Modesty in gaze

Re: Modesty in gaze

decenency and sharafaat is ONLY determined by two things

1.whether he uses swear words/curses
2.if he looks at other people

and if he changes his underwear regularly.

^ before that........whether he wears one ...

^before that ......whether he even cares to..

^and whether he needs to?

O merey bhai. Where in the Quran or Hadith "observing" and "Ogling" is differentiated. Lowering the gaze is ordered everywhere.

Imagine yourself standing in front of Allah (swt) on the day of judgement saying, " You ordered to lower my gaze, but me thinks its ok to only check/observe hot and cute na-mehrams."

What response do you expect from Allah (swt) ?

Yeah but if he needs to ....but doesn't want to. Then you've got a baysharam banda.

Looking away when talking to someone means you have something wrong going on your mind and you are trying to hide it. Making eye contact while talking is no indecency (as long as you don't have this expression on your face -> ;) )

Imagine yourself standing in front of Allah (swt) on the day of judgement saying, " You ordered to lower my gaze, but me thinks its ok to only check/observe hot and cute na-mehrams."

No, no...not only thought but also preached to many people and also practiced myself this self made concept throughout my life (that was opposite to Your CLEARLY stated order). Even though I was sure 100% that If only observing na-mehrams were allowed for anyone, it must have been for the 1,24000 Prophets and all the companions of the Prophet, because their hearts were purest of all and they were closest to YOU and pure from all negative feelings. STILL they didn't DARE to test your response and decided not to violate your orders, but I still consistently and intentionally practiced (without any guilt or taubah) what even the Prophet Muhammad (saw) never practiced even once in his whole life. :D (do I look cute)

Unfortunately, the angel of punishment don't know cuteness but to obey the orders of Allah (swt)

How do you know?

Absolutely, I agree and it has a lot to do with where you live/culture. In North America not looking at someone while talking is considered rude and other cultures its the opposite.

I agree with Canadian Desi. Not looking at someone when talking is considered very rude. And Secondly, modesty in character plays major role in modesty of gaze. The modesty needs to come from within first in order for eyes to take any part.

It's only immodest if the person is unattractive

I remember a qari sahab who was like that when he first moved to karachi from nwfp, but he quickly learned.

Btw, looking at you when talking is actually the normal way of conversation. I think you are confusing looking with leering and most of all, I think you are trolling here.

Brother, I meant to say that in front of them obeying orders of Allah (swt) is more important than anything else.

Anyways, wouldn't Allah (swt) be naaraaz from me if I change channel when amma abba...etc. arrives but don't feel shame from Allah (swt) who is watching me all the time. If I feel the fear of a girl's brother/father and immediately start looking away when they arrive, but don't get scared that it should be the fear of the MIGHTEST of all that should control my actions.

^ Because genius we can't see Allah but can see parents physically approaching this is why it would awkward to keep the tv going with mushy gushy scenes.

^LOL out at the “genius” sarcasm. :hehe:

It does take a conscious effort to be my mindful of Allah…when He can’t be percieved…but that’s an essential part of faith…to remain steadfast though you can’t perceive Allah with your senses.

Oh and sometimes it happens that an “inappropriate” scene comes up rather quickly…as you’re flipping channels…and right about the time when your parent comes in…and though you weren’t watching it…it makes for an awkward situation where they think you’re a perv. :hehe:

lolzz omg! i am guilty of what you said above. My mom goes "what were you watching?" though i was flipping channels.

LOL, when that happens to me…and I know that I won’t be able to change the channel in time…I just throw the remote control at my sister…so if my mom is going to assume anything negative…it’ll be about my sister and not me. :devil:

Hhahaha watching tv is hard when you're a desi kid
:(