Mirasis

ok

Mirasis have also infiltrated the Film Industry. Most of the background and session musicians are from Mirasi Gharanas and they particularly look down upon the young and upcoming talent which hasn't had a formal education in music... they refer to them as "Atayees".

I've been at the receiving end of this discrimination, having played together with Mirasis, but over time you develop a kind of working relationship where you teach them something they don't know and they open up to accept you as not equals of course, but someone worthy of being seen with when other Mirasis are looking.

Pardon my ignorance but weren't Marasis also responsible for "ristas" and keeping up the family tree of different family in their respected pind (village)?

ok

ok

This is an interesting one. I know of a Mirasi family and they are always taking initiative for holding musical events, or Pakistani stage shows - the first one I ever saw was quite recently and it was the funniest work I have ever seen. the performances were absolutely outstanding and I was in stitches for the whole show.

These probably deserve a thread of their own. NYA, you must have seen a few in your time?

ok

Ahmadi, tooN vee marasi da marassi ee rayeiN ga.

are you talking about a community like janjal poora

The ones I knew NYA called it the 'baja'.. which unfortunately I was learning to play at that time.. you can imagine how much it peeved me to hear my beloved KORG O1-W being referred to as that.

Having had no formal training it was tough standing up to them.. the trick was to accept them as superior in their skills and then slowly, through practice and observation do something different or better to generate their interest.

Not all of them complete their schooling so they do lack a few skills which education offers.. they can count pretty good though..( it's needed in keeping time while playing and also calculating your share of the money.. referred to as "thormay" in "tharRi" slang.) I know one such gentleman who played the acoustic guitar in Shah Noor Studio during the day and in the evenings was willing to tutor any "atayee' who could in turn teach him English!

ok

All I know is taht Mirasi appreciate very much if you call them "Ustad ji"

Dont we all have a bit of Marasi in us?!:hehe:

NYA, wish I could but I'm way down south in houston, enduring all the cow'n'tree music.

You seem to be involved with the more 'classical' miraasis. The families I am familiar with are more upto snuff with the latest tricks of the trade.. they love synths and what they can do for them, but still wouldn't let a family member starve.. so you'd have all the violinists plus the four synth guys giving you the strings in any background and now you know where that horrendous sound comes from in punjabi movie soundtracks.

The drummer I played with was Tafu's son.. Tafu himself is a tabla player, but all his sons took to drumming.. there was indeed a change in the air for the families and the way they embraced the 80's.

ok

I have't seen this much love since roman got his post deleted in Religion. Damn!

ok

NYA Yaar: Jalnay ki baat nahin hai. It would be cool if PA can come to NYC for a visit. He would have to leave the Mirasi outfit on the Jersey side though!

Did I say Rom? I meant RAM.

Mirasis were really standup commedians. See we knew this art of stand up commedy long before goras did and even assigned a profeesion for it.. Mirasipuna.

o balay balay, mera Chann chariya!

Ahmadi, don't pretend. It was you who deleted it. I know you have a soft corner for mod bhai in your heart.