif have been quite consistent, and with that, it is only a matter of time when Asif is awarded the Class 'B' contract, which is hopefully in the next couple of years down the road.
Asif clearly deserves at least a B grade contract. The guy is a great find and we should reward him for his performances. It will motivate him to perform even better. I think C class is an insult to such a talented player.
Re: Mohammad Asif and Faisal Iqbal awarded ‘C’ grade contracts for one year by PCB
Though Asif has done wonderfully well in last couple of series no one should be given a sudden jump to top notch payment, so if he gets 2-3 bad series we all will then demand his head and dropping. Let the guy grow in the team and take right step sizes than give him jumps. I’m sure he will be in A category sooner than later, wish him and Faisal all the best :k:
ehsan bhai wants to see another Akhtar in making? :D
I think it is a good decision and well deserving as well. It is just for 3 months. And as expected inshallah if he starts England tour and terrorized Pomies by June 30th he will be the first one to get an upgrade to B or even A grade.
^ Lol. Asif and Faisal have been given the same contracts. Surely you people don't believe that there onfield performances have been same. Asif's contributions have been miles ahead of Faisal, so why c grade to both. Still let's see how he performs in England. I have high hopes of him.
To call some one as C-grade or even B-grade sounds pretty insulting anyway . They should have a numerical salary scale, preferably in reverse. So you start off in Level 1, and the best players are in Level 3.
In any case, even Irfan Pathan who was completely spectacular during India’s visit to Australia and Pakistan back in 2004, didn’t get their top billing for the first two years. So, being in C-grade for a few months is not a big deal, as long as the person is shown the way, that if you perform, then regardless of how many years you have, you will be moved up the chain.
Although I agree with ehsan, that Faisal Iqbal and Asif are miles apart in their skill set and contribution to the team. Well, I guess thats because we only have 3 pay scales. A ‘B’ to Asif wouldn’t have hurt anyone, but I guess they (PCB) tend to follow their own policies which presumably say that people can only move up one step, and there won’t be double-promotions.
PCB is overflowing with money, why not a few extra thousand to an upcoming talent who has already won you every test series in which he has played. Surely it's better Asif gets it then some executive fat cats or faujis in the PCB.
Their inclusion in the contract atleast shows that they'll be a consistent part of the squad in not team all the time. I'm very happy for that.
As far as C scale or B scale pay is concerned, I would have been happier to see Asif in the B scale but since this is his first year, I guess it's a fair game. I think PCB is working well with these players and it shouldn't take long before we see both of these players in A scale inshAllah. As far as Asif's class is concerned, he's the best simply. May Allah help them prosper more and more Ameen.