Mohallay ki Library

:asa: **Tumhin mery mizaj ka behoda pan yad reh giya meri muqaf ao musaj aqisam ki guftgu bhi hoti hai woh yad nahi:bailan:

Re: Mohallay ki Library

i live in pib colony and hv bought to many books from store kind of library like peer-e-kamil, great expectations, pilgrimage, alchemist ,zero point, gaye dinon k soraj, main nay dhaka jultay dekha,fountainhead etc etc..:-)

Where in PIB do you live. Our house was near Makki Masjid, behind Ibrahim Market

i live near khatri musjid and new montina school

It was many years ago so even the name sound familiar, I dont remember where Khtari Masjid is. Is it near 8 number Bus Stop.

Anyway, its nice reading your post. I am getting all nostalgic now :D

We do not have that trend here in Pakistan now. We do have book stores like Feroz Sons and Variety books in Lahore, I agree with chips6 that the habit of reading books is now being decreased. My father used to tell me that he and his friends visited many different libraries and used to get bundle of books on rent or on memberships. The culture of books reminds me of some peaceful and quiet place.

OH MY GOD…My hubby found some of those Inspector Jamshed stories online and insists to read them to me..I find them to be so annoying because they’re so long and somehow the suspense NEVER ends!!

^^ Hahah .. This guy, Ishtiaq Ahmed , towards the peak of his writing, was writing 4 novels a month, one per week. Rumour has it that bhai sahab hired some writers to write for him.

WHo can write a book a week on a regular basis

Feroz sons is a really old store. It was on Mall Road for as long as I can remember. In the 60's that was the only decent bookstore in Lahore. It carried a very wide variety of books. Is it still on Mall road?

Dont know about book store but as a publisher, Ferozsons did a great service to Pakistan, especially to young generation. We did not have Video Arcades or Dish TV or behooda songs, but we had Tlism-e-hosh ruba, dastaan-e-ameer hamza and qissa chahar derwaish.

I use to run my own mohallay kee library :snooty:

aap kaY husband bhee kiyaa yaad karaiN gey..

here is a link (is he using the same:hehe: ): Urdu Jasoosi Novel

yahaaN ibn-e-safi bhee mil jaataY haiN :silly:

I am always fond of reading such stories specially thoes book about Qoh-e-Qaaf

It’s still considered one of the best bookshop/Publications here. Now it has many other branches like in Gaddafi Stadium and Defence plus Gulberg.

lol its lil bit away from bus stand .....

we cant put arms around memories :-)

You are right burnished. I remember that fried fish vendor at the bus stand. His fish was just amazing. I am sure if not him (as he was already old) one of his son must still be selling fried fish form the footpath of the bus stand

Dhool matti per ky waqai footpath ky khany bary mazy dar ho jaty hain:D
PS: Please mods ab yeh thread khana peena coner main move ker dain:snooty:

These were not liberaries, they were bookstore who used to give book on rent, more like video stores.

We used to get Imran Series novel on rent ( Mazhar kaleem ones ) basically my elder brother used to get them on rent. Later i got interested in ibn-e-safi 's stuff but that was not available anywhere my brother told me a paan shop in old mozang bazar , that guy had a collection of ibn-e-safi novel. I reached there and asked him. he showed me, he had a big collection, i asked him to lend me some but he insisted that i should buy them as he is no longer in the business of book. he wants to sell them off.

Anyway i was not interested in buy, had no money for that. just rented few novels :chai:

^Os zamany sy is zamany tak tumhara wohi hal hy “no money for buying just rent some”:hoonh:

Tumhe kaise pataa ke codey ke paas money nahi he? Tumne ohir Qarzaa mangaa thaa uss se kiyaa :asa:

**Pysa hota tu kia mazhabi amor ka mod hota:aq: