Mobile Phones from Pak?

Salaams,

I shall b goin on holiday to Pakistan on the 5th of july inshaallah. i’m hoping to buy a mobile phone from there which i would then like to bring back to, and use in the UK. The most i can spend on a phone will be 200 pounds (i think thats like RS. 20,000). I would buy one from the UK but i have heard mobile phones are generally somewhat cheaper in Pakistan. If i buy a phone it will most likely be from Lahore.

Basically i’m after a phat mobile phone with new features such as a camera, colour display e.t.c. Preferaby a Nokia or a Samsung.

anyways, I have a few questions -

1. Has anybody else brought a phone from Pak and taken it back to U.S/UK e.t.c? do you reckomend it?

2. can you get the newest mobile phones from Pakistan?

3. Are there any guarantees e.t.c when buying phones from Pak? (i.e - if it breaks within 2 weeks it will get replaced or repaired by the shop)

4. Do they tend to be cheaper in Pakistan?

5. Any reccomendations on phones or shops to buy a phone from in Lahore?

That’s it for now, but you can bet i’ll come up with more questions later :slight_smile:

i am sending couple of phones to pakistan...i think u can buy cheaper ones there..i have a gsm phone here which will work in pak..i think u can buy used phones there as well

thanks Sheraz, i think i will be looking for a tri-band phone, which should work in any country i think (corecct me if im wrong)

c'mon people i need some more info pleaseeeeeeee.

Re: Mobile Phones from Pak?

1) Has anybody else brought a phone from Pak and taken it back to U.S/UK e.t.c? do you reckomend it?

No I dont prefer 2 buy from pak becoz hey r bought mainly from dubai or singapore....sometimes hong kong too. I would not recommend Pak, although da branded shops in karachi & lahore will offer guarantee. Those r da shops u might check instead of da cheaper 1nz which can sell a second hand mobile.

2) can you get the newest mobile phones from Pakistan?

U can get da recent models but they might come with an Xtra tab.

3) Are there any guarantees e.t.c when buying phones from Pak? (i.e - if it breaks within 2 weeks it will get replaced or repaired by the shop)

Only da branded shops which r authentic Nokia or Samsung dealers will offer a guarantee.

4) Do they tend to be cheaper in Pakistan?

Compared 2 UK yes they r cheaper

5) Any reccomendations on phones or shops to buy a phone from in Lahore?

Dealers

I would also recommend this - If ur transiting thru dubai u might check out da duty free shop, where I can assure u that da mobiles r a lot cheaper than UK(not pak), & come with an international 1 year no hassle warranty....u can even get a new mobile in replacement if u get a defective piece. And the best part is that u can send ur phone from UK alongwith da reciept 2 get ur mobile repaired or replaced. 95% of duty free mobiles r not defective....da other 5% constitute various reasons, from dropped mobiles to defective pieces.

All duty free mobiles have tri band & will work in UK. The dubai market is comparitively cheaper than duty free.

malik has explained in great detail and i tend to agree with his views.

Nokia cellphones are available at Chimera outlets in Lahore and Karachi and other cities too. Compared to getting them at Hafeez centre, you pay a 2,000-3,000 premium but then you get the warranty and the comfort of knowing ke 2 number kaam nahin ho raha.

Majority of UK GSM operators operate on the same frequency as that prevalent in Pakistan. GSM 9000 i believe. I took my Nokia 3310 to UK and it worked perfectly fine. You can always ask the Chimera guys which set will actually work in the UK and generally you’ll get a decent advisory service from them.

With regards to which phone to select…hmmm, try this:

Nokia 6800-for the SMS-crazy (well who isn’t anyways?). I think you will go a lil off budget…a colleague of mine got it for Rs. 26,000 but it’s worth it. You have almost the full functionality of a PDA and more! (but it doesn’t have a camera though)

Baaqi to phir aap ki marzi he hai na :halo:

Re: Re: Mobile Phones from Pak?

*Originally posted by mal1k: *
1) Has anybody else brought a phone from Pak and taken it back to U.S/UK e.t.c? do you reckomend it?

No I dont prefer 2 buy from pak becoz hey r bought mainly from dubai or singapore....sometimes hong kong too. I would not recommend Pak, although da branded shops in karachi & lahore will offer guarantee. Those r da shops u might check instead of da cheaper 1nz which can sell a second hand mobile.

2) can you get the newest mobile phones from Pakistan?

U can get da recent models but they might come with an Xtra tab.

3) Are there any guarantees e.t.c when buying phones from Pak? (i.e - if it breaks within 2 weeks it will get replaced or repaired by the shop)

Only da branded shops which r authentic Nokia or Samsung dealers will offer a guarantee.

4) Do they tend to be cheaper in Pakistan?

Compared 2 UK yes they r cheaper

5) Any reccomendations on phones or shops to buy a phone from in Lahore?

Dealers

I would also recommend this - If ur transiting thru dubai u might check out da duty free shop, where I can assure u that da mobiles r a lot cheaper than UK(not pak), & come with an international 1 year no hassle warranty....u can even get a new mobile in replacement if u get a defective piece. And the best part is that u can send ur phone from UK alongwith da reciept 2 get ur mobile repaired or replaced. 95% of duty free mobiles r not defective....da other 5% constitute various reasons, from dropped mobiles to defective pieces.

All duty free mobiles have tri band & will work in UK. The dubai market is comparitively cheaper than duty free.

Thanks alot Malik Bhai, very helpfull information.

There's no chance of me getting a mob from Dubai, i'll be getting a direct flight from uk to Lahore.

Maybe there is/are a duty free shop at the new Lahore airport selling phones, anybody know?

Khanzada bhai - Thanks for the info, I have a nokia 3310 now. The 6800 is a babe of a phone but it's just out my budget and i wouldn't even trust maself with that phone :)

i'm thinking of maybe getting either the samsung V200, nokia 7250, 8910i, 5100 and some others.

what is 'chimera?' :p

The only place i will have the opportunity to buy a phone from will be Lahore as that is the only main city we will be staying in.

it'd be helpfull is somebody could give me the names of a few good shops in Lahore?

you can find good phones in auction or from Saddar bazar. You can also find good ones for low price in Singapore plaza in pindi

Phones bought from Pakistan are working fine in Europe. I bought a K750i few months back from PK and now using it in CZ. I didn't have to open any lock or anything, put the sim in & it worked.

I prefer not to buy phone from any shop, because they might have cleaned & repacked a second hand mobile, so go to a good brand shop or get a contact who can get a good one for you.

The new phones bought in PK, come with 1 years warrenty.

I'd say you can buy a phone in PK and use it in UK, no problems.

Cost more in PK than UK. People take phones from Uk to sell in PK becuase they get a price for them.

Absolutely wrong. people take blocked - stolen phones which are no use in UK and can work in Pakistan hence they are only cheaper than the one in Pakistan.

Some people take contract phone to Pakistan during contract time and claim insurance or after the contract period. phones are mostly cheaper or free with contract in UK.

Brand new phones or any electronics are cheaper in Paksitan compared to UK.
its cause singapore, china, japan, dubai are near to Pakistan and plus less taxes and overhead costs.

this stuff about being cheaper is total bollox.

I'm not talking about stolen or phones under a scam. The expesnive handsets are sent to Pakistan, Gulf as they fetch a far higher price their than for sale in UK. For example a relative recently had a D600 with his contract which he didnt need. Worth around £180 in UK in pakistan got £240 for it.

Half the electronics are either fake, or refurbs with new casing in original packaging. So that NEW phone is not new but broken into bits ==> repaired with a new casing.

China, Singapore, Japan closer so who gives a monkey? Chinese maybe where most electronics are produced but ultimatly it's the EU companies who are the ones running the factories. They sill in millions of units directly to distrubutors in Uk rather than a 100 or so to a pakistan distributor. I've been working in the mobile and electronics industry for some time and it's not just 'hear say'.

Transportation costs for high value, high density items such as mobile phones are minimal per unit it's not like trading in scrap metal.

The only electronics cheaper in Pakistan are fakes, usually made in China with a 'Made in Japan' badge. Bad wiring and PSU of such bad design and build quality would not pass Eu safety standards.