Minorities............in Islam!

Remember, Islam is represented by Prophet Mohammed, so listen to his words in this letter to Christians:

**"This is a message from Muhammad ibn Abdullah, as a covenant to those who adopt Christianity, near and far, we are with them. Verily I, the servants, the helpers, and my followers defend them, because Christians are my citizens; and by God! I hold out against anything that displeases them.

N****o compulsion is to be on them. Neither are their judges to be removed from their jobs nor their monks from their monasteries.

No one is to destroy a house of their religion, to damage it, or to carry anything from it to the Muslims’ houses. Should anyone take any of these, he would spoil God’s covenant and disobey His Prophet. Verily, they are my allies and have my secure charter against all that they hate.

No one is to force them to travel or to oblige them to fight. The Muslims are to fight for them. If a female Christian is married to a Muslim, it is not to take place without her approval. She is not to be prevented from visiting her church to pray.

Their churches are to be respected. They are neither to be prevented from repairing them nor the sacredness of their covenants. No one of the nation (Muslims) is to disobey the covenant till the Last Day (end of the world)."**

source
Letter to all Christians from Prophet Muhammad - National Islam | Examiner.com

Re: Minorities............in Islam!

ok PD, what is your question precisely?

do we need to post a "question" in every thread? .. .isnt it very clear that we in Pakistan are not treating our minorities well and here is what Prophet PBUH had to say about minorities...do i need to bash Pakistan on Aug 14 first and then post this message?

anywway so you want to know what is my question precisely.....my question is "what is your problem precisely chughtai"

AsSalaamo Alaikum brother,

Please don't bash on my friend who asked a valid question. What was asked is stated policy. You shared something very nice, and appreciation-worthy. It would have been even better to state towards the end what you have just said. If you make it Pakistan specific, then it will get moved to Pakistan Affairs. Aren't the words of Rasool Allah (s.a.w.) equally applicable to muslims everywhere in these times? That is more relevant to this part of the forum.

We can start off this August 14th holiday by starting to be more tolerant of each other virtually, then translate that into our lives off cyberspace.

As for what you posted, there is no doubt that Rasool Allah (s.a.w.) was the most generous, and the most ideal role model for us all to follow; in his speech and in actions.

Fair point teggy....I apologize to Chughtai.

In the past I have been accused several times for Pak/Islam bashing (and i believe it is not Pak or islam bashing on my part but it is my frustration on sad affairs) and I did not want to include anything negative while posting such a beautiful, generous and open-minded message by Prophet PBUH....a true face of islam and prophet which our mullahs dont want to share with our masses. Subhan ALLAH..you read this message and you realize why islam spread so quickly and today we are not willing to accommodate anything.......

It's an affliction that some of us are facing. Some muslims are living according to the seerah of Rasool Allah (s.a.w.). I mean, the most basic thing any of us can do is to just approach our neighbors at random, whether they're muslims or not, and just share a meal with them or invite them over for supper. A small gesture on our part, but its' effects will be such that they will themselves start to ask about our beliefs, and give us the opportunity to clear a lot of misconceptions. This is something I am guilty of, and hope to rectify but It's an uphill battle because bad habits die hard.

I'm not sure what it is. It's either that we feel it's an awkward thing to do, or just not "acceptable" in the urban environments that we live in. But I do believe in parts of the world everywhere, there are muslims who do this and I bet they are appreciated by their respective communities.

What you have said is a reminder for us all to inspect ourselves, and see where we stand. Using the seerah of beloved Rasool Allah (s.a.w.) as the blueprint, we can build our personalities to perfection in terms of etiquettes, and our dealings with Humanity at large.

isii liye Huzoor [saws] apnii Hayaat ke aaKhirii jum'at-ul-vidaa' meN farmaayaa thaa k [jiskaa mafhoom hai]:
agar tum Qur'aan aur Hadees kii rassii ko mazbootii se thaame rakkhoge to kabhii gumraah nahiiN ho sakte.**

Hai'f aur sad Hai'f k aaj ham donoN ko hii yaksar bhulaa baiThe haiN yaa chhoR baiThe haiN. SaHeeH deen se hamaarii doorii hii hamaarii barbaadii aur tanazzul kaa sabab hai.

yaa Allah! ham sab ko saHeeH deen par chalne kii taufeeq aur hidaayat farmaa...aameen

Hazrat PD,

Aap to ghusey mein hi aa gaye. I just wanted you to clearly mention the point to be discussed so that not so smart people like myself could post their views/responses.

Minorities have rights as evident from your opening post. People who on one pretext or another oppress minorities as if they are performing a religious duty, in my view, are agnostics. They do that for ulterior worldly motives. If they have a shred of 'fear of Allah', they would not have dared to do what they do to others, killing, torturing, burning houses and so many horrible things we see done in the name of religion

What was the Arabic used in the letter ... ???

janab i already apolgized to you in post 5

Re: Minorities…in Islam!

I’m chiming in here, only because you state that it is agnostics that are oppressing minorities. Not only are you completely wrong, but you’re contra-indicated by current events. You should understand what agnostic means: Agnosticism - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Also, since I’m chiming in already: The prophet only allowed certain latitude for, as is indicated by the above, for those that were supposedly monotheistic, namely Christians and Jews. If you were not, you did not have any rights.

What are duties and responsibilty of muslims if they are minority?

Re: Minorities…in Islam!

Looks like you did not even bother to read what kchughtai said or misunderstood it completely.

Do you have any reference regarding the rights of those who were not monotheistic?

The same as other minorities.

And what if they are only minority?

Please name a country that has only one minority, and while at it also mention who the majority are and who the minority.

But that is exactly not required for a hypothetical question

and what are those responsibilities?