I’ve come across some really interesting and sad parts of the life of Ghalib. How he got married, lost a child, then wife, then friends and was left alone in the end. I’m looking for a comprehensive biography on his life. A book you might recommend because there is no such book here in Qatar so I’ll probably ask someone to bring it from Pakistan or elsewhere. Any suggestions? Has anyone here read his poetry? How did you find it?
Re: Mirza Assad-ul-Allah baig Ghalib
*Originally posted by Sharafat_Ka_Namouna: *
Has anyone here read his poetry? How did you find it?
hain dunya me sukhanwar or bhee bohat acchay
kehte hain ke ghalib ka hai andaz-e-bayan or
yaar how an u ask such a thing about chacha ghalib....
ghalib nahin to urdu hee nahin....
i think theres a movie on him yaar SKN…u could watch that ![]()
i’m not sure if there is a biography but there prolly is…
i’ve read his poetry n luv it…the guy was a genius no doubt :k:
i recently saw this great biography of ghalib written by some western writer but i can't rcall the name or publisher. it seemed a very comprehensive and well researched book.
My cousin has all the episodes of Mirza Ghalib, the serial...it is wonderful...will let you know of books on him in a couple of days :)
just found that its not "Baig" instead its "khan". Mirza Assad-ul-Allah Khan Ghalib.
Daagh, I'll look forward to your PM :-)
There is an excellent drama seriel on the life of Mirza Ghalib. Nasiruddin Shah has done a marevellous job playing the challenging role of Mirza sahib in the drama.
I read one of Mirza Ghalib's biography- dont remmember the name- but it summed up his life quite well. Ever since i read it i have a plan to grab Deewan e Ghalib next time i hit Karachi.