3 days ago I sent my laptop to pakistan with my husband’s friend… he called us today n informed that the laptop was missing when he opened his luggage at home.. the laptop was with its bag n only the laptop was stolen… his suitcase was still firmly locked when he received it at the airport. .. what to do now? Should he complain to the airline? Any chance of getting the laptop back?
Re: Missing laptop
The way your laptop is stolen, i fear you would not find it ever...... but that should not bar you from registering your complaint...
which airline did he take? yes, he can report but the contents are not insured by the airlines. one should never put valuable items in the checked-in baggage.
it looks like an inside job and it's extremely hard to find out who exactly did it, especially if it was stolen at the destination airport in Pakistan. locks are easy to open and close by those professional thieves who happen to be your baggage handlers unless the lock is sealed which is against the policy of the customs' department.
sometimes, customs people open and close your suitcase to inspect the contents for drugs but they usually leave a note that they had opened and inspected your baggage.
well, sorry for your loss but, practically, i don't think you can do much about it...just swallow the loss!
if he had purchased his airline ticket on a credit card, he may contact the credit card company to see if they cover the lost item from checked baggage during the travel.
good luck.
PS:
i'm inclined to add this note...is that person you sent the laptop with one of your close relative or friend?
if not, how much trust do you have in this person? is it remotely possible that this is his doing? just saying. you have to look at this possibility as well.
I know it’s of no use now, but the laptop should have been hand carried ![]()
Definitely file a complaint with the airlines, but I don’t know if you’re going to have much luck. Be prepared to be asked for a receipt or invoice for the laptop and a lot of headache/hassle.
I’m sorry this happened to you
well mushkil hai k ab wapis miley as khattichic said, bht serr dard n waste of time hai
But aap complaint zarur krein, its ur right !
PIA Zindabad !!!
wow, that sucks. was there any personal information and photos on the laptop? was it locked?
The airline was Emirates. . The person is honest n trustworthy. . I did have lots of pics mostly of my son but a few random pics of our family. . I know its almost impossible to get it back but I really cant bear to lose all those beautiful memories :( And currently we're going through a financial stress + with 2 kids it seems like it will be almost a lifetime before we can afford to buy a new laptop:(
:(
The airline was Emirates. . The person is honest n trustworthy. . I did have lots of pics mostly of my son but a few random pics of our family. . I know its almost impossible to get it back but I really cant bear to lose all those beautiful memories :( And currently we're going through a financial stress + with 2 kids it seems like it will be almost a lifetime before we can afford to buy a new laptop:(
i'm sorry to hear about your situation. iA, things will get better. may Allah make it easier for you to replace your laptop. aameen
i'm surprised that it happened with Emirates Airlines. this makes me to believe that the theft probably took place after landing in Pakistan. If you know a highly placed police officer or a civil servant like District Magistrate, he may be quite helpful in the recovery of your laptop.
did you check with him if his credit card company will cover the loss if he bought his ticket on a credit card. some credit card types [like gold cards] and credit card companies cover the theft during travel.
Please don’t think like that. Inshallah Allah is going to give you thousand times money that you probably lost through that laptop
And don’t worry about the memories too. Pray for the health and long life for everyone around you. May Allah make you create hundreds and hundreds of such memories with your love ones over and over again
Please don't think like that. Inshallah Allah is going to give you thousand times money that you probably lost through that laptop
And don't worry about the memories too. Pray for the health and long life for everyone around you. May Allah make you create hundreds and hundreds of such memories with your love ones over and over again
yes bro...*jaan kaa sadqa maal *
yes :k:
im really sorry to hear that i can understand personal info memories ofcourse it sucks
the one big mistake u made was putting the laptop in your luggage i sent a expensive laptop to pakistan couple of months ago in a laptop case same as u my husband freind took it but made sure it was with him through the whole journey
i'm sorry to hear about your situation. iA, things will get better. may Allah make it easier for you to replace your laptop. aameen
i'm surprised that it happened with Emirates Airlines. this makes me to believe that the theft probably took place after landing in Pakistan. If you know a highly placed police officer or a civil servant like District Magistrate, he may be quite helpful in the recovery of your laptop.
did you check with him if his credit card company will cover the loss if he bought his ticket on a credit card. some credit card types [like gold cards] and credit card companies cover the theft during travel.
He didn't purchase it with a credit card
Please don't think like that. Inshallah Allah is going to give you thousand times money that you probably lost through that laptop
And don't worry about the memories too. Pray for the health and long life for everyone around you. May Allah make you create hundreds and hundreds of such memories with your love ones over and over again
Thanks n jazakAllah for ur comforting words...