Jaisa Bhi hai, set hai :k:
Regarding the choice for cabinet, I must say that I am utterly and totally disappointed! ![]()
No less than SIX lotas from the PPP forward bloc among the 21 , not to mention the other corrupt individuals.
The make-up of that cabinet is nothing but down-right shamefull!!
Not to mention offensive to the people of pakistan.
A cabinet full of the corrupt and the lotas! And they got key posts like Interior and Water and Power and even Defence!!
Is this what we have been constantly promised by General Musharraf throughout the last 3 years???
The new cabinet is a great big insult to the entire population of Pakistan, NO less!!
All positive feelings about Jamali flying out of the window
Welcome to the future of Pakistan. Or should I say welcome back to the future of Pakistan because it looks no different from the **Past **.
Anybody here who thinks that being a member of a former cabinet qualifies a person for becoming a minister ought to sift through the 200 speeches of General Musharraf and find out what exactly he has been saying about just those cabinets.
So like I said, Welcome back to the future of Pakistan. ![]()
Ahmed
You forgot to mention decent cabinet members of the Govt.
Dr. Prof Atta-ur-Rahman.
Zubeida Jalal.
Shaukat Azia.
Newly elected Govt. is fully of Lotas and Corrupts, I agree but there are decent people as well.
Like I said before:
In this business[Politics], you gotta have little dirt on you for anybody to trust you ;)
I think I've been an ostrich for a week, with my head in the ground, and i'm taking it out just now.
WHEN did this happen??? He worked with Zia darnit, how roshan-khayaal can he be??
Vaisay, Mir Zafarullah Jamali---does this mean our new PM is a sayyid --descendent of our Beloved Master Prophet Muhammad sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam?
sorry guys, I haven't read thru the more lengthy replies...but Asif, what in the world do you mean by this comment? Are you telling me that somewhere God promised that all descendents of the Prophet will be holy and good, and worthy to rule an socio-pol-economic mess called Pakistan?
Dude, seriously...
Anyhoo, how are Chaudry Shujaat and the Orange-turbaned Fazl taking the news?
Pakistani Tiger,
FYI, Prof. Atta Ur Rehman is not there in the cabinet anymore. Now we have Izzat Maab Jinab Awais Leghari in his place. He was the only really decent guy in the previous cabinet. And maybe that's why he didn't get to be in this one.
Whether or not the other two gentleman/lady are decent or not is a matter of opinion. And Jamali didn't choose them anyway. I could name other decent choices which were made by him. But all that doesn't make any difference to my views.
My views are for the cabinet as a WHOLE , so they stand. Totally.
Well, Ahmed, remember that Mush is still pulling the strings here in reality. I'm not even sure how much weight Jamali will be pulling in political matters...he might just be a puppet...
I think I want to see what some of their policies will be and what they can get accomplished before I dismiss the cabinet completely.
Kabhi Kabhi ultha aadmi seedha raasta chal jaa tha hai, agar uss ke sar par danda ho...
So, we have a chamcha of former President Leghari ![]()
Is Dawood Razzaq in the Cabinet as well?
I may have to agree with you but you gotta be agree with me as well.
In this business[Politics], you gotta have little dirt on you for anybody to trust you
Without Lotas and Chors, do you really think Govt. would be stable? I for once, believe that if Army keeps her Danda on them, maybe things turn out in favor of Pakistan.
I don’t blame the whole Cabinet useless and hypocrites because it involves some decent people, who really are hard working and blaming them along with Lotas and Chors, is ridiculous.
He is the son of the elder leghari.
As for Dawood Razaq, are you going to walk me through the entire list of Mush ministers? ![]()
I am not Jang or Dawn. Check Jang or Dawn. ![]()
And no he is not.
Sorry I can’t agree with that.
We also have to look at the proportion of the lotas and the corrupt. It is really quite high in this cabinet to be ignored. If due to limitations he chose a good cabinet with an odd bad apple than maybe that could be swallowed but not THIS.
I am not blaming any decent people. I repeat my view are for the cabinet as a WHOLE, and I have already considered what little decent inclusions it has.
We have to look at he picture as a whole. We can’t accept 10 chors for 1 decent guy. SO my views stand.
This cabinet is a great big Insult to he the entire People of Pakistan, NO less!!
Abay, elder Leghari who? You mean the former President Farooq Leghair. If that is, Cool then.
I couldn’t find the article regarding Jamali’s Minister, not Mush yaara ![]()
Take it easy, dude.
Well, this could be figure out as well when the Corruption report for 2003 comes out.
Wait and Watch.
You just did.
I agree with that. But Danda is there as well. So, my views stands as well ![]()
With Faisal Saleh, Rao Sikandar, Sherpao and people like them in the cabinet, don't hold your breaths for any meaningful improvement in governmance... They are all proven corrupt politicians and due to the hotch-potch of coalition politics they are awarded for supporting the minority Prime Minister. I expect a substantial increase in corruption at the highest level, who will be looking forward to recoup their investments with substantial profits.
Jamali, himself may be an ok person, but he is saddled with such an obnoxious mixture of coalition partners - PPPPP, National League, PML (Z) and other independant horses not to include the biggest corrupt leaders who are in PML (Q) itself - that it will be impossible for Musharraf to continue his reforms, and reign-in the corrupt practices of the past.
Looking at this cabinet, is like taking a trip back in time. All the horrors of previous BB and NS governments have joined forces to come back and haunt/loot our country. This new experience with democracy doesn't seem to be going too far any more. We are back to square one, except this time, the worst and the lowest of scums of all parties have joined together in the government.
I am beginning to think that may be MMA would have been better had they been successful in reaching an agreement with PPPP. Atleast they would have been a breath of fresh air. This one seems like continuation of our nightmare since 1988.
I read somewhere very recently that our new PM Mr. Jamali, used to be a personal bodyguard for our mother of the nation Fatima Jinnah, I completely forgot where I read it. Can anyone please confirm this for me. Thankx in advance...
Hmmm…dunno about that. But it has been widely reported that Jamali’s uncle Jaffar Jamali was a leading member of the Pakistan Movement and a close confidante of the Quaid.
Here is an article which calls on people and politicians to drop the animosiity and recklessness of the past, and work together to further democracy, and development in Pakistan.
Working in harmony for Pakistan
With Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali swearing in as Prime Minister and the subsequent formation of the cabinet, power has transferred to the new government. The most distinguished feature of this power transfer has been the smooth manner in which its various steps were completed. President Pervez Musharraf rightly referred to this fact while addressing the parliamentarians in the Iftar reception he held for them. Never had the transfer of power been so smooth, he stated, and no issue can be taken with him on this score. Pakistan’s history is replete with instances when power transition took place in hostile situations and under acrimonious circumstances. Another unprecedented tradition that has been set pertains to the voluntary conceding of power by the President. After all, it has not been a norm here that a ruler decides to transfer his powers while sitting firmly in his office. President Musharraf has done a commendable job by opting for power sharing in the best interest of the country, no matter what views his distracters hold against him. After a hiatus of three years, parliament has once again come into being and started functioning. This is good omen for the future of democracy in this country, which has had unpleasant encounters with political chaos. This makes it incumbent upon the newly-elected members of the parliament to jettison their past animosities, shun their obstinacies and overcome their personal hang ups to become part of the process of ushering in sustainable democracy.
Sheikh Rashid Ahmad, the member elected to the house from Rawalpindi, pointed to this imperative of forging unity and working for a stable Pakistan in his thought-provoking speech delivered on the occasion of the election of Speaker. He rightly observed that now that the country had been put on the road to democracy, it was imprudent to cling to the old, discredited trait of indulging in political skirmishes, for this would only earn a bad name to the new parliament, besides casting the parliamentarians in poor light. His urging was necessitated by the mudslinging to which some members of the parliament restored to score political points. The provocative discourse adopted by these members was not compatible with the demands of the auspicious occasion of the unfolding of the new parliament. But more than that, it only served to conjure up a very poor image of the caliber of the parliamentarians before the public in general, and the foreign media in particular. The point is that the new government, which has been formed under the leadership of Mir Zafarullah Jamali, who hails from the smallest province in terms of population and is known for his gentlemanly attitude, should be given a fair chance to prove his worth. If the parties who are sitting in the opposition start off with a predetermined mindset bordering on their wish to unravel this government, Pakistan could suffer immensely. This kind of attitude has cost this country dearly, in both political and economic terms; if this mindset is not shunned in favour of a better sense of cooperation for the country’s wellbeing, God forbid, more disasters could befall this country. At the same time, it is ironical that even without waiting for the new government to start functioning, some political analysts have begun to make cynical remarks about the new government and are busy in projecting bleak scenarios. It defies sense how could such dismal prognosis be made when the new PM is yet to unfold the government’s direction. It would be grossly unfair to make assumptions of his being deficient in the matter of exercise of power. No, the new PM has not been restrained in use of his authority; the supremacy of the parliament holds sway, and so is the power of the leader of the house. The impression, as willfully projected by some quarters, that the NSC will undermine the parliament is wrong, for it will have among its members civilian representatives, who, in fact, will outnumber the members from the military, and will only render advice to parliament on important national issues. The Article 58 (2)b, in its modified form, will be used by the NSC, not the president, as was the case in the past.
It goes without saying that only a PM or a government that has gone irredeemably awry will be checked by the use of this clause; a dispensation that has the interest of the country at its heart needs not to harbour any apprehensions. Going by the talk of the President and the PM to the press, it appears that both of them are imbibed with the spirit of service to this country and there is a good bond of understanding between them on the matters of national importance. This is a good augury for the country, which needs an enduring spell of political tranquility and inner provincial harmony. Sarcasm has been poured on Mir Jamali’s faith in the present policies regarding the economy and devolution of power, etc. What is the harm if he believes that President Musharraf’s policies must continue? It makes no sense to abandon policies if they are accruing benefits to the country. Just for the sake of criticism, we cannot take umbrage at the new government’s intention to keep the good work achieved by the military government going. Take for example, the economic recovery being brought about the previous setup’s policies, which is evident from the release of the latest tranche by the IMF and the general appreciation of the economic policies of the outgoing government by the international financial institutions. The same holds true for the projects like Gawadar seaport, Saindak, Mirani, Mangla Dam, etc, which will take time for fruition. Why these should be stopped when their impact on the economy is not lost on every one with a modicum of sense? On the external front, can any body in his or her right sense argue for Pakistan’s isolation from the rest of the world? Why should Mir Zarfarullah Jamali and his team refuse to pursue a foreign policy that has yielded benefits to the country? With the war on Iraq looming, it becomes more important that all centers of power act in unison in view of the impending changes in the world, not least with regard to the occupied Kashmir. It would thus be uncharitable to assume that this or that institution will run under the show of the other. Nobody will be eclipsed if the target is to safeguard Pakistan’s interests. One is sorry to observe that the fact of a peaceful transfer of power to a civil dispensation and the subsequent shifting of authority to the leader of the house has been marred by accusations by the parties, which took part in the elections held under LFO. This is worst hypocrisy that you un-hesitantly take part in an activity held under an arrangement, which you call illegitimate. The parties that are now raising hue and cry to undo LFO are guilty of adopting this duality. By taking oath under a constitution that has LFO as its part, they are, in fact, trying to cut that branch of the tree on which they are perched. That said, it is the time to take a break from unnecessary squabbles and focus on tackling the problems confronting this country. It constitutes no sin to work within a system which has a mechanism of checks and balances and which is based on the imperative of continuing national policies. Going by our past history of national policies having been interrupted as a consequence of a change in government, which resulted in loss to the country, Mir Zafarullah Jamali and his men are expected to pursue what is in the interest of the country, in harmony with a President who has transferred power in a democratic way.
Yup i read it too...Jamali was made Fatima Jinnahs personal body guard during her election campaign in the 60's.
Considering how much Quaid e Azams sister opposed Military Dictatorship, it is surprising to know Jamali was close to Zia ul HAq.
PyariCGudia…I just asked if someone could confirm whether Mr. Jamali sahib was a sayyid or not since he has the prefix “Mir” to his name. That’s all.
If he IS a sayyid then alhamdulillah I will respect him for the simple fact that he has the most noble of all blood running in his veins! subhan Allah.
We have to love the Ahlul Bayt and the Aal of the Beloved Messenger alayhisalatusalaam. It is a part of imaan.
Of course, I am not saying that the very fact that he is a sayyid automatically makes him a good leader for us but I am respecting him for his noble lineage. Also I saw a photo of
Jamali sahib kissing his thumbs after the juma’h namaz: alhamdulillah he is a Sunni!
No, Jamali wasn't Fatima Jinnah's body guard.
He was the body guard of his uncle Mir Jaafar Jamali, who was a key supporter of Fatima Jinnah's in balochistan during her election campaign against Ayub Khan. But since they rode together during election rallies , Zafrullah Jamali was there protecting the leaders which included Fatima Jinnah simply because they were guests of Mir Jaafar Jamali.
At that time he was doing no more than the normal task for a tribal youth, i.e. protecting his Sardar. It won't be correct to say he was Fatima Jinnah's body guard.
Just putting the facts straight.....
*Originally posted by Asif: *
If he IS a sayyid then alhamdulillah I will respect him for the simple fact that he has the most noble of all blood running in his veins! subhan Allah.
We have to love the Ahlul Bayt and the Aal of the Beloved Messenger alayhisalatusalaam. It is a part of imaan.
... for all +ve and -ve points of jamali being lineage of anyone doesnt make any differece and it may be a part of ur iman but as a muslim its nothing to do with blood at all.. it would had made no difference if Jamali had just coverted from hinduism or jewish religion.. infact those who convert recently have much higher iman than those born muslims.. what about Hazrat Bilal Habshi ..was his darja lower than any who claim some lineage? how sad in this age peopel still think born in some family or lineage make them higher in respect tahn other human beings.. this piri muridi drama of jahaliat have done enough damage.. I have many friends who are Sayyid Pirs in pakistan and I know what is all that topi drama!
Kasuri: From Lawyer to Foreign Minister
I’d have to agree with Zakk on that
Why not Kasuri Minister of Law & Order?
Jamali was the guard of Madar-e-Millet, its true... There was also a picture in the dawn about that... He looked very young in that one...
*Originally posted by Shak killS: *
has ever in pakistan history PPP accepted its defeat? never they always blame rigging. if there was massive rigging then the so called kings party could have swept through, but these elections brought the real elected one(good or bad).
the local badmash knew he cant cope with PM post so it was his wise step to nominate JAmali.
PPP was a real political force with real bhutto. this bhutto only destroyed its immage! now get the results mate.
shujaat may be a local thug but what will you name MR 10----50%???
Shak Sahib, I never said the PPP regime consisted of angels... However, there is a slight different... The PML(N) goons, who looted Pakistan extensivly (10 times worse than the PPP) split into two factions, one of which has been elected by the dictator to serve his own needs. How can we declare that people like Shujaat (local Gujrati Badmaash) are angels, like some people here, who are loyal mushy fans are saying. Its obvious the elections were rigged, Im not saying this because I believe the PPP was destined to win, but the PML(Q) was as hated as the PML(N). Jerks like Tariq Aziz (who now sent his wife to plunder) and other chamchas do not deserve to be in our parliament one more time. There are alot of people in the ruling government, who got rid of their loyalty to nawaz sharif and kissed the royal feet of a dictator to get into power. It is obvious that the people in Pakistan do not support such crooks at all.