MIL again.

Re: MIL again.

^yes dont ask mil or dont even tell her what you are going to make.....

when she is sleeping or taking rest go to kitchen and cook khana.....or you can find millions of snacks online....make them for brunch or in evening....just to show that you are COOKING something.....

even if this isnt possible....grab another household activity like dusting,gardening,washing dishes?

my cousin is going through same situation....she works 9-4pm and then she stays in kitchen with mil....just to shut her up lol....
otherwise her mil also complains that she doesnt cook....

she starts preparing dinner....like if she's chopping onions and tomatoes...her mil would come and start cooking....so she starts making roti.....even then if mil tells her that give me i will make roti....she cooks a side dish and salad and washed used bartan......she just doesnt leave the kitchen....and then her mil is in peace

:lifey:

Nadz, here is the solution of your problem. If she tries to take one thing from your hand, you can initiate another thing.

ab app ki saas kay char panch hath to ho nahi saktay. :hehe:

on a non serious note, I would like to appreciate your MIL, how she manages to intervene in your affairs, even though she is working lady. Is it possible for you to busy yourself in other stuff like going to shopping, taking course at university etc etc. The best thing you can try to minimize your appearance in front of your MIL. Like when is at home, you are university/mall/etc. :chai:

working lady? shes home by noon every day. so yeah working hours here are sure great.

i cook when shes not here, i stay away from her, she does too. so if shes in kitchen im not. im not gna go in there and star chopping onions…me and mil are not tha kinda set up. we avoid each oher.well i do.

and on a seperate note- get the chalaaki of this woman…a woman one of my aunties knows, her dil, INVENTED A HORRIBLE sms, made up a load of stuff and secretly used her mils fone to send it to her own fone. she then went and creid to her husband and said look what ur mothers sending to her friends, she mustve accidentally sent to me too…1-well something like this. and her husband believed her and now they live seperatly…
:hoonh:

have done this.

tiwce, i have began my prep and started cooking, she will come in and say nahiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii aaj maine xyz banana tha and stop me there and star cooking the other dish and ell me to go. my husband has said to just leave it and let her cook.

she sleeps around 2-3pm, and noo im not that desperate that il be making evening dinner at2pm.....forget it.

This is called rudeness. I think you should visit kitchen and help her. I think you are still in a shell, you have to have come out from your shell. appreciate her effort during cooking and help her out by performing little chores of kitchen. I think it will melt ice on her end. I dont know if I am making any sense. :confused:

in a shell-...explain....??

oh my god!!!

you are living in Pakistan for more than a year, you still dont know how to mold according to your MIL. You dont know how to perform act in front of people. your responses to your MIL are somewhere not pleasant. do what, which make her winner. I mean, app unko channy kay jhaar par charha dain. matlab, do some buttering and show your flexibility and talk sweetly so that everyone at in laws home like you. I think , I am asking bigger change at your end.

:ASA: It is gross.

Your MIL is annoying. Next time don’t ask her. Just google it or open a thread in the household section.
I think I would go crazy if I lived with your MIL I honestly feel for you! :bummer: Just be happy that you’re leaving for UK soon, try to focus on the happier things .. Like shopping for UK? If she wants to do the cooking, let her. You’ll have the rest of your life for those things iA! :slight_smile:

Why does she need to "mold herself" according to her MIL? She is her own person, she's not her MIL's naukrani!!

MIL again.

My mil has made my life miserable since we got married. She hand picked me. She has jealousy, control issues big time. my hubby realizes it but she manages to give him the guilt trip. Her words and actions are manipulative and deliberate. But unfortunately there is no end to this and no point to complain. She will not change and hubby will always listen to her Bc she is his mother. He sides with me too, but it's an awful situation for him to be in. So I grin and bear it. She knows every single guilt trip in book and she uses every trick in book. As far as food I let her cook and make roti. Stay out of her way in the kitchen . I will make what I want whenever the kitchen is free. Guess who makes roti for hubby as soon as he hears car pull up? She literally sprints down the stairs. I stopped fighting that battle. Let her serve him to her hearts content. After she gives roti and food -she eats his brain - gives him the guilt trip on how every son in khandan is doing so much more. Hubby listens Bc he has no choice. I wish my mil worked and had some other activity other than watching dramas.

I can't control her and neither can hubby. But I can control my own actions. I stay out of her way and keep my mouth shut ESP when hubby is not around. It is what it is.

nadz123 plz let her cook? whats wrong with it .. if she complains tell her she is the fastest cook ever bcz u only think of cooking and she has done it :D.... i am thankful that i do not live with my mil---------- ty nadz

How about you just google how to cook instead of asking her? there's a bunch of recipes online..

plastic cover thief mil ki khichri pak gayi :mad:

ok dont cook then!

try another trick!

“be nice to her and please her..say thankyou n say oh mil you have cooked delicious food…do this in coming three months…even if you dont like her…make her believe that you really like her…say sorry even if you havent done anything wrong”

you are a mature woman you should know how to make place in susral…if someone is being rude all the time with you then it doesnt mean that you treat them the same way…phir ap mai aur mil mai kya fark rehgaya?

just focus on your actions…you will get ajar for this some day inshaAllah
i think i said all this in your previous threads too:hmmm:

Best way to resolve all issues with your MIL is to mess with her head. In the next 3 months be overly nice to her - do all the stuff a role model bahu from the dramas would do. Honestly, your MIL won't know what's hit her. But if you can't do this for 3 months, then set yourself a challenge and do it for a week.

Tut tut tut. Seekho kuch us larki se. Make her ur ustaad.