Dear everyone,
What’s going on in our country? Comming back from the UK to Karachi every time it seems as though it’s becomming more like the 53rd state of America, with Pizza huts and MacDonalds (and all the diseases accompanying fast food). Am i the only one who feels thing aren’t going right? Or am i just viewing things with an annoying superficiality?
Thanx
whats wrong with eating pizzas and munching on bigmacs?
well..... I eat pizzza hut pizza everyday...... Yeah every day.......whats wrong with it???.......
I knew it!!!
saray kalay bharay hotay hain lunch time par
Kanjoos kaheen kay
Works for $4.50
all you can eat
Don't take t wrong- meh bhi pizza kabi kabi khatah hun- but these companies are taking local money from Paksitan, and it's all going back to their headquarters in the US. People eat their food think it's upmarket (and so display a sense of cultural inferiority). I laughed for ages when I saw Pakistanis 'dressing up' to go to MacDonalds in Lahore!
Saudi has gone so far as to restrict the opening of large multinational fast food giants in favour of local fast food places.
Shouldn't we be more proud of our own food instead of thinking it inferior?
Was-salaam
[This message has been edited by TripleA (edited November 22, 2000).]
I think we in pak should do a lot more to protect local industriesin every field.I have no objection to having macdonalds or pizza hut in some areas but this should not be at the cost of local pakistani food which seriously is better than any pizza or burger.This is more about being proud and enjoying our own stuff than any dislike for wetern food.I am a big pizza and bigmac eater but I would take 'rowh' of punjab over pepsi and cocacola any day and and same goes for food.Besides local stuff is much cheaper and people waste there money over expensive forieghn stuff jsut for the galmour of it.
Saadgi main bhalaai hay.
P.S.good topic tripleA.Only kind of stumbled upon it.what's it doing in this forum?
[This message has been edited by Ahmed (edited November 22, 2000).]
big mac doesnt even come close to beating 'chutni wala bun kabab that u get on the side of a heavy traffic road with all the pollution fried in the taste' .. :-D and u dont have to dress up to eat that and neither do u have to pay a fortune.. :)
Don't love everybody--specialize.. ;-)
I have no objection to people eating big macs or pizzas. But the price is astronomical by Pakistani standards. 500 rs for a pizza is a lot of money.
I think it's very worrying that people are falling for marketing in such a big way. If the same pizza was offered in a Pakistani outlet for 500 rs.would people eat it?
I don't know what the solution is. If Pakistanis build similar fast food joints they won't be as successful because the brown sahibs that go to Macdonalds will still want to go there because of the brand name.
And if we go down that road, we will lose our traditional food joints which are all individually owned so there is greater variety.
p.s.
This is a good topic. Maybe it should be moved to the General section Ghalib?
Salaam Ahmed-
Which category do u think would suite the topic best?
was-salaam
Babur
As Xtreme said TripleA, general would be better.
Another Yankee classic
aapki zarra nawazi hai janaab warna bunda kis laiq hai ..
.. I LOVE URDU ..
Don’t love everybody–specialize.. ![]()
and all the diseases accompanying fast food
Which diseases are you talking about? My impression is that the fast food sold on raiRhis and stalls etc in Pakistan is lot more harmful than fast food served at McDonalds or Pizza Hut (don't get me wrong, I love that naan cholay and chicken kirahi more than anything, BTW).
The flip side is that because of these chains, a lot of people are getting employment. And the way things are in Pakistan, we desperately need that.
Also, I think success of these establishments act as a motivation for locals to invest in businesses of the sort and eventually create an atmosphere of increased competition, which in turn will go towards consumers' benefit.
PS. I agree with Xtreme, may be this topic should be moved to General. Almost missed it since I don't come to MNP that often.
There is evidence of increasing incidence of stomach cancer and all bowel cancers in the East. Traditionally such cancers were only prevalent in western countries, but now with changes in eating habits (of which fast food is an important feature) such cancers are increasing. But I agree with you that it's not only Western Fast food to blame (although it has traditionally had more fat and oil than non-ghee Indo-Pak style cooking)
was-salaam
Babur
Did somebody say McDonalds?
We love to see you smile
kutta ban gaya houn tairay pyar mein
sunnah chahti ho to sunoh
BHOW BHOW!!
ok, philosophy time, Good cultures prevail without having to make extra effort for survival. I think its perfectly ok if ppl are eating Mickey D and Pizza Hut. us humans rotate and change our and evolve our cultures. It is just experimentation. i think we will be alright.
Nobody forces you to eat at a Macdonalds.
So what’s the problem?
There are some people here who appear to believe that globalized tastes are somehow imposed on a helpless world. Is it possible that Disney can homogenize consciousness and McDonald’s can homogenize tastes globally? Presumably in a better world children would prefer Balinese dance and healthy vegetarian food. Not likely: Everything we know suggests that our emotional response to anthropomorphized animals and our craving for fatty foods are hard-wired inheritances from the ancestral adaptive environment. If Mickey Mouse and the Big Mac didn’t exist, somebody would quickly invent something very similar.
They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?
With all due respect yaar, a bit of that was baquaas dude.
Anthropomorphized animals? Fatty food craving being hard-wired? Have you isolated the neurological substrate for this yourself?
The issue here is not really anthropological explanation of human behaviour (most of that has very little provable evidence and testable hypotheses anyway to be considered a serious science) but simple economics and mathematics of cash flow- from an underdeveloped country straight to the West. This happens in Arms sales too- most of Pakistan's GDP goes on arms, not health care. If our nation is ever to stand on its own 2 feet, independent of the IMF, then we have to tackle the problems of globalizatoin. Your PC is likely not to be made in Pakistan. If Malaysia can do it, why can't we?
Sorry if i was a bit harsh!
Babur
yes, pak esp khi is kinda becoming a mini canada/chicago.....with its modernization in everything.....from clothes to food to transportation (left handed vehicles are constantly roaming around)....
i dont mind unless its bad for our economy....isnt it a franchise though?...we, as a country make money too....
wel....i hope its for the better...
laterz.
TripleA, it’s okay dude.
Actually, I’m not an anthropologist or sociologist. When I grow up smile I want to be an economist.
The only reason why I threw that reason in was because that it ends up as being part of the discussion sooner rather than later. I know the way I put it made it sound stupid, but really all those wacky terms were just figures of speech trying to illustrate the human rationality in all of this. And I’m sure you’ll agree that human rationality is a working assumption of economists, albeit a very useful one in a lot of circumstances. Remember Seattle? The protesters made lots of noises about this very reason about tastes being imposed on helpless Third World countries.
In any case, you are correct that it may have been premature of me to bring this point into the discussion so fast. However, it may be relevant in the future depending on how this thread runs it’s course. I think that globalistaion is a very powerful corrective in our world today, and I would be very happy if Pakistan wholeheartedly opened up to this very real concept, for that is where Pakistan’s prosperity lies in waiting. Of course there will be losers. But in every situation across the world where globalisation has been embraced, the winners have far outnumbered the losers.
They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?