Mixing Business And Family

Bad idea, or depends on the family/people involved?

I am a real estate professional. I’ve been in this industry for almost 10 years, and I’m pretty good/knowledgable in all things residential real estate related in our city. Recently, my cousin (khala’s daughter) and her husband decided to sell their home. The same home that I (as well as many others) advised them not to buy for a multitude of reasons. They bought in a rural area, because they were consumed with “barra ghar” and it was a big, cheap dabba type cookie cutter new build. They proceeded to dump $$$$ into upgrading it, making it the most over improved house in the neighborhood. Again, against my gentle coaxing not to. Not my problem though. Fast forward a few years, to now when they realize their mistakes and want to sell. My cousin asked me to run a market analysis for them and to advise as to what they could expect to sell the home for. I obliged, and they did not like what the information I gave.

Now, my cousin is my age, however she was raised in Khi, came to the US when she was 17. She’s always had a tad of an inferiority complex, for whatever reason. We have a very strange relationship. She’s my best friend, but also my worst “frennemie”. We’ve had our ups and downs, the downs mainly on account of her arse of a husband and his tez zabaan and karak attitude. There also is a bit of competition between us at times, mainly on her end, as her arse of a husband, had sent a rishta for me before her.

Anyhoo, they went ahead and listed their home with a gori agent, way over what I told them they could get for it. After 4 months of nothing happening, she started asking me why the house wasn’t selling, and what should she do with the agent, blah, blah, blah. I told her it was overpriced.

The house finally sold after they dropped the price, and when they got the offer, she and her husband asked me to look over the contract, and kept calling me for advice. My husband started to get peeved, because he felt they should not be asking me for advice, if they chose to go with another agent. I told him it’s fine, they’re family, rehnay do. He said no, anytime anyone else in the khandaan buys or sells, they all go through you, tho inka kya masla hai?

So now the house is sold (at the exact price I predicted it would :cb:) and they are in a temporary apartment while they look for another house. They are still using that same gori agent to buy their new home, and it did slightly make me a little mad, because when you buy a home, it doesn’t cost you anything…agent commissions come out of the seller’s net. It could have been a very $$$$ commission for me, and when helping family, I almost always give a generous kick back. Long story short, she’s been calling me all day asking for second opinions about the houses they are looking at, and now my husband is getting really ticked off. He says that I need to tell them to stop consulting me unless they’re willing to pay me for my time and opinions, lol!

I get his point, but at the same time, I don’ want to be snide and offend them, because knowing her husband, it would start draamay and jhagray in the family all over again, and I don’t care to get tangled up in all that again.

Do I:

a) answer their questions politely
b) listen to my husband and ask them to stop consulting me as they have their own agent
c) just avoid them/the topic all together?

Discuss.

Seems like they made one bad decision earlier and realize that, however if I were in your place, and getting an idea if the type of people..you don't want to be the one to blame if they choose something that they later don't like etc.

It is a damned if you do and damned if you don't scenario, I would look at ways to extract myself out of this equation saying you are extending professional courtesy to a fellow realtor because had you been in that position you would not like someone else meddling.

Re: Mixing Business And Family

C. AVOID!!!!!

and if something will go wrong . . . guess who they'll be blaming ??? No , not that gori , but YOU . Stay out of it .

C, the issues these ppl have with u are always gonna show up their ugly head. Ur best advice is always gonna make them doubt you.
Keep out of it but do it tactfully so that there is no badmazgee in the family.

Frennemies are the worst

Stay out of it khatti...this has trouble written all over it. I would not offer any definite advice...try to find a way to avoid this topic politely and if necessary give neutral answers.

As everyone's saying...if something goes wrong...you will be blamed.

As others already advised, stay out of it! If anything goes wrong, it'll cause an ever bigger drama than you just refusing to help them.

I would answer their question politely and give them sincere advise but at the same time keep reasonable distance. You have the expertise in this area and it does not cost you anything to share your opinion if you have time.
I am sure they also don’t expect you to drop your commitments in order to help them.
But if this thing is bothering you then you can talk to your cousin and simply tell her that you would have like if they used you as an agent for their house search. Don’t make a big deal out of it though.

I'm going to be the first to say do what your husband says. He's looking at it from a both professional and family point of view. They are family yet they are going with another agent. Still they come to you asking for professional advice? Tell them to go to their own agent. It just sounds like your cousin dosen't want you to get any of her money, but still wants all your professional help. Screw that.

Khatti, you have already been polite enough to help them. You should not continue to given people a chance to use you. Even if its family, it should be both ways. If you feel the family has been nice to you and will continue to be nice, you are obliged to helo them. However, the situation as explained by you, it seems that whenever they need you, they use you. So I would suggest that you AVOID them now. Be polite and tell her that you are busy when she calls.

Hmmm...just sweetly batoun batoun ma suna them, that as you know nowdays economy is bad & nothing is for free, falan falan banda itnay paisay lehta hai just for a piece of advice but tum loug tu meray apnay ho..my hubby gets angry & blah blah blah.Vesay If I were on your place I would have directly said to her, MUJHAY NOTE($$$) DIKHA MERA MOOD BANAY, since she is your freind.

C. is the best option, anyway!!

They're taking advantage of you. Have you tried telling your cousin, "I think you should ask the agent. You've hired her, so make her work for you....honestly she'd have a better idea about how to help you." How would that go?

Or what if you pretend to help...and play dumb? "Like Gee...hmmm...I don't know...I guess it could be this...but then it could also be that....it's just so hard to say....I'm not even sure how to answer that...and I haven't found.....I tried." Eventually they should get tired of you and leave you alone, lol.

D) charge them for your time and expertise :D

tell her in a nice way to consult her agent! i understand that she is family so u will be obliged... but come on. agar woh sincere hoti toh she would have engaged u as her agent in the first place and not some gora agent. u r her best friend!

no its not a bad idea, u r right that it always depend on the family/people involved (always extra careful in ur business when ever u r dealing or involving relatives in business )....
so just be extra care full, now u r in a middle of water, if u will straightly refuse then they will exploit it in the family, if u will continue with them giving advice, at the end if every thing goes well, they will never give u the credit & in case things goes wrong they will definitely blame u too

to avoid them, when ever she call u for an opinion, u can make an excuse that for accurate analysis u have to visit the site personally, do need some analysis too & in these days u r damm busy in ur house & business,

so tell them when ever u will get some time u will call them personally.... (just pass on this time)

Get out of it ASAP. U know God forbid if something goes wrong, you will be blamed solely.

Its sort of catch 22 but as X2 suggested, you can cite professional ethics as the base of your pulling out efforts.

I also had a personal experience of involving 3-4 of my relatives in my business. Even though my experience with them was not that bad but sometimes I felt that I was not able to manage/command them as I used to do with other employees specially female relative. At the end of the day they were all professionals and were able to pull it off but I really hated it when I asked for status on something an I got a mail telling me that

“XXXX Bhai, I am a bit behind on this task, you know Ahmed bhai ki shadi k functions bhi tu chal rahey hain” :smack:

cmon. I was there at the function too till 1am yet I was up and working at 8am, why cant u?

Thank you everyone for your advice! I agree that I need to politely find a way to disengage myself and not give my recommendations...this situation has trouble written all over it!

My problem is I wear my heart on my sleeve, and don't like to see people make foolish mistakes, especially family..but at the end of the day, it's not my concern.

Stat wearing sleeveless

Hope you find a way out of this :(

I would delicately step away from this.......no matter what happens there will be something that won't be "just perfect" and yes, you will shoulder the blame in one way or another.

Be diplomatic, as I know you are capable of that, and step slowly away......