MIS jobs

I have been visiting the career center, went through internship programs, looked online, talked to people but it seems like theres no MIS jobs. I cant think of one person that i know of who got a job right after a bachelors in MIS. Is it like this everywhere? I know that detroits job market isnt getting any better in general but I feel like i have wasted four years of my life getting a worth-less degree. Oh and is Human Resources any better?

Re: MIS jobs

MIS was hot in the 90s. MIS 4 years.... depends on what you know. The degree does not matter. The knowledge has to be kept updated. Human Resourse will always be a part of every company. It always be hot. But still your practical knowledge in the field of MIS is what matters the most. Not your grades of four years. Gain experience.

the experience part is easier said than done. I have been looking for an MIS internship since last year, still no luck. Oh and the office had one internship position last semester and i think hundreds are in the MIS program.

Wish you good luck

Is MIS, Master in Information Systems?

aur nahi tau kya, Masters in Insaani Systems?

I thought it was Management Info Systems??

I am not exactly sure what the degree is all about, but I know one thing for sure: there are alot of HR jobs out there. While looking for work in my area, I was sometimes thinking I should ve gone for a degree in HR or better yet accounting (good salaries). So I say keep trying. you know never know when you can get lucky.

Whooooooooooooopz!!! you are right Ira. This is what GS does to you after two years :bummer:

internships usually depend on the reputation of your school, in perticular your major in your school. For example, no body goes to hire computer scientists from Yale, though a Yale public policy major will easily get a good internship. And they also depend on where you live.