Militants kill three abducted Pakistani soldiers (out of 270 who surrendered)

I bet they are regretting now for surrendering without firing a single shot. That’s what appeasing the jihadis gets you in the end. Let that be a lesson for the state and the people. How many more will have to die before they realize who the real enemy is?

http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20071004/wl_sthasia_afp/pakistanafghanistanunrest_071004114908

Militants kill three abducted Pakistani soldiers
Thu Oct 4, 7:49 AM ET

PESHAWAR, Pakistan (AFP) - Pro-Taliban militants holding more than 200 Pakistani soldiers in a troubled tribal region near the Afghan border shot dead three of their captives on Thursday, officials said.

ADVERTISEMENT

The troops were abducted in insurgency-hit South Waziristan district in late August in a major blow to the military, which has around 90,000 soldiers fighting Al-Qaeda and Taliban rebels on the frontier.

The militants had threatened on Wednesday to kill three of the soldiers daily to put pressure on the government to halt military operations in the rugged region.

“The bodies of three soldiers were found in the town of Jandola early Thursday when people woke up to take their pre-dawn Ramadan meal,” a security official told AFP.

“They were wearing military uniforms and had been shot in the head,” he said.

Around 30 soldiers have been freed in recent weeks on the intervention of tribal peace committees, or jirgas.

But they started killing the soldiers after government took action against “innocent” people following a suicide attack on a military convoy last week in which three soldiers were injured, a militant spokesman said.

“The government has sabotaged the jirga process by launching an operation against innocent people,” Zulfiqar Mahsud, the spokesman of local militant commander Baitullah Mahsud said.

“We will start beheading three soldiers every day and intensify attacks on security forces in different cities of the country if operations continue in the region,” Mahsud said.

Pakistan has been rocked by a string of deadly militant attacks, many of them targeting security forces, since troops staged a bloody raid on the Al-Qaeda-linked Red Mosque in Islamabad in July.

Re: Militants kill three abducted Pakistani soldiers (out of 270 who surrendered)

So, where's the outrage from all those people who were crying and wailing and posting 100s of posts because some protesting lawyyyyers got hit by a stick? Where are the TV channels to cover this? Where's our hero CJ?

Hypocrisy at its best.

Re: Militants kill three abducted Pakistani soldiers (out of 270 who surrendered)

I just fail to understand why politicans in Pakistan don't protest against these Fanatic mullahs. I mean for God sake, they are killing your own army who are fellow muslims not jews or Hindus. When CJ was suspended, politicans were chanting " Go Musharraf, Go"; When NS was sent back, politicans said he deserved better than that; When Journalists and Lawyers were beaten by Police, some senior poilce officals were suspended but when armymen were butchered by the waziri mullahs; there is no reaction. where is aitzaz ahsan? Imran khan? why don't they say anything against them. Imran khan was enraged when MQM allegedly killed his partymen but I never heard him uttering anything against these fanatics. Why? because army men are getting killed? Don't they deserve any support from politicans and people of Pakistan? Don't they deserve special treatment from media? I mean come on guys.
Pakistan paindabad

I don't think its hypocrisy, we are now seeing same senselessness/loss-of-emotions as can be seen in case of Iraq where tens/hundreds die everyday but we don't see related threads in WA anymore. I remember when "Operation Cleanup" was in effect in Karachi 1992 (?) everyday there were news of 10-20 people dieing then few days later people started to pickup newspaper asking "whats the score today".

bhai sahib, everyone is busy trying to secure their seats/powers in upcoming elections, crying/protesting against these deaths/killings is not going to win them seats/power in next government... all those rally organizers are busy fantasizing about money they can make if their 'candidate' makes it big in the next government.

Disgusting! These soldiers didn't do anything wrong. Wrong government policies and out of control terrorists are resposible for this crime. What a shame! I feel sorry for the families.

That's pathethic. People in UK everytime moans about losing 170+ of their army men in iraq, In US, the biggest argument among presidential hopefuls is to bring their men back home. In Pakistan: Uniform. That explains what really our politicans care about.
Pakistan Paindabad

Its disgusting what happened to the soldiers, but why are you so against the Lawyers?

The Lawyers are fighting to get rid of the Army and to reinstal democracy... Why are you against them all of the sudden?

The soldiers did do something wrong ... they surrendered without a fight. Maybe if they actually tried to fight like they were supposed to, then they wouldn't be being slaughtered like sheep.

Comparing protesting lawyers to armed militants, lol...

Yeah, but isnt restoration of full democracy and civilian rule as important as whats happening in NWFP? Because as you well know, the Army has botched up the situation there to begin with and the longer it stays in power, the worse the situation is going to get. So the situation in NWFP is secondary to the situation in Islamabad.
You more then anyone else knows this considering how often you have expressed your resentment for the Army in the past and cited govt failures to justify this stance...

Seems to me that when the govt was not in hot water and Musharaf was popular, you were against the govt...
Now that the govt is not very popular and Musharaf is no where near as popular as he once was, you have jumped the fence and now support him...

Comparing some broken noses to beheadings lol...

with regards to fata, i dont know what upcoming breakthrough the army is taking so many casualties for without reply. what does seem apparent is that fata militants do carry a substanial threat to rest of pakistan (by dirty means). so i cant blame army for policy of containment if that is the reason.
perhaps the short term answer is to get pashtun ex taliban representatives into kabul. kabul is where they want to be

That is going against American policy unless americans have a 'change of heart'.

yes policy change has already happenned. taliban rejected it, saying they'll never participate whilst americans are in afghanistan.

negotiations can secure it. it'll take time.

pakistan needs to keep on top of the situation intel wise.

[mod]
The thread is about;
**"Militants kill three abducted Pakistani soldiers"
**Which is a highly disturbing, important and serious issue for discussion.
By any logic it does not or should not involve MQM.
More than 10 posts had to be removed. And we're aware who brought the highly contentious and derailing subject into this thread for no good. Ignored for now, but warned for future.
Kindly be constructive and to the point in debate.
Pakistan and all its problems fortunately do not revolve around mere MQM and neither should all discussions in the forum.[/mod]

Last night Zafar Abbas asked Gen Musharraf on DawnTV interview about this and asked what if Mehsud starts killing them?
Gen Mush was stern and said "well he should know he shouldnt!"..."If he does then he should know we will have to go against them...!"
I wonder whats up now in the planning...

These murderous Taliban claim to be champions of Islam. Where in Islam is it permissible to abduct people, demand ransom and murder them? If these soldiers were captured in a battle then they are/were prisoners of war. Is it Islamic to murder prisoners of war? why are the Imran Khans of the world not uttering a word about Geneva convention and human rights of these murdered soldiers? What happened to the so called Pashtun traditions of bravery? How brave and traditional is it to murder abducted soldiers?

Killing of security officials cowardly act: ISPR chief
ISLAMABAD: DG ISPR Maj. Gen. Waheed Arshad said late Thursday that killing the security officials after abducting them is a cowardly act and the measures are being taken up for their release.

Talking to Geo News, he said the jirga also made efforts to get the abducted security officials released, adding if the officials were not released, then there are different other options with him, which would be adopted for the release.

At the end of the piece, Gen Arshad says there are “other” options available for their release. Now what are those other options I wonder?

And as Haris pointed out, Pres Musharaf is also indicating somthng is in the air.. So what next?

Someone said it right, the pakistan army made to fight in the plains of punjab is unable to react to the new mode of warfare. The best way is to infiltrate these people from within so they are even afraid of their own ghosts. I think british effectively used this tactic against IRA. But the main problem is that we have sympathizers [even at the highest levels] and no counterinsurgency ops can be successful [if launched] if you have mir jafar in your ranks!!