Mirza Ghalib

I recently watched Mirza Ghalib starring Nasir-ud-din Shah. It was worth the 6 hours some minutes that I spent watching it. I didn’t know a DVD could be that long. The movie gets slow at times but it’s got some excellent ghazals. Jagjit’s voice has done complete justice to Ghalib’s work.
If you have a whole day/night to kill, want some insight on ghalib’s life and want to relax, watch this movie.

ye na thii hamaarii qismat ke visaal-e-yaar hotaa
agar aur jiite rahate yahii intazaar hotaa

i loved it too hayaa.... the quick witted remarks... naseer udin did a splendid job

indeed a superb film! :k: someone took it from home without tellin us :mad:

Re: Mirza Ghalib

*Originally posted by hayaa: *
I recently watched Mirza Ghalib starring Nasir-ud-din Shah. It was worth the 6 hours some minutes that I spent watching it. I didn't know a DVD could be that long. The movie gets slow at times but it's got some excellent ghazals. Jagjit's voice has done complete justice to Ghalib's work.
If you have a whole day/night to kill, want some insight on ghalib's life and want to relax, watch this movie.

Its not a movie.It was actually a TV serial and had many episode.I think the stuff you saw was movie made out of that serial.Yes jagjeet's Ghazal's are brilliant.I have MC of those ghazals. Best is " Her ek baat pe kehte ho ke tu kya hai.... " .He sung it brilliantly. :D

Yep, you are right. It was a serial on Doordarshan( Indian t.v channel) long back. I was a kid back then, so never enjoyed the serial, it was awfully boring for my age(back then). But I remember, my parents loved watching it. :)

Originally posted by Chandbeti: *
Yep, you are right. It was a serial on **Doordarshan
*( Indian t.v channel) long back. I was a kid back then, so never enjoyed the serial, it was awfully boring for my age(back then). But I remember, my parents loved watching it. :)

Abhi aap kitne baras ki ho?

Naseer-ud-din is a brilliant actor.I haven't seen Mirza Ghalib but I'll surely love to see it soon.

definitely a must watch :k: …loved all the ghazals

it was a great tv serial and no doubt naseeruddin shah made it even greater. ghalib's ghazal's by jagjit singh were great but there was this one ghazal/nazam which was Mir Taqi Mir's potry and was sung by another singer named Vinod Sehgal, and was picturized on a faqir singing on the streets. that was one hell of ghazal and vinod sehgal's voice and composition were great. the ghazal was called "patta patta boota boota..." great poetry too.

That Mirza Ghalib CD plays non-stop in my dad’s car. :mad: and its been like this for the last 10 years or so!

haha. Good to hear so many people like the movie/music, including catty :-D. I was hooked on to the ghazals almost 3 years ago and had no clue there existed a movie up until last week.

Every single ghazal is wonderful: dil hi to hay, na sang-o-khisht, dard say bhar na aaey kiyoon and har baat pay kehtay ho tum keh tu kiya hay are a couple amongst many of my favourites.

I hear there were other movies made on Ghalib as well, has anyone seen any of those?

It was indeed very long but very interesting. It is facinating to see that culture with pajamas, ghararas, tangas & Mirza's sharab ki bottle.

is there a place to buy the DVD online?

I WATCHED it long long ago and there are only superlatives to describe it

I saw this serial in the late eighties. Was good. But I wanna watch it again.

The best TV Series I have ever seen. :k:

“hazaaroN KHwahishaiN Aisee ke har KHwahish pe dam nikle
bohot nikle mere armaaN lekin fir bhee kam nikle”

I loved it too even though I haven’t seen it. The ghazals, the acting, the ambience I’m sure they are all wonderful :flower1:

a true masterpiece by gulzar

Awesome:k: