...Microsoft Visual Studio...

I need that for my VB class. Yes I have the option of staying on campus and do the work there but I would like to install it at home and be able to work off campus. I visited the microsoft website and it’s like 700 dollars. No way. I was wondering if it’s available somewhere else?

Let me remind you that posting links to pirated versions is morally wrong and is against the gupshup rules. Please do not post any links to pirated versions. :nono1: However, I would love to have PMs from you all if anyone can help and give me suggestions on what to do :halo:

Re: ...Microsoft Visual Studio...

tsk tsk

Is this what you need? "Microsoft Visual Studio 6.0 Service Pack 5"

Wah bhayee Shikra bhai, khoon bhi kar diya aur usse rationalize bhi kar gaye! Good one ;)

Re: …Microsoft Visual Studio…

Thank you thank you thank you :rotato:

Actually they use Microsoft Visual Studio 2003. But I guess any version should work because all I basically need is to be able to write the code shode and then zip it and submit it. Nothing fancy.

heard of SharpDevelop? you could code in VB.net using that IDE, although you'd need to install .net framework 1.1 first

vb.net can also be developed on sharpdevelop.

your university might have a program where they offer microsoft software for free or cheap (like $5 or so). Might wanna inquire about that.

Yaar I am not a computer geek, I have no clue what sharedevelop, ide, and other things are. All I know is that I need Microsoft Visual Studio 2003 and yes, I already asked this question to professor and he said microsoft sells the licenses to them and for students, it's about $15 BUT it takes a couple of weeks for it to come in. Since we are in the summer session, we need to get rolling starting Monday and if we wait 2 weeks, we will miss A LOT. So he basically recommended that I come to the computer lab and do my work there but since I work everyday after school, I don't have enough time to go to the lab because it's about 45 minutes drive away from my home. Honestly, it'll be pretty expensive for me to commute twice a day.

That's why I opened a thread and was wondering if there is any pirated version I could get and work at home.

well, if you put it this way.. sharpdevelop looks very much like Visual Studio .net and works almost the same way, atleast it worked fine for me on C#.. all you need is download the .net framework which is available from the microsoft website and download sharpdevelop after that!

Well, the professor has asked us to submit EVERY file when we submit the homework. That includes the solution, project, binary, and exe files. Will this program that you are talking about create the same amount of files with same names? Because I don't want it to be different or else he'll know that I've used a different program.

He's a desi teacher, you know how much he'll be pissed off when he finds out I did something he told me not to do.

Im not sure if Sharpdevelop project files are going to be compatible with visual studio or not. Dont have it installed to check it either.

I suppose your best bet is to for now work in the lab and order microsoft visual studio. Its wierd for you to get it in a few weeks, as we can download it in my university from microsoft directly.

IDE = integrated development environment. Visual Studio is an IDE, so is Sharp develop. Notepad isnt :)

ermm yea the files are different

I've downloaded Microsoft Visual Studio 2003 and it's being installed at the moment. It was giving me a few problems because I don't have the service pack 2 but now I've passed that stage. Lets see if it works or not.