Modest YET modern New Year Party Clothes Help needed!

Ok so here’s a dilemma and would appreciate your help please?

As usual, new year party hoti rahety hai…but i need help in regards to what I can wear. I want to get something that will go really nice with black trousers, something like a short or just above the knee kameez with nice embroidary work maybe with see-thru sleeves. Something elegant which i can glam up with the jewellery (love doing that)..so any ideas? Please? Any pics and sources would be great. Btw i live in UK so if thats any help!

Thank you.

Re: Modest YET modern New Year Party Clothes Help needed!

THERE ARE SOME LOVELY DRESSES IN TOPSHOP
THERE'S LOVELY BLACK ONE WITH SLEEVES..

What part of the UK you from?

Try Southall - there's some really great stuff there, particularly East-West fusion pieces. Places like Sequinz and Daminis in Southall can be a lil pricey but the clothes are desi but very elegant and unusual with a strong western twist
to them

Hope this helps somewhat...:)

i love topshop. there will be one opening in new york soon and then life will be complete.

Hey Sunset_Eyes, I think I found exactly what you're looking for in Ealing Tie Rack today :)

There was a black kurta style top that would come to about half way down your thighs, with diamante and silver kaam around the neckline. The sleeves were long but transparent with silver thread running through the material.

It was really pretty but I wasn't able to take a pic in the shop. Take a look at their website...might be summat on there...

Wow...thanks Phoenix and to everyone else! Need to check these ideas out this weekend!

No worries :) Let me know how it goes!

Modern but modest shalwar kameez :k: I find girls more attractive in shalwar kameez than in western clothing.

how abt a long sweater/tunic with tights/leggings and long boots?

Ya i know Sara...but am not a big fan of tights/leggings at all. Sorry! I need something modern but still on the sober side! I would wear shalwar kameez but imagine if everyone is wearing modern clothes and i turn up in shalwar kameez! How embarrassing! Its happened before to me btw!

^^ u girls are way too fussy… :rolleyes:

I bought this from Dorothy Perkins in Gold and Black only £20 each … and can be worn over black trousers..
And it looks so cool… the sleeves are shortish but not that short.. you could wear a thin 3/4 sleeve top underneath no probs or a nice bolero

That's pretty!

Sunset_Eyes did ya get a chance to look at the kurta top in Tie Rack?

Nahey na yar…kabhi kaam say fursut milay to jao…kumbukht!! But Inshallah will have a look soon!

Coolmunda…im fussy ya ur right! But You have to dress appropriately(sp) and save yourself from embarrassment!:blush: