just read this on fb
Misbah Ul HAQ will Annouce Retirment On 29 Fenruary 2013 .
South Africa Series will be his Last Series ![]()
just read this on fb
Misbah Ul HAQ will Annouce Retirment On 29 Fenruary 2013 .
South Africa Series will be his Last Series ![]()
Re: misbah ul haq retirment
Yaar Inshallah to bol dia karo is tarah ki achi baatein karte hue
^lol....its not a leap year
awwwwwwwwwww....am gonna miss tuk tuk...
In all seriousness, the guy is a hard nosed competitor, a fighter to the end, and a gentleman.
ok tht was a stupid joke I am sorry
^ :pcg:
Deviji and Aaaaaaaliyaaaaa, I still enjoy the Tuk Tuk jokes. Keep them coming:)
I'm really unsure how to comment on this. His "Tuk Tuk" style of playing has always been nerve-racking and has definitely cost us a couple of certain wins. On the other hand he has single-handedly won us some very closely competed matches too.
So overall I'd just say: Misbah all the best for your future endeavours whatever they might be.
Misbah is an arabic name meaning "Light".
He is undoubtedly the light at the end of the tunnel. Unfortunately sometimes the tunnel never ends and you keep waiting for the light! :D
Still he is a good captain in Tests for sure. If he were to retire sooner than expected than it should only be from the limited format. But Like Umer bhai I wish him all the best and successful remaining career!
Lets boost his confidence and give him some man of the match awards! :)
The odds of Pakistani batsmen successfully negotiating the moving ball in South Africa are not that great. It is a smart move to leave before the daggers come out.
This is not confirmed news yet
I think we still need Misbah for tests (for his cool and calm captaincy more than anything-else) and he should only retire from ODIs (he has already retired from T20)
A hard-working cricketer, a thorough professional and a true gentleman both on and off the field ... proof that there is no substitue for education!
If he does leave in Feb, he will become only the second Pak cricketer in recent times (after Imran Khan) to go on his own terms
He deserves an award, Tuk Tuk Player of the Millenium Award (yeh mein nahin keh raha) ![]()
LAHORE - Former Pakistan players said it was surprising to see that Misbah-ul-Haq’s contribution to the team’s success was not found good enough for recognition at the annual PCB awards ceremony held in Lahore last week.
While Saeed Ajmal and Mohammad Hafeez walked with most of the awards, Misbah was ignored by the three-member committee formed to select the winners.
“It is disappointing to see that someone like easily enough Pakistan’s most successful captain has not been acknowledged by the PCB,” former captain** Rashid Latif** said.
“It is sad that we have always tended to overlook the contribution of Misbah to Pakistan cricket. He has led the side maturely at a time when Pakistan cricket was going through its worst crisis.
“But being a gentleman he has not protested. If I had been in his place or any other cricketer would definitely have protested over this injustice,” Latif added.
Latif also said that although critics do not like Misbah’s style of play, he would have selected him for all three formats.
Misbah, 38, has gone through a torrid time while leading Sui Northern Gas team in the final of the Presidents Trophy as everytime he walked onto the field, a small group of spectators threw taunts at him by calling him ‘Tuk Tuk’.
Former Test batsman Mohsin Khan also felt that it was injustice that the PCB had not recognized Misbah’s contribution to the team at the annual awards.
He should have been given a special award. Because I know from close how well he has managed the team and kept the players together and made them play like a unit,” Mohsin said.
He pointed out that in 2010 and 2011 Misbah had shouldered the Pakistan batting for most of the time.
“It was the first time the annual awards were held and Misbah was not given any award this is sheer carelessness from the board.”
Mohsin said Misbah had led Pakistan to a 3-0 Test whitewash of England and also a one-day series win in India and these achievements were enough to warrant him a award.
Another former captain Mushtaq Mohammad said Pakistan’s Test and one-day teams still needed someone like Misbah.
“He brings a stable influence to the team and in the dressing room. The team needs to have a batsman like him at one end specially in Test cricket who can bat for long periods. We have enough stroke makers in the team to take command from other end,” Mushtaq said.
one of the most level headed pakistani cricketer !!
^they are right! I don't get why everyone is so mean to him, he is such a calm gentleman....he has never said anything back to all the mean stuff said to him by the media and pak cricket fans....look how Afridi reacted to that reporter at the airport.....but NEVER Misbah.
Shame on PCB. He is the most successful captain of 2012 (tests) compared to the others, he is always balanced...he does not let the pressure get to him, and tries to keep everyone else balanced as well.
I agree with the ex-cricketers, he is the calm influence in the team, he has stabilized the team on enough occasions, yes I do agree there are quiet a few matches that we have lost thanks to his style of play but then again there more then enough occasions when he has won us matches. I guess Misbah is not like in our part of the world because you are expected to have a mercurial and in your face attitude to be a star here.
If this news is true you will definitely be missed MISBAH :Salutes:
I agree with the ex-cricketers, he is the calm influence in the team, he has stabilized the team on enough occasions, yes I do agree there are quiet a few matches that we have lost thanks to his style of play but then again there more then enough occasions when he has won us matches. I guess Misbah is not like in our part of the world because you are expected to have a mercurial and in your face attitude to be a star here.
If this news is true you will definitely be missed MISBAH :Salutes:
you only have to win few matches with blasting performance for an award :)
In all seriousness, the guy is a hard nosed competitor, a fighter to the end, and a gentleman.
Yeah for the other teams