I have two stories to tell regarding that. 
August 1991 - Flight from London Heathrow to Vienna:
My parents, my sister and I (whole family) had spent 2 weeks of our holidays in England where we stayed at my Tayajaan´s place.
Since my relatives there live very far away from the airport and were all busy on the day we left, we said “Allah hafiz” to them at home and went to the airport by bus. For that we had to get up very early, because our flight was scheduled to leave at 08:15 AM
We arrived on the airport at 06:45, so we thought we’d make it on time easily. But then something strange happened. We asked a British airways employee who was passing by, which terminal we should go to and he said “Terminal 2”. When we reached Terminal 2, we were told that the flight to Vienna would leave from Terminal 3. So we walked all the way back to Terminal 3. And there we were finally told that Terminal 1 was, where we had to go.
We reached Terminal 1 at 07:45 and they would only let us board the plane, if we didn´t have any luggage to check-in which of course we had (Aakhir Pakistani hain
).
So we missed that plane and had to wait for the next one (7 hours later). There was no use of going back to Tayajaan´s place and back, so we sat there at London Heathrow all the time. Ammi and my sister had “fixed seats” on that flight. Abbu and I were “standby”, but we also got our seats then.
Januar 2002 - Train from Lahore to Karachi:
We made it on that train on time (06.00 PM), but how we made it, was a real adventure.
We were group of 18(!) people from my family (Dadiamma, Khala, Phuppo, my parents, my brother, several cousins, cousins kai bachai and me) who were going to Karachi to attend the wedding of my cousin there. That´s why we also chose to go by train, since we knew it would be fun.
One of my cousins (medical student in Rawalpindi) had said, that she would not be able to go to Karachi, because of her studies. But on the final day, she changed her mind. However, if she had taken the Daewoo she would not have reached Lahore on time to catch the train. So her “behnoi” got her an air ticket, rushed her to the airport and she took the flight from Rawalpindi to Lahore so that she could join us on the train.
Everyone else was getting ready at home and my dad was trying to arrange 2 Suzukis to go to the railway station. (One for the luggage and one for the people). Since I got ready early, I had the duty of picking my cousin up from the airport and driving to the railway station then. Jaldi mai ye nahi socha, kay railway station pai gaari kidhar karri karoonga.
I was waiting at the airport and met my Phuppa there, who was supposed to be on his flight from Lahore to Karachi, but it was 4 hours late. So we waited for my cousin together. The flight from Islamabad had landed, everyone had left the airport, but no sign of my cousin. The guy from the airport staff told me, that all passengers had left the plane. Now obviously I got a little bit “pareshaan”. Mobile ka bill bohot barhaaya us din. I called “behnoi” sahab in Pindi, called at their home, called at our home in Lahore. Finally she came into the airport from outside and I was like “Tum kidhar gai thi?” and she “Jahaaz sai uttar kai mai aik aunty kai peechai peechai gai aur phir wo VIP lounge mai baith gaee, to mai bhi udhar hi baith gai. Mera khayaal tha tum mujhai udhar sai laine aao gai”.
Btw, it was the first flight of her life and she had no mobile. 
Khair, we rushed to the railway station (Phuppa, cousin and I) because then I realized that there was no place to park the car near railway station. So Uncle took us there, drove the car back home and then went to the airport to get his 4-hour-late flight.
My cousin and I had arrived at the railway station on time, my father and my Phuppo were there already with the first Suzuki (luggage waali). At 5 minutes before 6 (05:55 PM) I called my “Lahorewaala” cousin on his mobile and asked him (2nd Suzuki), where they were. He said: The have just turned from the Mall to Davis Road. Those of you, who are familiar with Lahore know, that it´s quite a distance from there to the station.
I don´t know how the driver made it, but at exactly 06:00 PM he stopped his Suzuki in front of the station. The samaan was in the train already and all rushed to it, because it was starting to move. Ammi and Khala held Dadiamma´s arms and literally carried her to the train, because she couldn´t walk so quickly. Aur phir hum sab chalti hui train mai charhai.
For the first 2 minutes nobody spoke. We just couldn´t believe that we had all made it, but we did. pheeeeew
Funny thing which I found out a few months later: Shinoo was on the same train! Duniya kitni choti hai.