Misbah, Afridi in ODI captaincy race

Re: Misbah, Afridi in ODI captaincy race

I think you should watch your language - we try to keep it clean here...

so please stop bashing players un necessarily as well...

I remember your comment which went like this ‘playeres underperformed because they don’t want Afridi to be captain’ after 1st ODI, in another thread you said Younis wants Misbah to captain, you clearly are a confused boy :hehe: you are only excited because Afridi scored a 50+ with good strike rate.

Hey man I'll bash whatever cricketer I want. Punter, Jadeja or Afridi. It's a cricket forum... why can't I bash any cricketer that I don't like?

When Afridi came to the wicket, the acceleration had already begun thanks to Umar Akmal. The score was a comfortable 202/5 and both Umar and Afridi could therefore attack, happy in the knowledge that only 7 or 8 overs were left. Yes Afridi played some great shots in the end, taking nothing away from his innings, but I give Umar greater credit for the acceleration here. Do you really think that Afridi would have been able to play that sort of innings if he had arrived at the wicket @ 130 or 140/5. I think not.

Agreed Misbah should have done better at milking singles and twos but not everyone can bat like Miandad! Miandad was also a consolidator rather than an outright hitter but he was a genius at placement and finding gaps in the field etc.

I really likes Misbah in the Tests. But I just did not get his strategy of giving so many dot balls. There was a stage when for 3-4 consecutive overs, he got a single off the last ball. Thankfully, Hafeez kept his cool, and kept producing runs whenever he got an opportunity.

One cannot expect Umar and Afridi to have brilliant games every time. When this strategy works, it feels good. But to have a #5 batsman who just clogs the middle so much is a huge risk.

Form is one thing - maybe it will return by the time the World Cup comes around. But Misbah's ultra defensive approach is not needed in ODIs, irrespective of whether he is in or out of form.

As for team unity, it looked like both Misbah (in tests) and Afridi (in ODIs) have the players' support. So all the discord may be getting blown out of proportion. (Journalists need to make a living too).

I think umar akmal deserves a lot of credit. Afridi deserves it too, but he was batting under less pressure. and thats why I didnt mention Afridi a lot, its a typical innings from him. Afridi is a wildcard. This is his expected role.. he earns this kind of innings by failing twenty times. Thats why my opinion about Afridi hasnt changed, he is a good ODI player, who once in a while bats like a monster.

I do think we can do better in the consolidation department than what we saw. Between Misbah and Younus I think younus is better at it, and a better overall batsman. Too bad about his shot selection recently.

So we still have people who want Misbah as captain? :hmmm:

I think Misbah kee himayat “hub-e-Ali” main nahi bal k “bughz-e-mavia” main ho rahee hai :slight_smile:

Even if I have to select anyone else other than Afridi to lead the side from current 15 (given that Younus is not ready to become captain), I’d select Kamran Akmal or Umer Gul and not Misbah.

First let Afridi win the series in NZ

His appointment should be contingent on the series result....no ifs or buts....about time he won a series as captain...

Thats exactly what we should NOT do. We are already too late to announce captain for WC. Appointment of captain should not depend on the result of this series. Its too late to "Test and try" the captain.

I was being sarcastic. I would take Misbah over Afridi as captain in any format any day but with the WC being so close, (reluctantly) agree that Afridi should stay as captain regardless of the series result. Now is not the right time to change the ODI captain. PCB should have thought about it atleast 4-6 months ago

Dumping afridi even now is not going to be a big deal. in over a year since he has been captain he has lost more games than he has won, he has not won a series and we expect him to lead us as a astute captain in WC, yeah right. There is more chance of seeing pigs fly, than Afridi providing the required leadership in WC. However if he is appointed captain, for the sake of Pakistan cricket we will have to get behind him and hope that Pakistan will do well despite Afridi.

Exactly.

As I have said before, I am not a big fan of Afridi but its too late now and that too with the only alternate available is Misbah who was not even in ODI team for almost a year in fact in any kind of team...

Oh bhai ....I doubt PCB will change anything...they're just putting pressure on fridi...It will be Afridi....and Misbah and YK will play under him....now and in WC...

You're right. PCB management and in particular Ijaz Butt have such big egos that they want to run the national team like a village school class minus the danda or hidayatullah. This is nothing but one big drama on their part to show the players who the real boss is, that VVIP curse is there to stay...

At this time it will be unwise to drop Afridi as Captain...that should have been done in 2010... :)