midnight snacks

Re: midnight snacks

FYI:
(taken from GPC Kids’ Corner http://www.gapeanuts.com/kids/nutrition.htm)
Peanuts have lots of protein to make you grow – and lots of vitamins & minerals including Vitamin E, Niacin, Thiamin, Copper, Phosphorous, Magnesium and Iron. Peanuts and peanut butter are naturally cholesterol free and are good for your heart. Because peanuts and peanut butter are packed with so many nutrients, they are a great part of breakfast, lunch and dinner and can be used to make oil and even candy”

(taken from Ask Dr. Sears …a pediatrician http://www.askdrsears.com/html/4/T043600.asp)

"Praise for Peanut Butter! Could life go on without peanut butter? Yes, but not as pleasurably. Not only is peanut butter a nutrient-dense food, it is one that most children enjoy. Parents like its convenience. **Two tablespoons of peanut butter, the usual amount for filling a peanut butter and jelly sandwich contains:. **
8.5 grams of protein
**4 milligrams of the B-vitamin niacin (one-third the RDA for a pre-teen child) **
**a touch of fiber, calcium, folic acid, zinc, and iron **
all this in 200 calories that provide a high source of energy for a busy child.

(Taken from LowCarb.ca http://www.lowcarb.ca/articles/article111.html)
Peanuts and Peanut Butter Found to Suppress Hunger

ALBANY, Ga., Sept. 18 /PRNewswire/ – A new study shows that snacking on peanuts and peanut butter is an effective way to control hunger without leading to weight gain. Subjects who snacked on peanuts and peanut butter self-adjusted their caloric intake spontaneously and did not add extra calories to their daily diets. These findings are published in this month’s International Journal of Obesity (Vol. 24, p.1167-75).
Following a snack of peanuts or peanut butter, the participants’ hunger was reduced for two and a half hours. When they were fed typical portions of other snacks (such as rice cakes), hunger returned within a half hour. Furthermore, there was a positive change in the mix of fat in subjects’ daily diets when they consumed peanuts and peanut butter. Mono- and polyunsaturated fats increased proportionately and saturated fat decreased proportionately, providing an overall heart-healthier fat profile.

When researchers at Penn State University (American Journal of Clinical Nutrition) tested diets that included** 2-3 servings daily of peanuts or peanut butter, rich in monounsaturated fats (MUFA), they found that total and LDL cholesterol was lowered by 11-14%. The peanut diets reduced the risk of cardiovascular disease by 21% compared to the average American diet, whereas a low-fat diet reduced the risk by only 12%. **

Peanuts and peanut products also contain the phytosterol beta-sitosterol (SIT), which has been shown to inhibit cancer growth and protect against heart disease. SIT may offer protection from colon, prostate and breast cancer, all of which tend to occur at higher rates in Americans than in other populations. This exciting new research was recently published in the journal Nutrition and Cancer. In addition, **The Journal of Nutrition review of phytosterols as anticancer dietary components concludes, ``The best dietary sources of phytosterols are unrefined plant oils, seeds, nuts and legumes.‘’ **In addition to a significant amount of phytosterols and heart healthy monounsaturated fat, peanuts and peanut butter also contain vitamin E, folate, potassium, magnesium, zinc, and fiber, all of which are thought to benefit health. "

NEED I SAY MORE??? :rolleyes:

I had to post one more…
(taken from the Vegetarian Society- http://www.vegsoc.org/cordonvert/articles/peanuts.html)

**Peanuts and peanut butter contain high levels of fibre and ****as well as many valuable vitamins and minerals such as all B vitamins except B12, vitamin E, ****and **They are an excellent source of unsaturated fat](http://www.vegsoc.org/info/fats.html) and contain particularly beneficial monounsaturates which are also found in olive oil. Like all vegetables, peanuts contain no cholesterol. Combining peanuts with rice, pulses](http://www.vegsoc.org/info/pulses.html) or grains](http://www.vegsoc.org/info/cereals.html) provides a ‘complete’ protein, which is why a peanut butter sandwich is hard to beat as an inexpensive, nutritious snack.

When u were at work or skool, u atleast moved a leg or two, had some sort of physical activity. What u need to do is get out of the house and exercise gal.
Man i eat while lying on the bed. I need to quit doing that. But so far it hasn’t affected ma health. Never know wht if will do to me in future :frowning:

awrite.. then u go and eat peanut butter jelly sandwitches:biggthumb

specially in night time .. when your body is producing the least amount of heat.. and that ‘energy’ is basically a ‘rush’

and … its ‘breakfast for busy kid’ none of us are in that age group..if u must eat something sweet.. switch to honey and bread.. much better

Adults also benefit from pb..let's not forget that!

:smack: maaf kar dancing cow.. i would NEVER eat a 200calorie ‘snack’

i believe, anything that can get in blood stream in less than 10 minutes, is bad.. WHATEVER the advantage is.. (unless its for saving lives.. andrenaline etc)

hahaha…

2 questions
1.how do you know pb can get into your blood streem in less than 10 minutes?
2. How do you know it’s bad?

Here is something recently in the news.

Giving in to those late-night munchies won’t make you gain extra weight after all, according to a new study.

between these studies and researches we all look like blahdy yoyos

Bull ****, sooner or later somebody is gonna challenge their theory. During the day we human have activities. At night most of us take in snacks and go straight to bed causing us to gain weight.
Conducting an experiment on monkeys is not enough.

they say that cereal with low fat milk is a good midnight snack...
try that XChoniX...

jeez-a-loo..no need to go crazy on me :smiley:

and what’s m.k.k?

:rotfl: forget it … jis din ye raaz khula.. admin team main khilbili machay gi aur meri ATLEAST 2000+ posts safa-e-gupshup say ghayib ho jayengi..

hinna: yar anything thats sweet, specially like paste-material starts to break within 10 minutes of entering the stomach lining.. why its bad? i forgot.. back in college studied on it and had an exam on food groups.. peanut butter contains anywhere between 9 to 15% of saturated fats… between saturated and transfats, saturated is the one that takes the MOST resistance to disappear.. so it goes straight in terms of bigger deposits…

now kids are different story … they can eat that during breakfast/lunch/dinner and they are fine ..cuz their activity levels are tripple to that of ours..(guessing u’re among 18 to 30)

as all good athletes retire and become coaches, they like to coach elementary schools.. (going back to basics) … so if one must have midnight snacks.. (specially our college/university community) then how about eating carrots?

banana contains ENOUGH electrolytes to charge brain/body up to beat that tired/fatique/sleepy feelings.. i’ve personally used in fatique cases @ work where a person kinda dropped from fatique..

i just dont find having sweets intake @ nights to be healthy .. even honey is bad if taken regularly …

faizy
Is honey bad when taken at night,
or is it bad regardless of timing???

How can you eat something before going to bed gulabo? I have my dinner around 8 and then sleep after 10 sometime and i dont even want to see any food before sleeping. I think i am weird. Cant eat anything before 2 hrs of going to sleep and almost 3 hrs after waking up which means no breakfast. :bummer:

honey is all natural source.. ANYHING thats not synthetic is good .. u can eat ANYTHING you want.. the manner in which u eat it, determines whether its bad or not..

honey is something VERY high in viscocity.. so its better if u take it during day.. (considering you have normal lifestyle of sleeping in night, working in day/afternoon time)

u just cant have ONE specific thing all the time .. if u can have variety in your snacks, its great..

i work nights and here’s my body’s food intake that i STRICTLY follow:

1. 530ish pm: heaviest meal of the 24 hours.. daal chaawal saalan roti snacks cookies brownies and sometimes a banana, i take the travelling mug filled with tea and drive to work at 615pm

2. shift starts @ 7pm.. i am sipping that tea for about an hour atleast.. around 8ish i eat the apple i brought from home..

3. after 930 i start feeling thirsty, load up on water .. by 10pm i eat the first lunch @ work.. consists of steamed vegetables (available in frozen sections of food stores) mixed with steamed salmon, only for desi-craving i have either baked boneless chicken pieces or beef (in forms of pasanday) with desi masaala on it ..just so u dont feel “ughhh.. what am i eating”

4. from 1030pm to 230am i am really busy, so i am just drinking water 15-20 minutes after..

5. at 230am everyone from regular shifts are gone and i go for break, i eat another one of the #3

6. from 3am to 6am, no break so water .. but this time a lil less..THIS IS THE HARDEST portion of the night.. ur body is producing the LEAST heat possible.. and the staying-up-fatique is kicking in … so u need to do a lot of physical movement to keep producing that body heat..

7. shift gets over at 7am..i start driving home.. and am hungry as anything.. cuz with this schedule, body consumes the food and then starts to attack body-fat storage.. when i get home, i take an omellete made on a non-stick pan .. if something nice was made from last night and is leftover, i take that too..

since staying up @nights take a LOT OF energy, so my metabolism is shooting around 7am ..this last meal (#7) gets consumed within an hour.. so around 830ish i drink last cup of tea, smoke/not smoke a round of sheesha and hit the bed.. with a full 2L bottle of water.. which is half-way empty when i wake up for the start of this list again..

i dont eat desserts as in after meals type.. i dont drink soda and i try to eat less amount of food, but more frequently.. i try to keep 1/4th portion of stomach empty.. all this combined gives me a very high metabolism and anything i eat starts to break down and digest right away..

Faizy
thanks for the reply and jeetay raho. :-)

12 Hours shift!, that must be tiresome.

faizy sahib, what has viscosity to do with the "goodness" of honey?

high-viscocity liquids tend to take more time to break .. force of habit almost made me write take milk and honey..

itsme01: i happen to be coming from 10hr shifts of loading trucks, so i dont mind 12 hrs of riding bike, walking and riding bike..