Mohajirs...

Re: Mohajirs...

WAH, SUBHANALLAH. You just made my day.

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD!!!!!

There is no such thing as Muhajir. They are urdu speaking Pakistani and their contribution to Pakistan (considering their relatively small numbers ~8%) far outweighs any other ethnic group

The mohajir community isn't homogenous. A lot of small diverse communities make up the population of people who migrated to Pakistan when it was made and trust me not all of them(or even half of them) are as dravidian as you think. A lot of them have roots in different places. Some are converted brahmins, others are coverts of lower castes and others have afghan, iranian or central asian roots.

we dont really mind being called muhajirs. its just a word.

There are many other words which urdu speaking mind they dont mind if some one call them mohajir thanks to MQM and the great pir and saeen altaf husain who now calls himself sindhi(after telling his urdu speaking brethren to die for muhajir cause for almost 20 years).

Urdu speaking are some times reffered to as bhai mian,bhayay,maturay,makar(interior sindh) telear etc. goes for other ethnicities as well punjabis are called paindoos,chopaya ,pakthoons are called akhrots etc

Re: Mohajirs…

And Saeen Altaf Hussain is Bihari-Madrassi mix.. thats y he looks like a small buffalo who sings Lalu songs in his jalsas.

Altaf husains family is from UP(uttar pardesh)just for the record.

Being mohajir is outdated/old fashioned -

Now it is Urdu speaking non urdu speaking

When people migrated to pakistan every group had some identity , punjabis, pathans memons etc so Migrated urdu speaking started call themselves mohajirs, it was during that time punjabis Sindhi's of karachi raised this slogan

• Sindhi punjabi bhai bhai

Teesri qoum kahan say aaee*

And mohajir replied with

• Sindhi punjabi bhai bhai mohajir unn kay dhoola bhai* :)

Wasn’t it “Sindhi aur Mohaajir bhai bhai, Dhoti (Punjabi) aur Naswaar (Pathan) kahaan se aaeey?” :smiley:

We should forget all this nonsense now yaar, we’re all Pakistani and Muslim, forget differences and embrace each other as brothers. Pakistan is home to us all, it is our pride, all over the world we are hated and despised, the British call us “Paki scum”, Americans call us “terrorists” and “currymunchers”, the sons of blonde whores (Kuwaitis and Dubaities) call us “Miskeen”, in India we would have been treated the way Gujaratis and Kashmiris are treated and to get anywhere in life we’d have to become borderline Hindus like Shahrukh Khan or their president (who pray to Hindu deities along with Allaah), Pakistan is our only haven, it’s our land where none of us are outsiders.

Let’s not give our enemies a chance to enjoy our petty arguments, mere bhaiyo khud apne hi haathon se apne aashiyaaney ko mat jalaao. :teary1:

Pakistan Paindabad.

Background is irrelevant, we're all Pakistani now.

^i was responding to the guy who said muhajirs look different from pakistanis.

I am actually pretty happy to see this thread...It means we have moved on a lot as a nation...

I remember a time when anytime someone mentioned the name Mahajir, blood vessels would pop...Someone would come in the discussion claiming to be a stalwart of Pakhtoons, then Sindhis would jump in for the Greater Sindh as envisioned by GM Syed, then Punjabis ehn whatever and a melee would ensue in which lives were threatened...

I am glad we can now openly talk about each other's ethnicity without resorting to a sense of dread...

I for one have learnt not to differentiate Muslims on the basis of ethnicity but really appreciate the different colours of the Muslim family...Each one unique each one different...To encapsulate one's own ethnicity in an aura of superiority is myopic to say the least...

We may all be different in many many ways but none is superior to the other...Everyone does what their lifestyle dictates and there are bad and good in every race, people and creed...To judge a nation on the experience of having known a few people as good or bad is baseless...And wrong...

i am not against what you said but how do you eradicate ethnic differences? some ethnic differences are just part of the package such as pashtuns, baloch and the people of the northen areas having fairer skin colour on average? how do you eradicate that?

languages and customs vary? do you eradicate that too? and if you want to - whose do you replace it with?

whoever said this must be blind! pakistanis as a whole can be ver short or very tall, from blonde haired, blue eyed and white skinned to people with very dark complexions and anything in between!

even those who are seen as muhajirs look completely different to one another - some resemble Pashtuns in skin colour and looks and some can be smilar to Punjabis and Sindhis.

it is about time they were stop seen as being muhajirs but something else. in peshawar afghan refugees are seen as muhajir. so one can get confused when people in pesawar say half the city is made up of muhajirs! but the question is what suitable name do you give them - muslims of Hindustani origin? is that appropriate?

i dont mean to be rude - but how do you measure a contribution to a country? in numbers yes they are 8% but how do you know their contribution is higher or lower than that expected?

to say any ethnicity did more or less for Pakistan is quite dangerous in my opinion! they have all contributed in many different ways.

Race and ethnicity are two different things, race is not important because none of us are pedigrees, we’re all mongrels, even within the same family and tribe you’ll get a selection of complexions, in this day and age race is irrelevant, Pakistani people are multiracial and that’s a good thing. Mongrels are healthier and cheaper to ensure than pedigress, I found that out at the vets the other day. :snooty:

Nations are not based on skin color or race, they’re based on culture and the most important part of a culture is language, the only real cultural difference amongst Pakistanis is language that’s why like a Kashmiri brother in another thread suggested we should promote our national language Urdu all over the country and get rid of provincialism, other than that we have pretty much the same culture when it comes to cuisine, clothes, sports, religion etc.

Faruk Bhai, you speak the absolute truth man.

I don’t even consider the Khan’s in bollywood true muslims. I think the society they live in may look down upon them if they were to practice islam to its fullest and not endorse the belifs of hindus. To be honest, they are all hybrids in one way or another. Either they were born from one hindu parent and one muslim parent or they married a hindu. Although, I must say that Shah Rukh Khan comes closest of the lot to a proper muslim (from observing him on television and such). But again its not up to me to judge and may Allah forgive me and us for our sins. Ameen.

Khuda hafiz

You forget to write about Pakistani film actors.And we celebrate mehendi in our weddings in pakistan?why dont we maintain the islamic dress code??

By the way shahrukh has married a hindu and also do puja and aarthi

I agree with you on this one
"But again its not up to me to judge and may Allah forgive me and us for our sins. "

Agreed-tussi cha gae-

Islamic Republic of Pakistan Zinda baad

i disagree.......language is not the only difference:-

1. gender roles differ. in pastun society women are more confined to the 4 walls of their house and are more likely to walk around covered up than the women in punjab and sindh. women from punjab and sindh are more likely to work in fields and gender segreation is lower

2. marital customs differ within areas.

3. cuisine differs too. pashtuns and baloch do not really use spice. pashtuns and baloch are more likely to eat meat. some foods are or were specfic to certain areas.

4. religion differs too even. in sindh and punjab especially the rural areas you will see a more Pir/Shrine/Barelvi based approach to Islam whislt in NWFP you do not have this concept on such a visible scale. you will more bearded men within NWFP and Balochistan for sure too.

5. values within society differs. pashtuns and baloch have a stronger honour killing concept than sindh and punjab. people from balochistan and nwfp are more likely to dress traditionally as comapred to punjab and sindh where western dress is more acceptable.

there are many other differnces too but they should be tolerated too.

by the way when you get rid of provincialism - what do you mean? any ideas on hw to do this? it might be better to see why this ocurs first!