Minister confirms Mush in contact with PPPP

The less said the better:

PML mulls poll alliance with PPPP, MQM

Salim Saifullah confirms president’s contacts with Benazir

Staff Reporter

PESHAWAR: Inter-Provincial Coordination Minister Salim Saifullah Khan Thursday confirmed that President General Pervez Musharraf was in contact with the Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians. The minister also said the ruling Pakistan Muslim League could sign an electoral alliance with Benazir Bhutto and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement for the 2007general elections.

Speaking at a press conference, the minister thanked the PPPP for supporting the government on the Women Protection Bill (WPB) and said that PML could enter into an electoral alliance with Ms Bhutto-led PPPP and MQM. “I do confess that we have contacts with PPPP. Let me make it clear that such kind of contacts is part of the election activity. I foresee an electoral adjustment between the PML, the PPPP and the MQM,” Mr Saifullah remarked.

About the government-MQM differences, he said the PML had no objection if Altaf Hussain wanted to extend his party to other provinces but holding protest rallies against the ruling league was not praiseworthy.

Re: Minister confirms Mush in contact with Benazir

The dictator is desperate to get himslef 'elected' again as President.

He will make an alliance with anyone who he can use for this.

TheRealDeal - pls excuse me for saying so, but why you are always against Musharaf? I don't like dictators also and I think he should go away but what alternatives exist?

is that an ‘alliance’? I mean its collection of almost all the lotas/parties, alliance against who? MMA? :hehe:

lol so BB is now losing favours with all those who were suddenly praising her just because she used to oppose mushy lol

good question

The answer is a proper democratic system allowed to develop without Army interference. One that will mature and allow Pakistan to take its place alongside flourishing and civilzed countries around the world!

An Armed Force that are thoroughly professional, un corrupt and able to defend the country properly, from Waziristan to Kashmir

Inshallah one day this will happen :jhanda:

Today a PPP senator was actually praising the govts stand om Afghanistan and the Taliban etc... So perhaps we might be seeing a Army PPP marriage soon?!?!?!
I personally like the PPP minus BB...

As long as everyone works for Pakistan... dat is the imporrant thing.. as for war on terrosim we had no choice.. no matter who the leader would have been at the time.

Hah! the dictator *will remain the supreme commander; it's the PPP, MMA and various others who sell their souls to get 'elected'!
And besides, even if the dictator is desperate to get *elected
, his seeking alliance with severe opposers of only a few months ago (remeber the CoD hype just few months ago?) shows and proves a bit too much about these democratic *parties, their *lifelong chairpersons, and all leaders. What does all that say about them!?

In 2002 the MMA was lucky to cosy up with the General, but their misbehaviour and duplicity throughout the term makes them aware of their sorry fate post 2007 and so they have started their restelss activities already-the bull about the WPB, and now rallying after the foolish Imran Khan who thinks running Pakistan is like managing the cricket field with 11 players. This time as the PPP watches the tamasha they swiftly decide to try their luck for the cosier position. If anything it proves stuff yet again about their (these parties and their leaders) deen, imaan; if given an opportunity, they'd forsake everyhting for a glimpse of power, all slogan-deep ideologies of democracy, human rights etc are only tools to stay on the scene. While the goal is just one; getting some power, through whatever means!

Who knows the other opposition wing PMLN might also try their luck sometime in the future!

Yes, everyone hopes so.

But was a period from 1988 to 1999 not enough for a
*“proper democratic system allowed to develop without Army interference.” *to actually develop and start functioning? for over a decade the army stayed away, out of it, either out of self restraint, or out of loyalty to politicians, and stayed focused on its only job; soldiering, and kept away from mainstream intervention in politics. What happened? The Army did the right thing for a long time, but did those who are responsble to enforce and allow a *“proper democratic system allowed to develop without Army interference.” *play their part? What mess they created during that decade in partnership is for everyone to see!

Come on yaar, I know you are from an Army family, but how blind eyed can you be?!!

Do i have to remind you of the admitted and publicly known attempt by the Army to rig election against Benazir (Gen.Gul)? I could go on and on all day about Army interference in our democracy.

'Democracy' in Pakistan, especially after a long term of martial law is never free from Army/ISI interference.
A fact acknowledged by many General's as well.

Re: Minister confirms Mush in contact with PPPP

Frankly I think of the army much like Bush. Both have created very difficult situations for the country and then do a little bit here and there to treat symptoms. The main problems still exist and only get worse. But people are happy temporarily because they see the last bandaid and go ga ga

Yeah and they rigged the elections so that Nawaz (who was a few days ago BB's new chummy) wins the elections :D

Re: Minister confirms Mush in contact with PPPP

It’s good to see Musharraf and his supporters now openly admitting what everyone has known for sometime, that he is now abandoned his pretense of being pro accountability and not wanting power for powers sake. His descent to purely self serving politics of staying in power, is no surprise to those who watched him compromise after compromise on key issues. Just a quick recap:

Rajesh Menon, Malaysia: What makes you different from Zia and the other military rulers of Pakistan?

Gen Musharraf: There are a lot of differences. First of all, I am involved in restructuring and rebuilding the nation, none of my predecessors were involved in nation-building as such, we are rebuilding every institution here in Pakistan. Secondly, I am not using the military for this, it is being done through a civil structure. Also I am certainly not in for self-perpetuation, a time frame has been set and we will meet that time frame, I’m not here to perpetuate myself and prolong my stay.