hello ladies- ok so now at every mehendi a bride is fed mithai- my issue is that i dont like mithaiii the only thing 1 i like is gulab jamun- and i kno ill b soo sick of it- will it be weird or will i b given a stupid look by aunties and buddhi ma’s if i keep an option like one bowl of gulab jamun and one bowl of M&M’s candy?? =/
Re: Mithai Rasm
i dnt think anyone would have a problem if you had galub jamans only... but MnM's... i dnt know about that... u would probably get soom looks on that lol
Cut them in small pieces and stick a toothpick in each piece so that people are forced to feed you a small amount. You can also use dry fruit or fresh fruits i.e. cantalopes.
^^ thats wht i did on my mehndi day ..
well i was thinking even taking OUT the gulab jamun and just do m&m's or any other candy substitue?? just no mithai--- my friends like its ok eat it and take it out on a napkin-- but i dont want to do that bc then it just wastes it- so any other substitue's instead of mithai?
i dont think it should be a problem.... u can have a tray with different types of chocolates... place them just like u would do for meethai......
the purpose is keh moon mitha karna hai... it can be with anything... even snickers!! its ur shaadi... what is aunty's problem......
^^^ lol yeh but if auntys staring at me in a weird way ---i cant b liek why u looking at me like that u weird aunty lol
but yeh i think if anything ill have them b veryy small and make sure there ALLLLL small pieces so no one stuffs any fat ones in my mouth- and yeh put a few pieces of chocolates too-- hmm and honestly no matter how great or perfect a wedding goes- theres always going to b people that talk.. so i dont think i need to worry much about other people..
Well people in paki now dont feed mithai anymore..its more like chocolates and all that stuff.. Really.
Am gonna get a fruit platter - since i lowve fruits way too much..so i wouldn't mind how many times i get fed by those.
Hey I also only like gulag jamun. During my events I told my dadi to get sugarfree mithai cuz I didn't wanna start feeling nauseous so she got a few different mithais that I was ok with, all sugar free. We cut them in small pieces ANd put toothicks in them. After a while when people were doing the rasm they were just touching the mithai to my lips cuz I had stopped eating and they didn't care.
I also only had close relatives doing the rasm only, no weird aunty that I've never seen. There wasn't anyone at the wedding events that said anything negative. Even if they do, who cares.
fruit! delicious and not overwhelming!
we had fruits (grapes, blackberries, strawberries, pineapple) cut in cubes and on toothpicks, also some chocolate (also in small pieces), pine nuts (good and small), dried friuits, and mithai (burfee also cut in very small cubes and on toothpicks). There's so much choice so you barely get the mitthai bites: the aunties just get to eat them theirselves.
my cousin is lactose intolerant so cant eat mitai/chocolate etc so she had fruit.
fruity fruit fruit!
i had all kinds of mithai , wat does it matter you will be so busy enjoying that it wont matter
I would say make sure you ONLY have different kinds of gulab jamun cut up and ready to feed in small pieces with toothpicks stuck in them. On my engagement, I had so much I thought I would be sick but I got through it.
Another option is cake...tiny little petite fours or something...I just gave myself an idea...I think Ill be doing that too!
At my sisters wedding we fed her chocolates instead of mithai and everybody thought it was a really cool idea! First we thought that we would just put a lollipop in front and everybody would use that over n over again but.... we were just messin around with her!!
^^^^ haha that reminds me of that commercial- if u all know what im talking about- How many licks does it take to get to the center of the tootsie pop! LOL hahah
khair u guys gave good ideas- my mothers kinda old school so shes gonna b like mithai is important so gulab jamun- tiny pieces and i love pineapple and different fruits so i guess thats a good idea- and also somebody mentioned cake- not bad at all- ill do like a fudge cake :) awesome!! yesss awayy from that crazyy mithaii stuff- ill b the forever known barfing bride then. haha :)
Ive seen at a few of the mehndis Ive been to recently, M&Ms, bite size chocolates, fruit cut up etc. Not everyone eats methai so its important to have whatever the bride wants. The last thing you want is for her to get sick or overwhelmed and throw it all up!! If you have a variety of things cut into small, manageable portions, it will be much easier on you
I would prefer fruits & chocolates.. the only mithai I actually like is gulab jaamuns, so yeh loads of them for me.. yummmm.